Amazon Architect Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Architect Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
170 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Surrounded By Extremely Competent People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - level of commitment and competence of the people I work with is highest I've seen in any company (I worked in 7 companies so far) - by observing your colleague you really learn to naturally and very easily provide outstanding customer service - Everyone I worked with so far was a team player more than willing to share their knowledge and experience - I often had people I don't even know respond to my group Chime message and connect with me to help me solve a challenging problem - salary is much better than at the big consulting firms - a ton of flexibility in how you'd like to work. As long as the job gets done well and the customer gets a great experience, no one is going to care how you get your work done (no micromanagement) - very hands-on work and many opportunities to develop technical knowledge and expertise, unlike in big consulting firms where you are encouraged to bs with PowerPoint slides and all the fun technical work get handed off to an offshore team in India, to maximize the profits for Partners/Directors - a very competent immigration team that is very sharp and well-organized

    Cons

    - After 1 year you get only 5% of the Restricted Stock Unit allocation (the bonus you get on top of your regular salary), which is pretty low. But I get it, the system is designed to encourage employee retention.

    Amazon2020-02-13
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Solutions Architect in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Great people, cutting edge technology, very fast passes.

    Cons

    Easy to over extend yourself if you over commit. Lots of work and interesting projects which are hard to say no to.

    Amazon2020-02-12
  3. "Great work environment and loads to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great deal of ownership; Lots to learn, so you never get bored; Work life harmony is fantastic and very flexible; Amazon encourages their employees to seek out opportunities(intra transfer) to fulfill their aspirations.

    Cons

    Sometimes ownership might be a burden, particularly when you are new, but that allows you to learn fast.

    Amazon2020-02-11
  4. "Excellent place to work but with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking for challenges, deal with real life technical and business problems; you have appetite for constant learning, really have ownership attitude, customer focus and love seeing outcome of your work, this is the company you want to work for.

    Cons

    You get work-life harmony whatever that means. Compensation structure - understand it well before accepting the job at Amazon. Benefits - subpar.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-02-17
  5. "Love the Customer Obsessed Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Solutions Architect in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Very bright coworkers - Work hard, play hard mentality - Huge investment in employee skills

    Cons

    - 401k match is poor - PTO/vacation policy is poor

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-02-03
  6. "RSU’s sounds great until you have to sell them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great offices - good people - dog friendly.

    Cons

    RSU’s are good - they just don’t give enough. You are forced to sell them and it’s all backweighted. Frugality at times goes a bit too far.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-02-12
  7. "Great platform, no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Solution Architect in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super smart people to work with, flexibility in working remote, and great products

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance.

    Amazon2020-02-11
  8. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and fast paced environment. You will grow exponentially and learn from some of the smartest people you will ever meet.

    Cons

    Compensation does not incentivize top performers. You get on ~1.5% increments every year and ~10% increase with promotions.

    Amazon2020-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Peculiar but refreshing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unique culture that is very customer centric and focuses on investings on employees to be sucessful at helping customers.

    Cons

    Big company that is growing very quickly, so everything is changing all the time.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-09
  10. "Great co-workers and lots of flexibility to focus on what you want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Amazon are amazing and its makes my job much easier knowing everyone will carry their weight and then some. The culture of letting you explore means you can move to other roles when you want new challenges. Amazon invests a lot in training so I can build new skills and continue to grow professionally. Moreover, there are always opportunities to take on new projects and I have to prioritize what I want to work on.

    Cons

    Every day at Amazon is Day 1 which means you often figure out things along the way. If you work well independently then this is good. Otherwise, you could feel like you are on an island. I work in an office in Irvine and my team is distributed so there is not a great sense of camaraderie with the other workers at the office. Like any large company, the leveling of employees is inconsistent across regions and teams. Frugality means very little admin support and that most admin tasks are done by professionals.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-01-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 207 reviews