Alstom Grid Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Alstom Grid Président Grégoire Poux-Guillaume
Grégoire Poux-Guillaume
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very little internal mobility options(in 4 reviews)

  • "you earn as much as you work, have to strive to maintain work-life balance, loads of work per person(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Perspective"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alstom Grid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to improve yourself and the company has a good reputation is business.

    Cons

    Tasks maybe sometimes too straightforward, and easy.

    Alstom Grid2018-07-22
  2. "Good place to work every day"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Grid full-time

    Pros

    The People that you meet

    Cons

    There was a lot of travel

    Alstom Grid2017-02-01
  3. "Good company need of a face lift"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Grid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed and cosmopolitan environment. People are generally nice and company benefits and policies are quite good

    Cons

    Archaic technologies, resistance to adopt new processes and technologies. Also, Seattle office doesn't have good repo with Paris HQ. New people are generally not welcome

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2016-12-23
  4. "a reputable company in the industry"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Alstom Grid

    Pros

    The company has solid products and good customer base. If you know what you are doing and are working on the right products, it would be a good place to build up your career.

    Cons

    office politics, upper management does not seem to know the business well

    Alstom Grid2016-04-11
  5. "work life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Alstom Grid

    Pros

    good benefits like vacation and 401k

    Cons

    lot of work pressure, less resources

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2015-07-13
  6. "Alstom Redmond"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Grid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was livable--OK. I did get a bonus for the year's work. Vacation was average.

    Cons

    Some managers are good, others are incompetent. Some employees are bright, others are incompetent, but they stay because they have PhDs. The software and products are not managed properly; with a hodpodge of legacy Windows GUI technologies (everything) trying to interoperate with newer stuff, which just doesn't work. I could never figure out why software security wasn't a bigger concern, given the environment of global terrorism. Did not provide resources to get the job done.

    Alstom Grid2015-07-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Power System Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Power Systems Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alstom Grid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, very smart people to work with, flexible work hours, plenty of work. I enjoy working here and the vacation, 401k, and health insurance benefits are especially good. The people are extremely smart, top leaders in their technology fields. The office hours are 10am to 3pm so early or late schedules are both possible. There is lots of work. opportunities to be involved in project, and move around the company.

    Cons

    Salaries are just ok. Training programs not very good, it's a 'sink or swim' environment. Employees supposedly get 2 weeks of training per year, but that doesn't seem to happen. The project work can be scattered and disorganized. Documentation is not a priority and often software documentation is insufficient to really understand the functionality.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2015-04-24
  8. "Sales engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Grid full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good products and good execution on projects for their HV breakers

    Cons

    The parent company in France is out of touch with the US market. They do not support the business unit instead they are a hinderance to progress.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2014-10-29
  9. "People are nice, but their processes create too many roadblocks! Instead of helping the customer, it hinders our work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Grid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours are flexible, you don't have to dress up, the pay is fair, the location is great.

    Cons

    However, too much politics, lack of direction and very poor training. Thier processes are slow and hindering. They are asking for 90 days to pay invoices.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2014-10-12
  10. "You work as much you are paid for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Grid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is decent, good training and promotions based on performance. Health benefits are some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    you earn as much as you work, have to strive to maintain work-life balance, loads of work per person.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Grid2014-09-17
Found 100 reviews