Alpine Data Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Alpine Data Labs Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Alpine Data Labs CEO Dan Udoutch (no image)
Dan Udoutch
1 Ratings
  1. "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Professional Services in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here are the main qualities that I truly value in Alpine Data: 1. It feels like a family and people care about each other. You are valued as an individual, and you never feel like you are just a number (which usually is the case especially at large companies). 2. People at Alpine are open minded, friendly, positive and have a great sense of humor. You never feel any tension or unfairness; you are always encouraged to be creative, come up with new ideas, and if you notice that something doesn't work well, you feel empowered to change it. 3. Working at Alpine Data provides a luxury of working with top notch professionals allowing you to grow and expand your skills. You are welcomed to wear multiple hats and get your hands dirty with technologies that you've never worked with before and have supper smart people coach you along the way. 4. The compensation and other benefits are pretty good too; there is a great work/life balance, flexibility to work from home when needed, and so on. What else can one ask for? Overall, I am very happy to be a part of Alpine family!

    Cons

    The current office is located at downtown SF, so sometimes parking and traffic get crazy, but that's pretty much standard in SF.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2017-08-08
  2. "Interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpine Data Labs full-time

    Pros

    Diverse set of projects. Fast-moving environment. Agile is used for platform development. Interesting and diverse customer engagements (for the team members that are customer-facing).

    Cons

    Managerial decisions are often not transparent. VC funding details are not disclosed to the team, only the most high-level facts. Getting the product to work in different customer environments with different versions of the installed software spreads the team thin.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2016-10-11
  3. "Had a great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alpine Data Labs

    Pros

    Culture: Great people. You have to give it to them. There are some bright minds there and in some companies that leads to a lot of head weight and egos. Here the atmosphere is more friendly and there are no "I am brainer than you". Everybody will help you learn and learn from you. You are valued for what you bring to the table and you are treated equal. Product: Its a heavyweight product with so many technologies bundled into it. So you will never go out of the learning phase and all you do is learn on a daily basis. Snacks and food: Snacks are great and eventhough food is provided only twice a week it is carefully catered to bring some mouth watering dishes. Exposure: You can get exposed to different aspects of engineering right from design to tech support which you do not get in some of the companies.

    Cons

    Individual Growth: Sometimes how much ever you prove yourself you are left to prove yourself again. That can get tiring quickly. Management was not clear as to what is required of an individual to move up the ladder. I had varying goals and goals were reset every time. Sometimes the management promises to do something if you hit some goals but they try to find reasons at the end of the accomplishment of these goals to set you back to step 1. Benefits: They are not bad, could be better.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2016-10-05
  4. "This will be a break out year!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Similar to previous reviews. The company has great talent across all groups - sales, engineering, marketing. The upcoming 6.0 release will be the tipping point that launches the company into a leader. Great offices in SFO, great culture, great snacks.

    Cons

    Typical start up. Lots of hard work to put ideas into action. Can get bumpy a times and you can have thin skin. The only way ahead is forward.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2016-04-11
  5. "Great team, great product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented team developing a unique, differentiated product in a crowded analytics landscape. Great collaborative atmosphere, a strict no jerk policy and a great opportunity to work on (and learn about) Spark, ML, Hadoop, RDBMS and big data in general.

    Cons

    Parking can be tough, but this is fairly true across SF companies at present. Limited choice of beer in the fridge :-(

    Alpine Data Labs2015-11-04

    Alpine Data Labs Response

    November 6, 2015Office Manager

    We're happy to hear you're enjoying your experience at Alpine! Please let us know your favorite beers so we can add them to the rotation (this week was Lagunitas , Ninkasi, Sam Adams, Lost Coast, Rogue, and Crispin).

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alpine Data Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoyed working at ADL. The people are incredibly smart and they are doing some very cool things on cutting edge technology. If you have ever worked with machine learning and predictive algos on massive data sets, you can appreciate how difficult it is. I find large organizations spending way too much time just configuring their data platform, let alone running scalable algos to really drive value for the business. I also find organizations struggling to connect business users to data scientists in a way both can easily comprehend. Alpine is the only organization that is tackling these specific problems. It’s not easy but I loved the challenge and believe in what Alpine is doing. While I didn't always agree with everything, I expressed those thoughts and tried to provide data to support my claims. I never felt anything negative, just smart people that differed on certain ideas and this is something every organization deals with.

    Cons

    Like any organization, you have to figure out how that particular organization works and make yourself valuable. I worked closely with management and felt just as responsible for our success as they did, even though I was not part of management. If you need a lot of structure and don’t know how to express your thoughts in a respectable manner, you will struggle. This is a con for some, a pro for others.

    Alpine Data Labs2015-09-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs

    Pros

    Excellent workplace, able to work on different projects. Weekly tech talk is nice. Able to work on latest spark/hadoop are nice. Small team allow one to work on different parts. Week-long hackathon is cool.

    Cons

    need hire faster so there are enough resources to implements different ideas.

    Alpine Data Labs2015-08-04
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Plagued by Technical Debt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Alpine Data Labs full-time

    Pros

    Not much compared to the highly competitive bay area tech scene. This review is meant to be objective. It's a warning to anyone applying for an position here. I still have many friends who work here. There are lots of smart, hard working people here. Unfortunately, they're not listened to. This company has enormous potential. It needs a radical change to unlock it and grow: it needs to shed its old self to progress.

    Cons

    No one recognized and accepted how much technical debt really exists in the core intellectual property. To this day, several fundamentally flawed designs plague the product. There was no room to make any improvements and fix the big problems. Too many easily bruised egos. Also, management is unfortunately blind to this fatal flaw. "Just keep adding features, everything is okay, don't look into problems that aren't assigned to you!" is the mantra I heard over a dozen times.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2015-07-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Nice Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs

    Pros

    Good snacks.Nice view.Nice people. Flexible work time. Great product.

    Cons

    I think people need more communication sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Alpine Data Labs2015-01-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "One of the leaders in a crowded market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alpine Data Labs full-time

    Pros

    Alpine's product isn't just a stats tool. It covers all of the analytics process, as well as enterprise features like collaboration and security. Very high levels of customer satisfaction. The company really listens to prospects and customers. Real traction in the market. The team is very nice. Everyone gets along for the most part, and the energy in the office is really cool. There's a lot of work to do, most people are very busy, but the work-life balance is good.

    Cons

    The flip-side of having big customers is that there's too much work to do! Alpine needs to hire more people. It would be nicer if it was closer to Caltrain, although BART is close.

    Alpine Data Labs2015-01-18
Found 16 reviews