Alvin Independent School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Alvin Independent School District Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Fred Brent
12 Ratings
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AVID Tutor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Alvin Independent School District part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good boss and good hours

    Cons

    low pay and classrooms are difficult

    Alvin Independent School District2019-03-28
  2. "Great district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Math Teacher 

      I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits and supportive staff.

      Cons

      Large class sizes and behavioral issues

      Alvin Independent School District2019-05-16
    • "Love"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Teacher 

        I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time

        Pros

        Supportive, great resources, good salary

        Cons

        Large district, could use more consistency

        Alvin Independent School District2019-03-12
      • "A Great Place to Work But Is Undergoing Massive Changes"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teacher in Manvel, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Alvin Independent School District full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        I felt that I had a chance to grow as a professional throughout my time with the district. Students were at times difficult but the vast majority were great kids.

        Cons

        The district has gone through massive leadership changes and is currently trending towards bureaucratic. There are people who scam and set up small privileges such as cherry picking their schedule while co-opting the generic "we are all here for the kids" mantra.

        Advice to Management

        Incorporate a method for people to be able to view what the average reviews are. This helps remove politics from the equation by making the reviewers publicly accountable. Also, create a mechanism for people to voice complaints directly to an HR person with the power to act on them. There is a grievance board type process but this is merely window dressing being that school leaders choose the representative to meet their...

        Show More
        Alvin Independent School District2019-03-13
      • "Fantástica Community to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time

        Pros

        Smaller school district with a a family mentality. They take very good care of their employees.

        Cons

        The demographic is wildly different on either side of the district which can cause some cultural differences.

        Alvin Independent School District2018-07-04
      • "Teacher/Coach"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time

          Pros

          Great Salary and benefits. Athletics community is unified.

          Cons

          Movement through district requires knowing the right person opposed to qualifications.

          Advice to Management

          Listen to your teachers and other staff. Just because your employee respectfully does not agree, does not mean they are your enemy.

          Alvin Independent School District2018-07-17
        • "Business Teacher/elective"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          I've had the pleasure of working with some incredible individuals fof the last 12 years. Also, my students and the parents are respectul & believe in tea m work.

          Cons

          New management has changed the mission or the basic principle of our small school. But many times , change is necessary to create a new beginning..r

          Advice to Management

          Be more cognizant of students' behavior; never scream and treat them with disrespect. Never humiliate student in front of class. Take him/her outside. Reduce amount of homework and, thus stress. Teachers, principals, parents and students lets work together as a team to succeed in preparing our students and prevent tragedies. Conscious Dicipline is a program which maybe able to help teachers and administrators

          Alvin Independent School District2018-06-04
        • "7th and 8th grade teacher"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - 7th and 8th Grade Elective Teacher in Manvel, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Great Administration, - teachers are high priority

          Cons

          Building Principals not always supportive of teachers over students

          Advice to Management

          IF there is a high turnover it's usually because of building Administrators

          Alvin Independent School District2018-05-17
        • "Lead Custodian"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Alvin Independent School District full-time

          Pros

          Good pay and good benefits

          Cons

          Have to work late nights!

          Alvin Independent School District2018-04-24
        • "Review of district"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Alvin Independent School District full-time

          Pros

          District is really dedicated to advocating for the students

          Cons

          Very hard to communicate with effectively with community

          Alvin Independent School District2017-10-13
        Found 33 reviews