Altru Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Altru Health Reviews

Updated September 28, 2017
45 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dave Molmen
25 Ratings

45 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Good employer for the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist

    I worked at Altru Health full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated employees
    Attempting to modernize operations

    Cons

    Many locum workers
    Constantly short staffed

    Altru Health Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and dedication to patients. We use locums so that we can ensure we are staffed appropriately to provide safe, quality patient care. Staffing needs are a reflection of the... More


  2. "Overpowering upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Grand Forks, ND
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Grand Forks, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Altru Health full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good teamwork
    Opportunity for advancement
    Friendly

    Cons

    Upper management making descions without input from employees that those desicions directly impact.

    Advice to Management

    Get out on the floors and listen to what is important to the people that are taking care of the patients before making huge changes that impact their health and well being
    I used to think upper management truly cared about its staff...but recent changes are starting to make me realize it is all about the $$.

    Altru Health Response

    Oct 2, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your review. We will share your feedback with management. Would you be interested in sharing more details? If so, please contact Altru's Human Resources at 701.780.5511. Thank... More

  3. "Applicants beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN
    Current Employee - Staff RN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Altru Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Central Location
    Competitive Benefits
    Constant professional education/challenges
    Emphasis on Patient Care

    Cons

    Often short-staffed on the floors
    Physicians seem harried
    Getting PTO approved can be like pulling teeth
    When applying, the company will contact your current employers without notifying you ahead of time

    Advice to Management

    Be kind and listen to your healthcare professionals - they make the company run, not the C-suite


  4. "Physician Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altru Health full-time

    Pros

    Altru is a great place to work.

    Cons

    The cons are very minimal

    Advice to Management

    Great Job!


  5. "yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Grand Forks, ND
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Grand Forks, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Altru Health full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They have great benefits and competitive pay. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    winters are brutal in the midwest

    Advice to Management

    communication towards others is much needed

    Altru Health Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We will share your comments with leadership.


  6. "Altru is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altru Health full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, although they used to be better, good management, top administrators really do listen to what you have to say, and are concerned about you as a person. It is a large corporation by North Dakota standards, but even the President of the health system knows most employees by their first names, and asks genuinely concerned questions when he meets you in the hall or in a meeting, either about your work or your family.

    Cons

    Starting to pare down on some of the benefits, as are most other health care systems.


  7. "CNA at hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Grand Forks, ND
    Former Employee - CNA in Grand Forks, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altru Health part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There was a broad range of diagnoses seen within the patient population. Nurses wonderful to work alongside with. Good hours.

    Cons

    Staff to patient ratios were often poor, leading to employees being overworked which led to rapid turnover of employees. Patients suffered because of this.

    Advice to Management

    Improve patient:staff ratios to better improve patient care

    Altru Health Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback! We appreciate it, as we continually strive for improvement. If you would like to share more, please email HRhelpdesk@altru.org. Thanks again.

  8. "Student Nurse Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altru Health part-time

    Pros

    Great unit culture. Efficient teamwork. Managers are very flexible with schedules. Very focused on hourly rounding and bedside report.

    Cons

    Some of the best practices you learn in nursing school are not performed at this facility. For an example, sterile field was broken when I saw a nurse insert an IV.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I felt that management was very open to employees and flexible with schedules and PTO.

    Altru Health Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your review! We will share your feedback with management. Would you be interested in sharing more details? If so, please contact Altru's Human Resources at 701.780.5511. Thank... More


  9. "Altru Health System Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Altru Health full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance at Altru.

    Cons

    There is a large bureaucracy present at Altru.

    Altru Health Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Shift differential
    Insurance is great with low premiums, low deductible, and small copay

    Cons

    Cannot move to new position until 1 year and management can deny your request.

    Altru Health Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Public Relations Specialist

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 45 of 46 reviews
Reset Filters