Almac Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Almac Group Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 343 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Almac Group CEO Alan Armstrong
Alan Armstrong
179 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Don't be fooled in working for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Analyst in Lansdale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Health Insurance Decent Time off

    Cons

    Long Hours including weekends because of Aggressive Schedules Project timelines are not accurate No help from Management Senior people are put on Performance improvement plans for no or poor reasons Some managers do no or little work farming out their work to their subordinates who already have full schedules Low pay compared to the average

    Advice to Management

    Since it takes many months to train people, what is the rationale of abusing your workers? They eventually will leave. You lose in the long run.

    Almac Group2019-02-02
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Testing Analyst III in Souderton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits - Good Vacation time

    Cons

    EVERYTHING! 1 star is too much. I have worked in the IT industry for over 20 years. This is the worse company I ever worked for (IT Environment). I was told within two days of being there that I will probably not survive coming in as an Analyst III the expectations are overwhelming when you come in at that level. There's so much to say.... Their way of testing is so outdated (Word documents, copy and paste... screen prints into Word) and the testers are exhausted and overworked. The utilize HPQC but truly don't use the tool to its advantage. No work life balance at all. I would work 10 to 12 hour days and weekends and it was just too much. Time frames are not realistic and management does not help but makes it worse. Supervisors and Managers are not experience in management and walk around micro managing everything. Ideas suggested to them to make things better (as an Analyst III though was part of my duties) are never accepted until they take it from you and run with it as if they thought of it (happened to me twice). They just twisted it a little to make it seem like it was their idea. Co-workers are amazing though, they try really hard to help each other out. They were right I did not last they let me go within a year and I was not the only one. They had let 3 people prior to me go and several after. There is favoritism and if you are not on the favorite list start looking for a new job. I would never refer anyone there and if I were you I would not accept an IT position there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new Management with management experience.

    Almac Group2019-01-31
  3. Helpful (4)

    "I would give zero stars if there were an option."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Audubon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous PTO That’s honestly the only Pro

    Cons

    -Lack of communication -Clueless management -Favoritism with management and certain employees -You’re required to stand for at least 5 hours before you’re given a break and if you need to use the restroom you’re given an attitude -Benefits are expensive -Raises are at most 3% of your hourly rate -Hourly rate is considerably low -Severely Micromanaged by executives overseas -Mandatory overtime is strictly enforced... so there are months you will work three straight weeks -Supervisors are extremely unprofessional -Employees needs are overlooked in order to push work out the door -Zero room for growth

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when a problem arises. Maintain professionalism and stop showing favoritism. Take in to consideration that employees have a life outside of Almac.

    Almac Group2019-01-24
  4. "Director, Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Almac Group full-time

    Pros

    Well-respected in industry, sincere about its mission in regards to helping patients, hard working people, doing better at promoting awareness of company in market, solid processes in place to support delivery of services.

    Cons

    Compensation is slightly below to average for industry. Somewhat dated technology.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Almac Group2018-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Souderton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability, PTO time, great coworkers

    Cons

    High stress, little support from management. Long term employee who cares about my performance and the company. But miss the days when the company cared about its employees in return!!!

    Advice to Management

    Remember the old days when employees mattered. Listen to the employees and read the reviews. There has to be something wrong when all reviews state the same things.

    Almac Group2018-11-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Audubon, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Almac is a great company to work for, from the people to the work environment. The benefits package is good, plenty of PTO days, 401K match, great pay. There is a lot of room for growth, many colleagues have moved around within the company. There is always new projects going and things to learn, you will never get bored. Upper management is always there to guide/lead you in the right direction.

    Cons

    One or two bad apples that try to ruin the bunch but in reality that's everywhere you go.

    Almac Group2018-10-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoy the work I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Souderton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family atmosphere and interesting challenges

    Cons

    Difficult clientele and sometimes a struggle to achieve business objectives

    Almac Group2018-10-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time

    Pros

    The office was nice in Souderton PA

    Cons

    No Training in the Facilities Group

    Advice to Management

    Manager needs to stick his head out of the office, he comes in early and leaves at 2:30 in the afternoon. He doesn't say a word like the rest of the group in facilities.

    Almac Group2018-10-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Design Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time

    Pros

    Good experience in a good fields.

    Cons

    Management, company, culture, flexibility, stress.

    Almac Group2018-10-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Almac Group full-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, average salary, above average PLT and benefits package

    Cons

    Do not recommend for young professionals needing training and mentoring.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better understanding of the job expectations before hiring someone that doesn't have the years of experience that you need and expect especially if you are not willing to ensure the new employee's success.

    Almac Group2018-10-07
Found 343 reviews