Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs Reviews | Glassdoor

Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs CEO Angelique Tsontos (no image)
Angelique Tsontos
0 Ratings
  1. "mental health therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs full-time

    Pros

    very compassionate and bicultural agency

    Cons

    I don't really have anything negative to say about amanecer

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2015-08-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "hoping for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great people -opportunity to move up -flexible schedule

    Cons

    -no emotional support -focused on productivity

    Advice to Management

    take the time to provide support, even 5 mins makes a diff!

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2018-01-19
  3. "MFT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - MFT in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities of training The salary is the average

    Cons

    The therapist is seen as a machine to produce. Employees are treated as disposable. Although the environment is therapeutic, they lack IQ.

    Advice to Management

    The culture has to change from one that is anxious about the results to another that promotes real support to the employee in his weaknesses, skills, and strengths. A 360 Assessment for management would reveal the inconsistencies.

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2018-02-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lcsw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility pay flexibility and pay

    Cons

    Too many bosses to report to

    Advice to Management

    Keep your providers happy they will stay

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2017-06-28
  5. "Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, good supervision and you get your hours fast

    Cons

    High turn around rate, dmh billing is priority, low pay and it is hourly, large case loads

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2017-05-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Case manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs

    Pros

    Great people, and awesome management.

    Cons

    Low pay and no staff praising

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay in order for staff not to leave

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2015-10-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package. One of the best I've ever had. There's sometimes a bonus at the end of the fiscal year which is nice and a quarterly incentive plan. Great coworkers and you learn so much. There's not a lot of turnover until people get their hours for license so that's good too. It's a great teaching environment for people fresh out of grad school. You get trained in EBPs and DMH paperwork and electronic... health records. There's a lot of flexibility and autonomy which is so nice. Managers have open door policies and are supportive but you're probably going to get different answers to your question depending on who you ask.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm going to start by saying pay. It's a non profit but we should get paid more for the amount of work we do. It's a lot of paperwork. HR has too much power and control over everyone. The children's director has worse ADHD than some of our clients. I have no idea how or why he was promoted when he's terrible at his job and never at the agency. Open door policy is great but managers need to get on the same page.... You get a different answer depending on who you go ask and that can be really frustrating.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR shouldn't have as much power and control over agency decisions, especially clinical decisions when they're not clinical. Get a new children's director with someone that knows what they're doing and isn't all over the place.

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2015-08-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs

    Pros

    When dmh first required to train their therapists on evidenced based therapies, they trained their therapists.

    Cons

    Insultingly low pay ( a few cent raise in one year) aggressive and incompetent management. Indifferent and self serving hr admin dept.

    Advice to Management

    Regularly Promote management from within, and pay employees market based wages , especially ones working there for more than three years. Allow your already trained case managers and therapists to give input into the programs you are trying to implement. More power over program implementation by the therapists actually implementing them means empowered employees, happy work place, higher retention rates, and less... money lost to retraining new hires.

    Show More
    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2013-12-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Working in the Barracks for little to no money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Therapist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs

    Pros

    For field based therapist, its nice to set your own hours.

    Cons

    Very poor pay and aggressive supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    Give fair wages

    Amanecer Community Counseling Svcs2012-03-30
Found 9 reviews