KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Almstead Tree Company

Engaged Employer

Almstead Tree Company

Add a Review

Almstead Tree Company Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 9 reviews

3.4
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Almstead Tree Company CEO  Ken Almstead
Ken Almstead
4 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Grayt company

    Jan 16, 2021 - Plant Health Care Technician in North Haledon, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice family vibe. Good atmosphere. Great people to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Maybe they need some better equipment sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    mas o menos

    Mar 12, 2022 - ConservationGroundsperson and PHC Technician in North Haledon, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    steady work, helpful bosses, lots of diverse jobs to learn different skills

    Cons

    never get raises unless you threaten to leave. trucks and equipment are outdated and dangerous

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Old systems cranky boss

    Oct 19, 2020 - Administrative in New Rochelle, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary is very competitive for the area. Some of the staff were great people

    Cons

    Archaic computer system. Very unprofessional attitude from upper management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible environment

    Feb 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    bagels and jeans on friday.

    Cons

    Literally everything else. Terrible physical space, terrible work environment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Sales Arborist

    Dec 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An excellent company to work for in the New York area. A leader in the field. Superb clientele.

    Cons

    A bit too much micromanaging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Intern

    May 30, 2018 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone was super nice and helpful. The people there were smart. Everyone there was always happy. They work really hard there.

    Cons

    I have no cons! Everything was perfect.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Almstead is a great company.

    Apr 19, 2017 - Corporate Accounting in New Rochelle, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked in this type of industry for about 20 years and I have seen it all. I can say without hesitation, that Almstead has integrity; in every aspect of their business. Some of the best professionals, I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with, are at Almstead. The owner’s may have high standards, but rest assured they hold themselves to that same standard; working just as hard as you do. If you are mature, hardworking and honest than this is the place for you. Great health benefits as well.

    Cons

    Not a minute to spare, can be a pro if you like being busy and having your day go by quick.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Mostly Positive Experience!!

    Sep 10, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very laid back, very honest company. They charge honest rates to their clients and don't try to upsell unnecessary services. Probably one of the best tree/shrub/lawn care companies for the money. VERY knowledgeable arborists. I don't work at corporate, so I can't speak for that office. My branch is relaxed but very busy, with zero micromanaging. You are accountable for your own work and work load. Do your best and you will get recognized. If clients like you and tell your superiors, you will hear about it. Many call to rave about the tree work performed, and I always relay that info to the team as well. Competitive salary from a family-owned business. I feel as if this company would rather perform exemplary and make an honest buck rather than underperform and overcharge customers. They've been around for 50+ years with extremely high TCIA accreditation and there's a very good reason for that!

    Cons

    Very antiquated systems, omg get with the millennium! Entire internal processes need overhauling. Understaffed/overworked. It would not kill you to hire a few more admins! So many silly little details to remember that could be completely eliminated with new procedures, database and protocols.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Abusive Environment

    Sep 1, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People in the office are great

    Cons

    Management imposes their religion upon all employees. Highest turnover I've ever seen in a company.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Almstead Tree Company Response

    HR Manager

    As the HR Manager here at Almstead I can say with certainty that your statement, "management imposes their religion upon all employees", is false. I find your statement to be inappropriate and unprofessional. If you wish to have a constructive dialog I am available to speak at 914-576-0193 x243. To anyone reading this review I would like to say that Almstead does not impose their religion upon their employees, supports the religious freedoms given by the first amendment of the constitution of the United States, and welcomes diversity in our workforce. I would ask you to reserve judgment of our company until you speak to a member of management or see for yourself. Thank you for your understanding.

Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Almstead Tree Company Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Almstead Tree Company? Share Your Experiences

Almstead Tree Company logo
or