AllianceBernstein Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

AllianceBernstein Software Developer Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Seth Bernstein
2 Ratings
  1. "Traditional company focused on innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Developer Intern 

      I worked at AllianceBernstein for less than a year

      Pros

      Positive culture focused on innovation

      Cons

      Still too much red tape

      AllianceBernstein2019-05-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mixed bag"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Flexibility in work culture Freedom to work approach Lots of opportunities of non-technical development Good team culture (if it happens to be local)

      Cons

      Stingy in remuneration Technical development opportunities are difficult to come by Vertical growth is DIFFICULT Cliques Silo_ed work environment

      Advice to Management

      Pay workers more and partners less Spend on QUALITY technical development Provide cross functional training

      AllianceBernstein2019-06-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Software Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Nashville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AllianceBernstein for less than a year

      Pros

      Close to Nashville downtown with many happening things near by

      Cons

      I worked for less than a month in their Nashville site. You see attitude at every nook and corner of the team right from interviewing, onboarding and training during the initial days. They make you slog and pay for 8 hrs. Was not comfortable with the team am working, and went back to my previous employer.

      AllianceBernstein2018-12-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Associate Software Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Software Developer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company culture and nice people. I'm in a 2 year rotational program where I get to work in different teams every 6 months. Great learning experience and many fun events with group activities.

      Cons

      Company is relocating to Nashville and its difficult for many employees to move there.

      AllianceBernstein2018-06-19
    • "The company is ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The interview process is very efficient

      Cons

      The method is little weird they use text message to inform me.

      AllianceBernstein2013-09-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "It was tedious, relaxed, and not particularly challenging"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It was a very comfortable environment. In every department that I worked in, there were no absurd hours or people yelling at you. It was pretty relaxed and had an old school business atmosphere

      Cons

      It didn't really feel as though the company was pushing into new territory or expanding, but rather trotting along and sticking to old clients and old methods. It was a very "punch-the-clock" type environment and took a lot of effort to generate interest in improving existing systems and processes.

      Advice to Management

      Distance yourself from bureaucracy.

      AllianceBernstein2013-08-28
    • "Worst. Company. Ever."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some very smart people in IT

      Cons

      The level of politics and backbiting is incredible. The Fixed income side was doing fine when I was there but the equity IT side was just horrible. You can tell that around 10 years ago this place was state of the art, but now the quality of the code developed has nose dived and the desire to innovate is completely gone. This whole shop is in maintenance mode for the foreseeable future.

      Advice to Management

      For the love of G*D, please go to other wall street firms and see what their IT investment strategies are like. A

      AllianceBernstein2013-05-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lots of politics, below average comp, not innovative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AllianceBernstein full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Cafeteria has great selection, and well stocked kitchen, hours are good

      Cons

      Constant layoffs, below average pay, too much politics - not much room for growth as promotions are given to politics, no real defined roles in technology, backbiting in tech, behind the times in terms of tools and languages, company doesn't have innovative tools and builds on 8 year old technology

      Advice to Management

      Find a direction and communicate to staff, be open to innovate and integrate new technology

      AllianceBernstein2013-02-17
    Found 8 reviews