Alpha Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Alpha Technologies Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Bryan Locker
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Great people, mostly skilled and motivated(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "One of the worst place I ever worked(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Power Systems Engineer in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The company has great benefits, great flexible work schedule, the ability to work from home, flexibility on travel, nice reimbursement plans, bonus plan and a bunch of really great people from all backgrounds which means it is a very diverse and friendly group. I really enjoyed it there and recommend this company to anyone wanting a step up in life. The benefits are a lot better than small mom and pop companies...

    Show More

    Cons

    Based on your expertise you could be faced with heavier than normal work load. Best if you try to keep overtime down to a minimum or you'll find yourself burning out. Process development in some groups could be enhanced

    Advice to Management

    Get a plan and have team meetings that are constructive toward a process and listen to the more experienced folks.

    Alpha Technologies2017-09-22
  2. "Alpha Technologies Suwanee Georgia SUCKS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teat Technician/Tear Down/Rebuild in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A FEW nice people. Stay away from the backstabbing Florida Transferred people.

    Cons

    Nonexistent Professional management on the repair side.

    Advice to Management

    You're just there riding a paycheck

    Alpha Technologies2019-05-17
  3. "Salaries on the low side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time

    Pros

    The location is relatively convenient.

    Cons

    The salaries are not competitive. The tend to hire immigrants that are more willing to compromise.

    Alpha Technologies2019-01-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management, Great Co Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, clean, and safe work environment. Best co-workers I have ever had the pleasure of working with.

    Cons

    Management are jerks - let me tell you my story When I started working at Alpha, Management took a hands off approach. I think this was because my department had alot of very experienced staff who could run the department without alot of management oversight. However, Management started getting more involved citing "the need to improve KPIs" (key performance indicators). Management started to micromanage more and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop fighting one another! You're on the same team and should work together! Hire Managers who understand department they're managing - preferably people from within that department.

    Alpha Technologies2018-11-30
  5. "Standard Fare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alpha Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great people, mostly skilled and motivated. Lots of parking. Lots to learn and casual management, depending on the section. Many career employees. Men do well here.

    Cons

    Management is mostly men; support staff mostly women. Very little opportunity for advancement and not much collaboration or teamwork beyond what gets on the wall posters. Spartan lunch room. Pressure to perform and high responsibility but low wages.

    Advice to Management

    Don't get the impression they are interested in any advice.

    Alpha Technologies2018-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent entry-level job, not good for long-term growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Opportunity to work with diverse groups of smart people (who deserve to get paid more but don't), data and numbers driven company cool events including company holiday party with prizes, Halloween decorating competition, summer BBQ, and company-wide shutdowns (days off for most people) for downtime in the summer and winter Decent benefits package with 401k and employees usually get a profit-sharing...

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper management is out of touch and isolated from the rest of the employees. They have little understanding of who their employees are, what their employees actually do and how hard they work. The pay is below average unless you're a top executive or in sales and it's very difficult to get promoted. If you do, you will receive minimal extra compensation. The managers are quick to give extra responsibilities to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees, not just the top level managers and executives. Some of us have been working for you for a while and you probably don't know our names or what we actually do. Listen to new ideas and think out of the box. Take the time to understand what everyone does, including the lower level employees.

    Alpha Technologies2018-09-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Worklife balance is great. Being able to work in an autonomous manner but definitively in a team atmosphere. Coworkers are exceptional.

    Cons

    Do not value educational accomplishments unless you are in top management and no room for growth. Top mangement are new and have no clue of a cultural atmosphere. Downward spiral. So sad because this is a great place.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that you chooze to see through lens that are npr clouded by words. Actions are important and keeping those in leadership that are not committed to your bottom line or interest is wayward to disastrous means.

    Alpha Technologies2017-07-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time

    Pros

    The coworkers are nice people

    Cons

    The management doesn't care about people they treat you like slave and at the end you get 2% raise the insurance is way too high and there's no short or long term disability for employees only management have it but we do all the physical work

    Alpha Technologies2017-08-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not a Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellingham, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Okay opportunities for young employees. Good place to build resume and go elsewhere.

    Cons

    Extreme office politics, negative morale, poor compensation, terrible management, poor communication, HR whose sole interest is with the company and not the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Work to retain your employees by paying fairly and investing in them. It makes business sense.

    Alpha Technologies2017-07-25
  10. "Alpha Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Technician II in Bellingham, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpha Technologies full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers and good Christmas bonus

    Cons

    Lower end pay scale for assembly and testing

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to workers

    Alpha Technologies2017-06-15
Found 50 reviews