Amazon Category Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Category Manager

Amazon Category Manager Reviews

Updated 22 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Its all about the Leadership Principles!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Category Manager in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Ownership - No micromanagement - The ability to make an impact irrespective of how long you have been here - Team members are very respectful and motivated

    Cons

    - The fast paced environment does not provide you enough time to focus on strategic activities.

    Amazon2017-12-20
  2. "Time passes in dog years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Category Manager in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are pretty good, lots of opportunities to move around to different roles within the company

    Cons

    Only lateral moves allowed, promotions must be applied for by your manager, restricted stock units are considered a part of your base pay. It's easy to get burned out very quickly, and will usually happen in 1/4 of the time it would take that to occur in any other company.

    Amazon2019-05-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great variety; no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love variety in my workday, and Category Merchant Manager has a mix of projects, analysis and account management.

    Cons

    The expectation to turnaround weekly analysis by the Tuesday business review usually necessitates working Sunday when the prior week's data becomes available. 60 hour weeks are the norm. Business reviews are adversarial.

    Advice to Management

    Turnover is very high, and the learning curve is long. Work on retention!

    Amazon2019-02-28
  4. "Better than its reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Merchant Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    By far the best reason to work here is the fast-paced, exciting work you get to do. You really do get to own massive, impactful projects right from the get go... its not just a marketing stunt to attract talent. People here are insanely smart. You'll learn a ton. Your skills will grow exponentially.

    Cons

    I've seen nothing like the NYT article, but it is a stressful place to work. Because of the high growth of the company, there is always more to do than can be done. There is pressure to keep up with other talented coworkers and the speed of the business. This is all fine 90% of the time, but there are times when its overwhelming. People/managers are happy to help when you seek them out, but it's mostly a self-service...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rethink staffing strategy in Retail Org. You are risking burning out your work force running everything this lean.

    Amazon2017-09-19
  5. "Procurement Category Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting place to work Some great managers Some good opportunities Stock Healthcare

    Cons

    Long Hours Some Managers are not People Managers To man approvals required Need batter incentives to keep hold off staff Head Count turnover is way too high

    Advice to Management

    Give good incentives to staff or you will keep losing staff

    Amazon2016-03-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, top notch peer group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Speed to market, great talent, nice perks, cutting edge tech. I really liked being at the center of the rebirth of the retail giant after the .bomb commentary. Autonomous work environment allows for as much success as an individual can create.

    Cons

    Long hours, lack of work/life balance were challenging as I have a family and most of my peers did not. The internal company can be confusing, but I have heard that this has been alleviated of late.

    Amazon2012-09-27
  7. "Job Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Category Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of learning and growth

    Cons

    work life balance is an issue

    Amazon2019-04-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Scope for Better Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Bangalore

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Offers a professional environment, intellectually stimulating tasks and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Too much operational overload, does not live upto the expectation of solving for long term

    Amazon2019-03-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job Experience Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Merchant Manager in Riyadh
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The earth's most customer eccentric company. Always developing and working on the highest standards

    Cons

    Nothing major, normal obstacles which aim to sharpen the personality on a career level.

    Amazon2019-02-25
  10. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Cool Work culture 2. Good Growth

    Cons

    Nothing I can say as of now

    Advice to Management

    Love it

    Amazon2019-01-14
Found 23 reviews