Alterra Pest Control Reviews | Glassdoor

Alterra Pest Control Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I was attracted to Alterra primarily because it is an honest company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great pay and they let you drive the truck back and forth from work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours during summer sales season(in 9 reviews)

  • "They only show you the pretty statistics, like all summer sales companies there are statistics they don't want you to know(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control

    Pros

    Great training program with lots of people willing to help.

    Cons

    Would usually work 12 hour days.

    Alterra Pest Control2016-09-23
  2. "Family like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control full-time

    Pros

    Small office so everyone knew eachother well

    Cons

    Higher ups didnt seem to care about employees, turn around rate was kinda high.

    Alterra Pest Control2018-10-23
  3. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours Easy Understanding staff Great team work Always rewarded for hard work One hour lunch breaks Communication was great

    Cons

    Management never wanted to fix issues with our customers. We were never allowed to give in to customers wants unless escalated.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a manager who wants to work and is interested in his employees

    Alterra Pest Control2017-03-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to sell down in beautiful San Diego which had perfect weather all summer long. Fun team, but really that depends on who you're with.

    Cons

    There is a possibility to make money but it's all about location and San Diego was not the best... actually one of the worst for the whole company. When you get the sale you better make sure you get them on easy pay with a credit card, otherwise, if you don't hit a certain percentage they will come back and take all your money. Meetings every morning and out on the doors early and off of them after dark... every single...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't hide things from your employee's

    Alterra Pest Control2017-01-02
  5. "data support analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Support Analyst in Garland, TX

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control for more than a year

    Pros

    great company, great people, god training

    Cons

    small company, not to much chance for grow

    Alterra Pest Control2016-10-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Pay, Decent People, Sometimes Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Professional in Livermore, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office manager and service manager were both pretty good although some of the sales reps promise customers services that we can't do legally and some of the other techs also do sub-par performance which you have to answer for the next time you see the customer

    Cons

    We were paid $12/hour which is better than other offices but is still below the Industry standard. I was later offered similar jobs for $14/hour and $2500 a month plus around $2000 in commission, so I figured out after the fact that the pay wasn't great. Also, Alterra took back most of the commission they promised me on my sales after I'd already made the sales.

    Advice to Management

    I guess keep doing what you're doing if all you care about is cashing out by selling the company (although they have already done this I think) If you want to build a strong customer and employee base, then pay your techs better and focus on serving the customers you have rather than only focusing on getting new ones.

    Alterra Pest Control2016-10-19
  7. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Ridgefield, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control

    Pros

    If you meet quota you make good money. It's worth it if you put the numbers up. Commissions can be good.

    Cons

    Terrible schedule Monday through Saturday all summer. You're very monitored down to the number of knocks you log a day. Lots of pressure on you. Make sure you read the contract you're signing first because if you don't sell a certain number over the summer you only get a quarter of the commission owed to you. Realistically it's just another door to door sales company that does some things dishonestly and that's just the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't con your sales people and don't micromanage to the point of bullying.

    Alterra Pest Control2016-07-17
  8. "Alterra Pest Control - under new management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pest Control Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Alterra Pest Control full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, guaranteed minimum 40 hour work week, free bottled water and occassional snacks at Office.

    Cons

    Having to commute 45 minutes almost every day of the week, long work days. Under new management (Terminix Intl)

    Alterra Pest Control2016-07-13
  9. "pest control techncian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pest Control Technician in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control for less than a year

    Pros

    training for the job is hands on , and that makes it easier to catch on. You get to work outside and enjoy the weather. take home truck was a very big plus

    Cons

    management can seem misguided at times. you do have to work in the rain and ice cold weather. the hours can be very demanding and it may seem you don't have a life.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your top techs in the field when it comes to chemical orders. dont cheap out on equipment

    Alterra Pest Control2016-05-16
  10. "Take a job here and you won't have a life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alterra Pest Control full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great considering all of the overtime you will do. People there are extremely nice.

    Cons

    No time. They work you like a dog. Six days a week for over twelve hours a day. Maybe if it payed a little bit more then yes but with only ten dollars an hour you're not getting much.

    Advice to Management

    Switch to a normal work week (five days a week). We have hobbies and families to take care of.

    Alterra Pest Control2016-05-25
Found 51 reviews