Amazon Applications Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
21 Ratings
  1. "Experience depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Applications Engineer 

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    I lucked out with a great team who gave me all the opportunities I could've asked for, and I'm proud of the work I got to do

    Cons

    Almost everyone I knew worked overtime at least 3 days a week

    Amazon2019-08-11
  2. "Overall good company and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Amazon in the Seattle office for about half year and have had a very good experience. - I like my manager and enjoy everyone on my team. Because Amazon is such a big company with so many teams that your experience will most likely vary from mine because I have personally heard things that happen at other teams that don't happen at mine. - Amazon has a great rotational program so you can stay with the company for long and never get bored. Lots of smart people with many technologies so you will be able to work on many cutting-edge innovations. - Pay is great overall. Salary is not high but you're able to make up more than enough with signing bonus and RSU.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really have too many bad things to say. The only one that I noticed is that some teams are so busy that it's hard to get their time. You sometimes have to go up the chain to make sure you get the attention you need from the other teams.

    Advice to Management

    I wish there is free lunch which from my experience with previous tech company I worked for that it's really a time saver and brings the team together. I'm a big coffee drinker so personally I'd like for us to have better free coffee in the office.

    Amazon2018-05-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Always Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Applications Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of opportunities, new Challenges, thinking outside box, customer focus, teaches priorities management, time management, embellishes Amazon principles in ones life

    Cons

    Highly stressful, seeps into ones personal life, often manager doesn't know where to stop and while run employee's dry. Urgency to deliver everything takes toll on people

    Advice to Management

    Observe pattern of managers or management to identify issues in team.

    Amazon2017-04-13
  4. "Amazon in Seattle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies. Lots of opportunities to learn. Provides a very challenging environment and more recently the benefits for parents are very good.

    Cons

    Very challenging work atmosphere. If you are not cut out for this you will hate it.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the appraisal process.

    Amazon2016-05-02
  5. "Struggle with the unstructured beauracacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Seattle, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money.Interaction with some great minds in the world during internal conferences and sessions.Of course the pride of being a part of earth's most customer centric experience

    Cons

    No proper growth plan for employees.Difficult promotion process requiring a lot more documentation than your actual deliverable.

    Advice to Management

    Should focus more on growth of its employees

    Amazon2016-01-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to work as a slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Application Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    their architecture internal eco system some of the best minds are working around you visionary management

    Cons

    you will not know how much you lose until you come out. Amazon has the ability to suck you until dry - and make you enjoy it at the same time. there are lot of pros as listed , but you will never know when you are going to be the scape goat for some silly thing like a server peaking its CPU. Oncall rotation is another thing that can feed on your life as a dementor. but beware - you will not notice any of this unless you come out - or they send you out .

    Show More
    Amazon2012-08-05
  7. "3 years of amazon life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Friendly environment, 2. Ocean of professional mentors, 3. Plenty of time for knowledge growth, 4. Helpful managers, 5. Amazon will help us to grow both professionally as well as personally, 6. First complete your job, then have fun.

    Cons

    Before attending the interview choose ur org wisely, jumping from one org to another org is a little tough,

    Advice to Management

    1. Most managers have friendly behaviour, except a few - keep track of associates' history and why they are not promoted, 2. Kindly change the old coffee machines, 3. Change food vendors bi-annually or ensure food standards periodically 4. Increase the food allowance,

    Amazon2019-12-18
  8. "Great experience to work at one of top companies in the world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and perks are good. Onsite oppurtunities are great

    Cons

    I dont find any cons

    Amazon2019-06-02
  9. "Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work environment Good learning

    Cons

    Oncall MicroManagement Difficult to coordinate with onsite locations Underpaid for the efforts deployed

    Amazon2019-05-23
  10. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is very very good

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Amazon2019-04-26
Found 29 reviews