Alpha FX Reviews | Glassdoor

Alpha FX Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Alpha FX CEO Morgan Tillbrook
Morgan Tillbrook
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "A unique working environment where you have the freedom and ownership over what you are working on(in 6 reviews)

  • "I have been working at Alpha for almost a year now(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours: there is no such thing as a free lunch; this is a hard-job and the rewards necessitate a high level of commitment to the role(in 8 reviews)

  • "As other reviewers have mentioned, working hours are longer than usual and this can take some getting used to(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity to challenge yourself and be a part of an amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time

    Pros

    Uncapped earning potential. Also a chance to be a part of an amazing, hard working team and an environment where everyone pushes each other to be better every day. Success will come with hard work and consistency.

    Cons

    As with any sales job, you won’t be successful if you aren’t willing to put in the time and effort every day.

    Alpha FX2019-08-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "An environment that inspires high performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Settlements 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Recognised and heard from the moment you join and continually throughout your career. With a strong emphasis on culture, which is driven by the CEO and reinforced by each employee, you are surrounded by ambitious and exceptionally talented people from the front to back office. Constantly pushed to reach your potential and given the tools to enable you to reach them. Radical candour can be seen as a negative, however,...

    Show More

    Cons

    It is easy to say the long hours but a few weeks/ months in the hours aren’t an issue and the days fly by.

    Alpha FX2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "An incredible company that I'm so proud to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FX Analyst in Paddington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alpha has provided me with such an amazing opportunity, and I'm so proud to be part of the team. The company is full of exciting, talented, driven people, that continue to empower each other and genuinely want others to do well, which is so motivating. Male/Female, young/old, it doesn't matter, as long as you work hard you will be recognised and rewarded - which is a breath of fresh air for this industry.

    Cons

    I struggle to think of anything significant, yes we work long hours but this is just the norm to me now and the culture and rewards outweigh this considerably.

    Alpha FX2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Alpha Canada - Equally rewarding and challenging opprotunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enormous room for growth in Alpha's first overseas office. Uncapped compensation. Strong team dynamic. Lots of emphasis on personal development and consistent sales training from Senior Management

    Cons

    Company is very transparent in the interview process on what is expected, which to be fair is a lot more than most jobs. This job is not for everyone, if your looking to have your hand held and ego patted this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Alpha's business model from the UK is proven.

    Alpha FX2019-07-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity for hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Ability to work in a fast paced environment with a great team - Excellent development and growth opportunities - Hard work pays off mentality - Upper management isn't far removed (CEO and SR Partners are very involved in development) - Opportunity to travel around Canada and Europe -great opportunity for females in finance as it is typically a male dominated industry - had no prior experience in finance or FX...

    Show More

    Cons

    - with great opportunity comes a lot of pressure. If you can’t take the heat get out of the kitchen - start up in Canada (with every start up comes some growing pains)

    Advice to Management

    -keep addressing growing pains of being a startup while keeping the fun startup vibe

    Alpha FX2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Utterly disgraceful, poorly run business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX

    Pros

    If there were any, they wouldn’t be at merit of the business.

    Cons

    Alpha offers its new employees a spiteful, vindictive and introduction into the world of FX. With its cavalier attitude toward recruitment, poor employee journey and prominent culture of “bullying to succeed” anyone who wishes to pursue a serious, meaningful career in either FX or the Financial Services should avoid this business at all costs. On the bright side, if the relentless hours for little recognition and constant...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort yourselves out. You are a disgrace to the FX marketplace.

    Alpha FX2019-07-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Working as a female Portfolio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - One of the best things about Alpha is the flexible and supportive approach taken by the leadership. The platform offered is a meritocracy, and for those who are capable you have the opportunity to maximise your potential. - When going into the industry I had preconceptions about the typical type of male dominated "broker culture" and what it would be like. However, at Alpha I have not found it to be like this at...

    Show More

    Cons

    - This job requires more work and commitment than your typical 9 to 5, and it’s a performance-oriented culture which can be high pressured.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the focus on culture, it is one of the things that sets Alpha apart from the competition and makes it such an enjoyable place to work.

    Alpha FX2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Portfolio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company with a clear mission. Great people and culture. From the front office to the back office staff, full of exceptionally talented people.

    Cons

    No real cons but be prepared to work extremely hard, with late evenings and often working weekends at the start.

    Alpha FX2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "An incredible team of people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha FX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Being in a team that genuinely supports and wants the best for one another. Makes such a difference to a working environment. - Constant encouragement and support to push yourself and self improve. - Feedback. It is never sugar coated but I have learnt so much that way.

    Cons

    - Currently in a temporary office for the next couple of months which is not ideal as we have limited space, so looking forward to moving.

    Advice to Management

    - In the time I have been at Alpha the number of women in the business has tripled. I would like to see this number continue to grow.

    Alpha FX2019-04-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "fantastic business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha FX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    chance to participate in a fast growing and excellent run business

    Cons

    No cons other than the long hours you are expected to put in

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Alpha FX2019-04-07
Found 65 reviews