AllianceBernstein Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

AllianceBernstein Associate Reviews

Updated May 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Seth Bernstein
6 Ratings
  1. "Love it So far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Associate 

      I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      great work atmosphere, and work/life balance

      Cons

      not really any cons yet, as i just started wokring

      AllianceBernstein2019-05-01
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Associate Portfolio Manager 

        I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time

        Pros

        Diverse and collaborative work environment

        Cons

        Sometime AB can be a competitive work environment

        AllianceBernstein2019-04-29
      • Helpful (1)

        "Worked to the bone"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Smaller company with decent technology.

        Cons

        Revolving door job. Most associates last only a couple years because of how hard they work you for little pay and no incentive cut-in from advisor production.

        Advice to Management

        Pay people better and they will stay. Otherwise keep paying a ton of money to train new people only for them to leave a year or 2 later.

        AllianceBernstein2019-04-24
      • "Only take this job if you want to be an advisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Position teaches you complex wealth management and portfolio management techniques.

        Cons

        Office politics, not much opportunity for advancement.

        AllianceBernstein2019-05-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Terrible"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Private Client Associate 

          I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time

          Pros

          Good education, sponsors your licenses

          Cons

          No work life balance, toxic people, politics, can't move up without a network.

          AllianceBernstein2019-04-11
        • "Good"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Associate 

            I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time

            Pros

            Good people work at the firm

            Cons

            Nothing is bad about this firm

            AllianceBernstein2019-03-10
          • Helpful (3)

            "not a good place to work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY

            I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            the location is convenient for me

            Cons

            No room to grow, layoffs are every month

            AllianceBernstein2019-03-14

            AllianceBernstein Response

            April 1, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

            Thank you for leaving your feedback. We take the growth of our employees very seriously and realize that our people are our most valuable asset. We certainly to not have scheduled layoffs every month. Our headquarters is moving to Nashville and with that, many jobs are moving as ...

            Show More
          • Helpful (1)

            "Long hours, not enough pay"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Private Wealth Associate in Washington, DC

            I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Extensive training Great culture Plethora of learning opportunities

            Cons

            Long hours with little regard for any work/life balance Constant turnover, constantly playing catch-up Compensation is not worthwhile for the salary

            AllianceBernstein2019-01-16
          • "AB Overview"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Flat structure Great internal mobility Very supportive of new employees Opportunities for promotion =- merit based Leadership opportunities outside of your day job Big network of internal ERGs Opportunities to network internally with peer groups and senior leaders Transparency from management

            Cons

            Could have higher pay, but it is competitive to the market

            AllianceBernstein2018-10-31
          • Helpful (9)

            "Underpaid, under appreciated and over worked. You will only succeed if you play office politics"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Private Client Associate in New York, NY
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Training. If you’re right out of college and don’t know anything about the industry, Bernstein is a good place to get a “prestigious” firm name on your resume and to get licensed.

            Cons

            Underpaid, compensation is about 20k below street value, overworked, turnover. The turnover is so high due to being mistreated and underpaid. No one wants to work over 80 hour weeks and receive only 60-70k a year in NYC. Other firms for the same exact role offer a 80-100k salary plus a minimum bonus of 25%-1x salary. Why would anyone want to work at Bernstein? Management creates hostile work environments. If they don’t...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Compensate your workers, stop taking the bonuses just for yourselves. Appreciate your employees by compensating them and actually giving feedback and developing them. Versus giving negative feedback and literally driving employees out. Stop creating favorites and only allowing certain employees to be recognized as others are working just as hard.

            AllianceBernstein2018-08-10
          Found 76 reviews