Alzheimer's Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Alzheimer's Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Alzheimer's Society CEO Jeremy Hughes
Jeremy Hughes
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible bullying dreadful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    None appalling place, rotten through and through

    Cons

    Useless management. Cliquey bullying staff who delighted in their ability to bully fellow staff and managers into illness and out of their jobs while senior management did nothing. Worst place I have ever worked. Terrible money and awful people. I wouldn't give a penny to this so-called charity

    Advice to Management

    Sack everybody and start again. Stop encouraging bullying and cliques.

    Alzheimer's Society2019-02-17

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    March 11, 2019Recruitment Assistant

    Hi, Thanks for taking your time and leaving us a review. We really appreciate all feedback. Sorry to feel that you did not have good experience working at the Society. We strongly believe everyone should be treated with dignity and respect at work, where they can work in an environment ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cliques and bullies. Too corporate, no personalisation for local teams. Great brand but behind the scenes is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause and some good people in it.

    Cons

    Bullying from higher management. I worked closely with some of them and saw emails about me to other .embers of staff. Had to hand in my notice because of the bullying. Never raised it formally because I just wanted to get out of there. I worked for a director so I know the behind the scenes 'work'

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, make it less corporate. I've worked in a number of charities and AS is by far one of the worst. The personalisation is taken out of the charity now

    Alzheimer's Society2019-01-20

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    February 18, 2019Recruitment Assistant

    Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on working here. We are sorry to hear about your negative experiences at the Society, we would very much appreciate if you ever got in touch and expanded on your time hear as we have zero tolerance policy towards bullying, and would ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

      Pros

      The job was well paid

      Cons

      Don't feel part of what is being accomplished

      Alzheimer's Society2019-01-14
    • "Fantastic Charity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

      Pros

      I thoroughly enjoy my current role as a Dementia Support Worker. I feel privileged to be involved with such a fantastic organisation making a real difference to people affected by dementia and their carers. I have a wonderful team of colleagues and my line manager is incredibly supportive.

      Cons

      Speaking as a young professional, career progression is slower in a locality office compared to London as there are fewer roles available.

      Alzheimer's Society2018-12-18
    • "Trust & Statutory Fundraising Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Alzheimer's Society

      Pros

      nice location of office, friendly people

      Cons

      line manager was quite shortsighted and narrow-minded. or else it was fine.

      Alzheimer's Society2018-12-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great if you’re male"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Middle Management in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The cause is such a poignant one and on a local level they do some fantastic work

      Cons

      It is very cliquey, people often aren’t recognised for their work and there is a culture of promoting lapdogs rather than people with the most experience and who would be best suited to a role. If you quietly accept more work it is assumed that you can take on more and more and many people are stretched to breaking point.

      Advice to Management

      Loyalty should be important but you need to acknowledge people who just get on with their work and at have different perspectives on issues, not just those who stay late and make a big fuss about agreeing with everything you say. Also, look at the male dominance at the top of a heavily female workplace demographic- this ‘old boys club’ needs to change to better reflect who works within the organisation.

      Alzheimer's Society2018-11-20
    • "Lack of inertia"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I started out really positive because I was working for an organisation that I felt really made a difference

      Cons

      The pace of getting things done is so incredibly slow, the disorganisation is evident across the whole Society.

      Alzheimer's Society2018-11-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lovely charity but wellbeing will depend on your manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Side By Side Coordinator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Staff are passionate and dedicated Flexible working may be available (depending on your manager) Mileage reimbursed Interesting work Lots of in-house training

      Cons

      Staff undervalued by management Service managers can be so absent that you feel you have no manager High workload and impossible to reach targets with minimal funding or investment Staff complaints not acted upon

      Advice to Management

      Value your staff and be a shining example!

      Alzheimer's Society2018-11-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Generally good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      TIme off in lieu policy for overnight stays

      Cons

      Some poor management and culture

      Alzheimer's Society2018-10-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "A well-balanced organisation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Communications in London, England

        I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Interesting projects, proactive teams, friendly place

        Cons

        Changes within teams and uncertainties

        Alzheimer's Society2018-09-10
      Found 72 reviews