Alstom Power Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Alstom Power Chairman & CEO Patrick Kron
Patrick Kron
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "French company that couldn't make a profit if they tried(in 16 reviews)

  • "Complete lack of communication from upper management, total disconnect between global offices, unpredictable pressure from the headquarters in France(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Less Hierarchy, Great HR Policies

    Cons

    None, my tenure was great.

    Alstom Power2019-05-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Commissioning Engineer in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Commissioning Engineers are like a family, always looking out for each other and bouncing ideas and quick on-site in the moment fixes off each other

    Cons

    Sometimes the supporting office forgets that the travelling commissioning engineers needs a lot of support and is the priority for making profits for the company. That culture must be adhered to, as when we engineers have issues and we falter, so does the office.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2018-11-29
  3. "Good hearted and talented professionals."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay and lots of overtime.

    Cons

    Lots of overtime even when not needed.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2018-12-04
  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Excellent people Paid vacation 401K Good health insurance Tuition reimbursement Great technology and products to learn

    Cons

    Layers of management Not a lot of opportunities to grow Very political Old school mentality

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2018-08-08
  5. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great. Place to. Work for long term

    Cons

    French culture some time needs some maneuvering

    Alstom Power2018-06-11
  6. "Good company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time

    Pros

    Good management and benefits plan

    Cons

    Too European and sometimes centralized

    Alstom Power2018-05-01
  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time

    Pros

    They have great benefits and they cared about their employees. You get to be a part of an international company with a great reputation.

    Cons

    They no longer own the power service side. It was sold to GE in 2015

    Alstom Power2018-02-18
  8. "Was a good company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top of class engineering, good work environment, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    French company that couldn't make a profit if they tried.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2018-02-27
  9. "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay, knowledgeable people

    Cons

    All in all this was a great company to work for, only had issues with some local management decisions.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2018-02-11
  10. "Good and Bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Power full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people.

    Cons

    Top Heavy Management, Poor Future Vision, significant bureaucracy.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Power2017-12-30
Found 347 reviews