Alzheimer's Society "affected by dementia" Reviews | Glassdoor

Alzheimer's Society Employee Reviews about "affected by dementia"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Alzheimer's Society CEO Jeremy Hughes
Jeremy Hughes
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "people really care about the Society and put people affected by dementia at the heart of everything they do(in 12 reviews)

  • "The work we do for people affected by dementia(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 7 reviews)

  • "I wouldn't give a penny to this so-called charity(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "affected by dementia"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    Great user involvement, good media team, excellent service delivery staff committed to people affected by dementia

    Cons

    Lack of personal development, weak HR support, poor people management, poor change management, hierarchical, cliquey

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people, value loyalty and commitment,

    Alzheimer's Society2019-03-21

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    March 29, 2019Recruitment Assistant

    Hi, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with us. Your feedback is very important, if you do want to share some of your concerns or make a complaint please email us on recruitment@alzheimers.org.uk

  2. "Fantastic Charity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoy my current role as a Dementia Support Worker. I feel privileged to be involved with such a fantastic organisation making a real difference to people affected by dementia and their carers. I have a wonderful team of colleagues and my line manager is incredibly supportive.

    Cons

    Speaking as a young professional, career progression is slower in a locality office compared to London as there are fewer roles available.

    Alzheimer's Society2018-12-18
  3. "changing the landscape of dementia..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    - people really care about the Society and put people affected by dementia at the heart of everything they do - high energy, creative and innovative - senior management are accessible and approachable - you know you are making a difference in changing the landscape of dementia forever - good benefits and supportive flexible working environment (different working patterns, hours, working from home etc)

    Cons

    - sometimes overly ambitious and want to do it all - capacity and delivery can be an issue - decision making isn't always as clear as you might like - sometimes there is just too much going on at the same time and it makes it hard to constantly re-prioritise

    Advice to Management

    - keep listening to both employees and volunteers on how to do things even better and keep updated on progress made - the Society is full of people who go above and beyond, but capacity is an issue and people will tire eventually, so balance is key

    Alzheimer's Society2018-02-19

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    March 23, 2018.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. We really appreciate your feedback.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    The front line staff are fantastic with a real passion for the cause.

    Cons

    HR support is inconsistent and a total lack of equity across the organisation's directorates in terms of following policy. Policies are not fit for purpose and too open for interpretation Senior leadership team are disengaged from frontline and making huge decision without really engagement with frontline staff and most importantly service users. Constant feedback from employment surveys show that people are unhappy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication vastly Be consistent Senior leadership team need to be more viable on frontline and seek guidance form those who actually know services and what service users wants. A tokenism of user involvement exercise is meaningless Listen to feedback from surveys and act on it!

    Alzheimer's Society2017-11-10

    Alzheimer's Society Response

    November 27, 2017.

    First of all we’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am really sorry that your experience at Alzheimer’s Society did not meet expectations. The Society has worked hard to create a culture where people are valued, listened to and feel empowered to succeed ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Very hierarchical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    Passionate employees Diverse workload Great networking opportunities

    Cons

    Services are cut regularly leaving those directly affected by dementia with no where to go Money is frittered away on pointless and frequent travel by employees to meetings which could easily be dialled in for Poor management HR is shocking and useless Payroll often mess up and defensive Those prepared to brag will get far Those who are actually great at their jobs tend...

    Show More
    Alzheimer's Society2017-03-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dementia Support Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    I really like that the employees get to see and hear Jeremy regularly via online briefings etc and although not met him he really seems like a good guy who believes in his work and his team. There are a lot of training opportunities either in person or elearning. An amazing cause that everybody seems genuinely passionate to all be working towards. Benefits for a charity are very good compared to some such as pension...

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary could be higher to reflect the responsibility of the role and how diverse the workload is. I have given it 4 stars based on this and the fact that I have still a lot to learn about the society in general which I am really looking forward to doing. Hoping for a long and happy career with the Society.

    Alzheimer's Society2017-01-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Poor pay, less than competitors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Supporting people affected by dementia and being able to make a difference

    Cons

    Inflexible career opportunities - no internal promotion system . Bureaucratic. Poor pay and rewards.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more internal opportunity for staff development. Spinal pay to reward talent. Review junior management pay.

    Alzheimer's Society2017-02-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Alzheimer's Society"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organizational Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The work we do for people affected by dementia. The people, employees and volunteers. The development opportunities.

    Cons

    Honestly, there aren't any cons.

    Alzheimer's Society2016-11-11
  9. "An ambitous and inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Internal Communications and Engagement in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society full-time

    Pros

    Alzheimer's Society is driven above all else to support people affected by dementia. The true dedication of the volunteers and employees I work with, is plain to see every day. If you like a challenge, but with great support and a collaborative environment the I would really recommend it as a place to work. There is a real ambition to do more, do it better, be more inclusive, really listen to the people we are here...

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't many down sides. I guess with the scale of the ambition comes a reasonably heavy workload. It has always been manageable so far.

    Advice to Management

    keep going - we will do it!

    Alzheimer's Society2016-10-07
  10. "An inspiring place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alzheimer's Society part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    A committed and passionate workforce of staff and volunteers who continue to inspire and motivate me everyday, even after 8 years. Interesting and challenging, no one day is the same! Great development opportunities, training, and benefits including flexible working and childcare vouchers which really helps working parents like me. I'm very lucky to do a job I love which is making a difference.

    Cons

    It's a large and complex organisation which can pose some challenges. There are so many people affected by dementia needing support it can do sometimes feel like a daunting task but people frequently go above and beyond to deliver.

    Alzheimer's Society2016-10-05
Found 72 reviews