Alon USA Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Alon USA Energy Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Alon USA Energy CEO W. Paul Eisman
W. Paul Eisman
9 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alon USA Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, family atmosphere, great benefits and casual dress code.

    Cons

    Work life balance could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Review protocols for acquisitions.

    Alon USA Energy2019-04-23
  2. "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Alon USA Energy

    Pros

    Great opportunity to meet Corporate since they come to the refinery monthly

    Cons

    Always playing defense due to lack of capital

    Alon USA Energy2018-05-03
  3. "leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alon USA Energy full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for more than 10 years.

    Cons

    Company has been sold to Delek.

    Alon USA Energy2017-10-04
  4. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Abilene, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alon USA Energy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing good to say at all!!!

    Cons

    Long hours, unrealistic goals to reach at times and horrible communication for upper management. Must not have a life to run a store.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people better, and maybe you wouldn't have a high turn over rate and know that people have lives outside the stores.

    Alon USA Energy2017-09-29
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Alon USA Energy full-time

      Pros

      Great starting salary and really good guys to work with

      Cons

      Small raises, benefits package could be better

      Alon USA Energy2017-07-18
    • "Financial Reporting Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alon USA Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People/environment are great Pay is good

      Cons

      I can have no cons so far after almost 2 years

      Alon USA Energy2017-06-09
    • "Merger"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Alon USA Energy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Growth, good compensation, good benefits

      Cons

      Alon is cash poor. Merging with Delek.

      Advice to Management

      Consider organizational structure during merger phase, not after the close.

      Alon USA Energy2017-06-18
    • "Alon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Big Spring, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Alon USA Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Laid back attitude. Good people.

      Cons

      Corporate does not want to grow. Do not spend any money on plant. Wasteful spending that could be used to advance the refinery.

      Advice to Management

      There are very talented people working here but are held back by corporate Alon. Expand the refinery in Big Spring and Krotz and reap the benefits.

      Alon USA Energy2017-04-12
    • "Upper Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Alon USA Energy full-time

        Pros

        I have nothing positive to say.

        Cons

        Upper management doesn't make smart decisions when it comes to its employees. Not a great place for Veterans. Bad remarks about Veterans in a workplace and upper management agreed with them.

        Alon USA Energy2017-03-08
      • "No room for advancement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Operations in Big Spring, TX
        Recommends

        I have been working at Alon USA Energy full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Excellent pay and lots of overtime.

        Cons

        Nepotism is alive and well.

        Advice to Management

        Hiring and transferring between departments should have the same set of requirements, no matter who your friends or family are.

        Alon USA Energy2017-01-21
      Found 17 reviews