Amazon Buyer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Buyer

Amazon Buyer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
17 Ratings
  1. "buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Amazon for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      there really isnt any at all

      Amazon2018-08-02
    • "Buyer at Amazon is a mediocre job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good stock options and job stability

      Cons

      Difficult to move up into management

      Amazon2019-01-20
    • Helpful (6)

      "The rumors are true...horrible experience. Grocery team is a nightmare!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Stock value (for now) and opportunity to cross orgs

      Cons

      Horrible, brutal environment where quality employees are treated like commodities. Managers forced to have 10% "un-regretted attrition" which is code for firing 10% of your people every year. The Grocery team is particularly bad- I've never witnessed so much turnover, poor morale, and ambivalence by senior leaders and HR. The money isn't worth it! Stay away!

      Advice to Management

      You have excellent people in the ranks- stop treating them so badly. Make "encourages others and brings out their best" a key leadership principle. You're on track for another NY Times article or worse if you don't fix this massive problem.

      Amazon2018-02-02
    • "Buying"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon

      Pros

      Startup Feel, Fun Environment, Great Company

      Cons

      Long hours, Poor Management, Growth

      Amazon2016-03-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Buyer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      pay is higher than industry average

      Cons

      extremely long hours and no work life balance

      Amazon2015-06-21
    • Helpful (6)

      "Stay Away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in Lenexa, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      No Pros, left hand does know what the right hand is doing. Blame when things go wrong rolls down hill. Lazy and uncaring Management. Very disjointed compay

      Cons

      Use you then turn you loose.

      Advice to Management

      Get your act together. Paying people to quit doesn't solve the problems, try fixing them.

      Amazon2014-06-18
    • Helpful (3)

      "Work is a four letter word at Amazon."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Innovative and creative, Amazon pushes the boundaries of e-tailing.

      Cons

      They will work you like a dog. Get ready for long hours, weekends and a work life balance that will be throw off your social schedule. Amazon will due the bare minimum to fall in line with city, state and national laws and regulations but don't expect anything more than that.

      Advice to Management

      You will continue to see high turnover as long as the current structure exists. Lack of respect, trust and career development are just a few shortcomings of the Amazon culture.

      Amazon2013-02-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "can be ok, but is rapidly becoming the standard corporate experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      - Fun work culture - RSU's - Seattle is a great town in the summer

      Cons

      - culture of seat-time is becoming more and more prevalent - Bad managers -Base pay sucks

      Advice to Management

      - up the game as far as middle managers are concerned - stop worshiping MBA's

      Amazon2012-09-04
    • Helpful (5)

      "(*reviewed as a contractor*) Smart workmates, intense jobs, walled off from employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Buyer Assistant in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Amazon

      Pros

      -Seemed like I was surrounded by a lot of top grads and MBAs, even in the unsexy Vendor Management area. -Floors I worked on pretty well cleared out by 5:30-6pm, so employees not encouraged to stay late (though some were definitely having to remote in from home after they left, I'm sure). -Folks were encouraged to jump around to various departments and job titles to continue their growth. -Get to add 'eCommerce' with...

      Show More

      Cons

      -They came up with some pretty nutty work campaigns. I was told that in one dept. employees had to take turns doing four hour shifts 24 hrs./day throughout one December to monitor competitor website prices. The way it was told to me, they'd sometimes have to get up at 2am, work till 6am from home, then come in and do their normal shift. (To their credit, some of the worst shifts were apparently reserved for the managers...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Contractors will always, partly of necessity, be treated differently from full time employees for various reasons. Best to encourage managers to still maintain a friendly relationship with them, though. Helps make working with the team more effective and, who knows, this might be someone you want to hire at some point. (I, for one, have since gotten a call from Amazon recruiting.)

      Amazon2012-03-13
    • Helpful (10)

      "horrible experience (stay away from retail!)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Buyer in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Amazon

      Pros

      free crap from vendors hush $/severence when they let you go.

      Cons

      no work/life balance 24/7 blackberry - on call 365. management is completely incompetent HR is not there to help employees - only to keep management from getting sued. do not go to HR for any reason including anything legal, best way to get yourself fired.

      Advice to Management

      i would say get a grip on the turnover, but since people will still want to come work for you, you have no reason to change anything.

      Amazon2010-04-26
    Found 25 reviews