Allstate Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

Allstate Intern Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Allstate Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Thomas J. Wilson II
Thomas J. Wilson II
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    Allstate employees, and even interns, receive many benefits. As an intern, I was able to take advantage of many full-time employee benefits such as summer hours (fridays off), cafeteria, gym membership discounts, wellness center, development meeting and seminars, ect... All Allstate employees were willing to meet with me to help me learn more about the different jobs offered at Allstate and their experience thus far.

    Cons

    Due to the many different departments and legal procedures, all projects at Allstate move very slow. Was frustrating at times, even as an intern.

    Allstate2015-12-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern in Hanover Park, IL

    I have been working at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere with great outgoing people, who really enjoy working with Allstate. I had a good time and was able to learn a lot.

    Cons

    Nothing bad. Everyone thing that I was trained to to was reasonable and can be applied to any other business outside of Allstate.

    Allstate2015-11-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Internship in Quantitative Research and Analytics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Science Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    Good life work balance. Interesting, intelligent people working with you.

    Cons

    Training was haphazard. Way too many irrelevant meetings.

    Allstate2015-11-20
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company who really cares about their employees. Learned a lot in my time at home office and am excited to pursue full time opportunities!

    Cons

    No direct cons. Everybody is friendly and very willing to help you out, especially if you tell them you are are an intern.

    Continue reading
    Allstate2015-11-05
  5. "Product Design Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    The R&D Department at Allstate was a very tight knit group. They were very welcoming and I felt very supported and valued there.

    Cons

    As a Mechanical Engineer, this was not the career path I wanted to continue on. I love the user research part but I'm looking for a company that focuses on physical products

    Continue reading
    Allstate2015-09-02
  6. "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allstate

    Pros

    Great organization that values all of their employers from managers to interns. I got a lot out of my internship experience; I learned so much at my time at Allstate. Awesome benefits and pay. Overall a great internship experience!

    Cons

    Not the most exciting place to work but it is an insurance company....

    Allstate2015-07-27
  7. "Corporate Relations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    -Rewarding to see my work published -Good compensation

    Cons

    -Frigid office environment "No-speaking policy" in our department -Lack of mentoring -Department offered no further opportunities

    Continue reading
    Allstate2015-06-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great while it lasts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    They care about their interns and have a lot of programs to make sure they are getting the full experience out of their internship. By far the best internship I have had. The pay is also great for an intern, and the headquarters are very nice.

    Cons

    Unless you want to go into their Leadership Development Program, they do not care about hiring you. The whole idea behind hiring interns is to test-run them before hiring them. I had rave reviews from so many people in my department, yet could not find employment at Allstate at all. I had several internship offers, and I chose Allstate because I felt as though I could grow my career there. Turns out it was a waste of time, because even the best interns get looked over by HR.

    Continue reading
    Allstate2015-05-08
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allstate

    Pros

    Great company with friendly people

    Cons

    Repetitive work make job boring at times

    Allstate2015-01-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Satisfying Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Actuarial Intern in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well, people are wonderful, work is challenging but manageable. Really feel like you're making a difference. The campus is a great place to work at, with many activities always going on. Great mentorship program in place so that you don't feel alone in such a large program.

    Cons

    If you're not from the Chicago area, it can be a little overwhelming.

    Allstate2014-09-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 56 reviews