Almost Family Reviews | Glassdoor

Almost Family Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

193 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • High integrity home health provider (in 8 reviews)

  • Excellent company with high ethical standards for patient care and employment (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management doesn't show much consideration for the concerns or needs of the average employees (in 16 reviews)

  • Poor management, ridiculously high turnover, very high quota, company is constantly cutting the pay rate for visits (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent mission, management, & advancement opportunity.

    Cons

    Would like to see more community service & employee engagement events.

    Almost Family Response

    May 10, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Current Employee: Obviously being the Manager of Recruiting I was very happy to see your review. It is always nice to hear employees are happy, especially when it is someone in your own... More


  2. "Willcare of Buffalo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Some good people work there. The patients are great, the therapists are great.

    Cons

    Management is abusive and disrespectful....just found out the office manager and supervisors are writing falsely positive reviews. The cliniciand, patient and their families used to be important. Very sad.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management, supervisors especially. The current 2 need to go.

    Almost Family Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Current Employee: We are sorry to hear that you are unsatisfied in your position with us. If there are issues that you are currently facing that should be addressed, we can only know about them if... More

  3. "Clinical manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Almost Family full-time

    Pros

    Checks always cleared; Coffee was good

    Cons

    poor management, upper management did not care

    Advice to Management

    I was in a middle management position for almost 4 years with a strong desire to achieve further longevity with this strong company. I had a lot of issues with the current manager such as verbal threats, foul language, threatening comments about me made to other employees, favoritism and unprofessional behavior. As per the grievance policy, I documented my concerns and fowarded them to the level above this individual (Regional). I have many employees that agreed with what I was saying but never said a word in support. I was told: "please stay...we will help you take care of your concerns." The director would go in her office, close the door and do nothing.
    I found her sleeping at her desk on numerous occasions. Well, nothing happened and I was then treated like I was not even a part of the team and that my knowledge did not matter. My integrity as a professional was broken. I eventually made the decision to resign. Fortunately, I was able to find another job that fit me better. I am amazed that the upper management has not changed and that Mederi continues to allow this type of behavior to go on. I am glad I left!

    Almost Family Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Director, Recruitment

    Clinical Manager -

    First, let me thank you for the feedback. It is very disappointing to us that you had an experience like this and for so long. Our Clinical Managers are such an important part... More


  4. Helpful (6)

    "It's okay here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time

    Pros

    The coworkers are friendly. Weekends off. Holidays off. You get breaks and lunch. There's always activities happening. There's benefits.

    Cons

    The director isn't a director. She picks favorites. What's good for one employee isn't good for another. She singles out employees. She takes credit for things she didn't do or had little part in. She lies. She'll say one thing to one employee and something completely different to another as if she's trying to play employees against each other.
    She doesn't try to help. She doesn't ask how and if she can help anyone.
    Not to mention, she allows nurses to keep their jobs after injuring patients, ignoring allergies, and simply not doing their jobs. Along with HHA's.

    Advice to Management

    I think you should re-evaluate who you have as a director.

    Almost Family Response

    May 8, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Current Employee, thank you for your feedback because we truly appreciate it. Reading over your review it sounds like you are unhappy with your Director and the way she is directing her staff. We... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Review of Almost Family Inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Corporate staff is generally very pleasant, capable, and honest. Home health service is a great alternative to nursing home care.

    Cons

    At Corporate there are no regularly scheduled pay increases or bonuses.
    No effort to retain talent at Corporate.
    Holiday and other benefits at Corporate do not match those of similarly-sized companies.
    Working harder and giving more is not rewarded or not adequately rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    A policy regarding when a pay raise will be considered for each employee should be in place. No one should have to wait more than a year to learn if he/she will get a raise.
    Those making decisions regarding pay increases/bonuses are far removed from staff. Get documentation of hours worked and accomplishments.
    Corporate staff needs its own goals to earn bonuses. Some of the hardest work occurs when field results are not doing well.
    Pay should reflect whether Corporate staff personnel are working 40 hours a week or 50+ hours a week, including weekends. Corporate pay per hour is not competitive.
    When Corporate Executives are added to the staff, several staff should be added in various departments. Every Executive brought on board demands more work in many departments.
    Giving everyone the same raise is nice in that it helps with the increase in benefits costs. But if that is the only raise, it is insulting. Work 40 hours/week or 60 hours/week and get the same treatment. Not an incentive to work harder.
    Acquisitions should not be rewarded upon the closing of the deal but upon the successful integration of the acquired business. It often takes more than a year, and the work is not acknowledged/rewarded. Closing the deal is just the start, not the conclusion. Don't just provide rewards for signing the papers. Also provide rewards for integrating the new business.
    Corporate outings/fun events are nice, but take-home pay is still the best reward.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Almost Family full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Strong home health company

    Cons

    Health benefits were expensive, 1year wait on braces for kids.

    Almost Family Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Former Employee: Thank you for your review!


  7. "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time

    Pros

    The company truly cared about their employees

    Cons

    They didn't offer too great of benefits

    Advice to Management

    Offer better advancement and opportunities for raises.

    Almost Family Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Customer Service Specialist: Thank you for the feedback on working for Almost Family. It is hard for me to address your "advice to management" or "cons" as I am unsure where you work within the... More

  8. "Home health aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Aid in Danbury, CT
    Former Employee - Home Health Aid in Danbury, CT
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good people to work with got really close to management, they were nice people to talk to. They seem to care and worked hard at the office

    Cons

    Not fair compensation , odd hours. They were a lot of times when I would not work because there was no clients available and it was very unpredictable

    Advice to Management

    You need to organize your Systmes better in order to be more organized with the clients with the aids and for intakes. I felt bad at times for my boss

    Almost Family Response

    May 8, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Former Employee: Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your previous work experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed working with the staff and were able to see... More


  9. "travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Almost Family full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    friendly people to work with

    Cons

    travel all over the place

    Advice to Management

    keep staff in same area

    Almost Family Response

    Jun 6, 2017 – Manager of Recruiting

    To Former Employee: Sorry that you did not enjoy your time with Almost Family. Since you remained anonymous, I am really unable to look into your concerns about travel. I am unsure what position... More


  10. "Industry changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Almost Family full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Large Company with stability and resources to meet challenges of ever changing home health industry.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations
    Poor staffing models
    Poor corporate planning for industry changes
    Last minute or late roll outs at branch levels

    Advice to Management

    Big projects need lots of planning and employees need support. Last minute roll-outs make employees unhappy and unsettled.
    Secondly, Take a look at middle management, they are costing a fortune in the turnover of perfectly hard working staff. Checking in, holding people accountable, etc. has become code for the micromanagement of line items that are out of control because of poor leadership above the branch level.

    Almost Family Response

    Apr 21, 2017 – Director, Recruitment

    Current employee -

    First, thank you for taking the time to review our company. It sounds like you have been dedicated to the company for a long time, and we appreciate that.

    As for your... More


Showing 193 of 198 reviews
Reset Filters