Amazon Reviews in Akron, OH | Glassdoor

Amazon Akron Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fullfilment Associate in Twinsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set your own schedule Easy hiring process Ability to move up in company Great atmosphere

    Cons

    You’ll have to deal with some coworkers who aren’t team players

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Amazon2018-09-05
  2. "Pretty Good but hit/miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Twinsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CLE5 has a really good management right now and some Managers exceed expectations on their effectiveness with communicating

    Cons

    The facility is short handed on Critical staff such as IT and safety.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on growing good ideas/recommendations from lower tier employees if they improve safety or workflow.

    Amazon2018-12-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it seems..dont apply if you have morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sortation Associate in Twinsburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid Weekly at 15.00 an hour. Outside benefits were great as well for things like phones and car insurance. They offered to pay for your college as well.

    Cons

    Where do I begin. HR is a joke. No direct contact is provided and you will be lost as a new hire. I worked at the sort center and it was hell. Give young adults some authority and it swells their head up like MegaMind. You constantly have to scan and sort packages just to be told you arent making quota. You basically fighting over packages to keep your numbers up so that you arent sent home. Management does not know how...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to rethink your whole process at this location.Its messy and the employees do not care about the packages..only the numbers. People shouldn't fear coming to work to be put on blast that your numbers are low. You should have at least a week of HR and training before actually working. Two 5 hour shifts will not cut it. That is why the pallets fall and mail isnt delivered to the correct location. Its a...

    Show More
    Amazon2019-01-09
  4. "No Raise for Cross Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Amazon customers are absolutely amazing!

    Cons

    There is no pay raise for cross training into a different department. I have worked for 2 other very large companies and was considered a very valuable employee since I was able to quickly be moved around where I was needed. Not at Amazon! I trained in 5 different departments and still made $10.00 an hour.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what their worth!

    Amazon2018-10-24
  5. "Seasonal worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Associate in Twinsburg, OH
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are clear on what to expect hours-wise and there are plenty of shifts to pick up if you care to

    Cons

    Gigantic warehouse and the majority of your break will be spent walking all the way to the employee breakroom. Training is not very thorough on what you'll actually be doing, and unless you find a 'permanent' employee willing to take you under their wing and show you around, you'll be a little lost.

    Amazon2018-09-14
  6. "Customer Service Associate from Home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAHM in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from the comfort of your home.

    Cons

    Can’t get much help from your manager.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure managers/ team leaders know what’s going before having them attempt to train new employees.

    Amazon2018-03-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Scanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Package Handler in Twinsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good and the company is flexible

    Cons

    Not really able to get cross trained as quickly and can boost up the pay

    Advice to Management

    Offer for people to learn to do other tasks and help grow in the company

    Amazon2017-12-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sortation Associate in Twinsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They gave me steady hours that only changed when I wanted them too.They also worked with my class schedule to find the shifts that best worked for me. The managers were pretty engaged and would get on the floor and help if you asked. They pay was pretty good for the work, and their scan rate expectations were reasonable, at about 140 packages an hour. I never found myself below that threshold.

    Cons

    The breaks were short, but the shifts weren't too long so I didn't mind. They were technically 15 minutes but once you factor in walking, it ended up being around 10.

    Advice to Management

    Managers could communicate with each other better i.e. some safety procedures vary from manager to manager

    Amazon2017-10-19
  9. "Good and a mediocre job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waterspider in Twinsburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You get benefits at the very bottom level while only working part time and there is opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Extremely short breaks, no vacation time (I know it's part time, but being only 20, I had a family vacation to go on, and that used up all of "Unpaid time" right at the beginning when it replenished, and I then was late one day, and had a stern talking).

    Advice to Management

    Give longer breaks, and be little more lax

    Amazon2017-07-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scanner in Twinsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have Great benefits great company to work for. Good opportunity to learn different parts of the building.

    Cons

    Only part time at the facility I worked at no option for full time

    Amazon2017-07-08
Found 13 reviews