Altra Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Altra Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
92%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Altra Federal Credit Union President & CEO Jack Peplinski (no image)
Jack Peplinski
13 Ratings
  1. "Great company with amazing people attempting to create a healthy work environment whilst also upholding company values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, good leadership, and good environment

    Cons

    No chance for promotion, Employees vary depending on branch

    Advice to Management

    I believe that management should make it their responsibility to make sure to establish guidelines, rules and authority of roles.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2019-04-08
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altra Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Altra is a great. The differences in departments vary though. The standard day to day is different for every department. It really depends on who your manager is. Offer wellness incentives and decent insurance plan. 401k is fantastic. They also have an employee bonus.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than other places of employment in the area. They try to say that the great benefits make up for the low pay, but it is still expensive to take the insurance, so paychecks are not great. A lot of gossiping goes on depending on which branch you work at....but I've heard from other branches other than the one that I work in, that it is the same. Operations Center is the worst from what I've heard...but... probably because there is more people there. Everyone seems nice to your face though.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize pay is low for industry standard except for a select few. Maybe make sure all staff is treated the same across the board.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2018-12-10
  3. "Okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. Love my coworkers. Great training program.

    Cons

    Very difficult to move up. No internship opportunities. No chances to gain experience to help ability to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Increase internship opportunities - it might even help you gain knowledge from students in the areas. Look to internal candidates first.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2018-07-23
  4. "Member Contact Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Contact Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altra Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is amazing. They took me from being a shy inexperienced child and blossomed me into a confident salesperson. The skills that Altra teaches you not only help you grow as an employee, but as a person. They're focus, at least in the Member Contact Center, is you and your needs. If you want to transfer to the Lending Center, or Deposit Operations, or literally anywhere in the company; the manager and... supervisors will do their best to schedule training and job shadow opportunities for you to learn what you need to know to eventually transfer to those departments. They also maintain a no-drama environment which is such an amazing feat in and of itself. I started in this department thinking that I wanted to work to transfer to the Lending Center myself; but after a year there I knew I never wanted to leave the Contact Center. The only reason I am not currently employed is because of relocation to a different state.

    Show More

    Cons

    Other departments didn't have the same environment as the Contact Center, so there may be cons in other positions, but I do not have any for the Contact Center from my own personal experience.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue what your doing and know that you made Altra Federal Credit Union the best career I ever had and probably ever will have. Please also convince IT and HR to implement telecommuting as an option.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2018-03-08
  5. "Branch Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altra Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits, employee support and member service, friendly and cooperative work environment

    Cons

    internal training delivery systems and quality

    Advice to Management

    focus on ALL locations

    Altra Federal Credit Union2018-02-16
  6. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Specialist in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Promote from within and have a desire to see employee succeed.

    Cons

    People stick around so it can be hard to move up. They give too many chances to employees that should be reprimanded or terminated.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to discipline employees for mistakes or bad behavior.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2018-01-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "FSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Altra Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation 401K up to 9% company match HSA contribution from the company

    Cons

    I was in a small office so I did not have the ability to grow.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2017-12-19
  8. "Solution Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Everything is great about this company

    Cons

    There are not more facilities in the area.

    Advice to Management

    This is a great organization

    Altra Federal Credit Union2017-11-29
  9. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible for a college student.

    Cons

    Do not always have the best feedback system.

    Advice to Management

    Increase one on one feedback with management

    Altra Federal Credit Union2017-12-13
  10. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altra Federal Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great environment, management spoils you on a regular basis with little treats and gifts, overall great place to work

    Cons

    The older members think they can do whatever they want and argue till they get their way. In office cliques.

    Altra Federal Credit Union2017-11-13
Found 19 reviews