Alstom Transportation Reviews

Updated May 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Alstom Transportation Chairman & CEO  Patrick Kron
Patrick Kron
95 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "French upper management: sometimes rigid and inflexible(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lack of training, no walk the talk especially on work life balance(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I worked at Alstom Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Positive work culture, great learning opportunities

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    Alstom Transportation2020-03-01
  2. "Its ok for now"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work/life balance Benefits package flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Salary-too low and heavy work load.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Transportation2019-11-21
  3. "flexible, french company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Buyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working time is flexible, SAP

    Cons

    location(small town), planning is NOT good

    Alstom Transportation2019-11-03
  4. "Great for Learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Buyer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn. Problem solving becomes first nature. Fascinating industry.

    Cons

    Uneducated Managers. Too many poor leaders. Tenure-ship is more valuable than ability.

    Alstom Transportation2019-09-30
  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to work in. A leader in a growing market. Challenging and demanding and yet great work/life balance.

    Cons

    French upper management: sometimes rigid and inflexible.

    Alstom Transportation2019-09-21
  6. "Hostile Work environment - wages are too low."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Hornell, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pros are it is day shift

    Cons

    No parts is a common theme here. Stuck waiting months at a time. Contracts always late. They pretend to care about safety "EHS" but its all smoke and mirrors. Production Management creating a hostile place to work. Verbal harassment commonplace. Performance evaluations have always been much lower than should be. My position has been purposely kept at a lower rank just to keep my wage lower as I am expected to do the same work of persons above me in higher position. I was promised in "writing" a 10% increase after the first year. I don't know why because Its been almost 5 and I am almost there. REALLY? !! Work life is extremely uncomfortable. No opportunities to move up and wages increases are below cost of living by far. Recommend to apply somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Transportation2019-09-23
  7. "Alstom will pay you much more to work in Hornell, NY."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supplier Quality Engineer in Hornell, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alstom, Hornell at least, pays well to work in the middle of nowhere.

    Cons

    Departments clash and blame each other for mistakes. "Teams" are everything, yet they all don't work well.

    Alstom Transportation2019-03-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Manager 

    I worked at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open to suggestions but not following through

    Cons

    Rigid in procedures that could not be curtailed towards each area. Training was inadequate no room for questions just do your job mentality. No room to grow and a heavy workload of around 12-15 hours a day working remotely.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Transportation2019-02-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Where employees go to retire"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software En in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alstom Transportation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits, excellent time off/sick packages. Great for 50+ employees who want to ride off into retirement, no work pressure and sometimes no work at all but they won't let you go. If you like writing documentation and process this is your heaven

    Cons

    The SCADA/Office team is lead by clueless management, the only reason they are around is that they have 4 customers who cannot pay the cost to move to other systems. I had times where I had literally nothing to do, was asked to merge code and write document upon document. The only people who are left are the ones who dont/cant go anywhere due to age and being put in a hole with outdated technology. Anyone looking for a job here should realize its 20+ years old technology maintenance with little or no new development. Usual cronies run management with knowing the right people taking you all the way to the upper floor. If you want to work and use your talents, take it elsewhere, here you are managed into average. Top heavy with 4 managers for a team of 10 along with product and program managers, with little or no scope for advancement. The other software groups work on products from the 80s and are engaged only when they get an actual project. Everything is about getting a charge code and doing your timesheet.

    Continue reading
    Alstom Transportation2018-07-06
  10. "coop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alstom Transportation full-time

    Pros

    I like the guys there

    Cons

    I think my hourly rate should be higher

    Alstom Transportation2018-06-05
Viewing 1 - 10 of 217 Reviews