Amazon Reviews in Charleston, SC | Glassdoor

Amazon Charleston Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Support Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Tech in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Amazon has many subsidiaries, I work for Kindle Direct Publishing, formerly known as CreateSpace. My manager pushes me to think critically and to utilize -Amazon's Career Choice, which allows me to pursue my Cisco CCNA certificate at the local college 95% paid for by Amazon, with no strings attached. My manager, in particular has given me some flexibility with my schedule to work on my CCNA. -I am fairly compensated...

    Show More

    Cons

    As of this review, we are CS/Corp hybrid, that brings a bit of headache when we are working projects and have to scramble to get the correct permissions from Global IT. Gaining the right permissions and find the right team for assistance can be monotonous.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and pushing us out side of our comfort to become better.

    Amazon2018-10-15
  2. "Great company but not for everybody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Services Coordinator in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Gained amazing leadership experience and expanded my professional skills dramatically. Great benefits and time off. Great culture

    Cons

    Things change very fast, you have to be prepared to keep up and see the bigger picture. Not a work environment for everybody. Can be a bit micromanaging depending on your role and your manager. Amazon is a very metrics-driven company which can be a great thing, but the system they use to measure productivity can sometimes pin teammates against each other and make it competitive for the wrong reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees feedback on their managers.

    Amazon2018-09-21
  3. "Amazon is very employee and customer-obsessed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant, Publishing in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Of all the organizations and previous roles I've experienced so far in my career, Amazon has set the bar for work-life balance. Amazon's leadership principles have become a part of who I am professionally and personally.

    Cons

    I can't think of any "Cons" to share at this time.

    Amazon2018-01-26
  4. "Best Decision so far in my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Salesforce Administrator in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team Great Work Open to Feedback and new ideas No Stress and a healthy work environment

    Cons

    Relocation process is taken care by 3-party and they dont a good job. Compensation is not that great to start with.

    Amazon2017-09-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Everything, great hours, fast paced environment

    Cons

    No overtime for part time employees

    Amazon2017-06-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Operations Manager II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager II in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Huge opportunity for growth! Attractive signing bonus and stock incentives. Competitive salary but do your research before you accept.

    Cons

    Zero stability in your schedule, will probably have to work nights at some point. Onboard training is mostly focused on culture, not the technical part of the job.

    Amazon2016-06-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Production manufacting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Production in Charleston, SC

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      The benefits and the stocks and bonds are the best

      Cons

      downsides of the job are no communication, no teamwork, and a lot of favoritism

      Amazon2016-01-29
    • "Wonderful Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Charleston, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon for more than a year

      Pros

      freedom to work from anywhere

      Cons

      We moved offices while I was working there and it was incredibly chaotic

      Amazon2015-11-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Turnover is high"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Production Manager in North Charleston, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I work at a specialty site which prints and ships books on demand. The process is easy and simple. Associates who work here care about quality and work extremely hard.

      Cons

      The upper management is ambiguous at best. There is no transparency and favoritism runs rampant.

      Advice to Management

      It is not that hard to do what we do! Amazon's catch phrase is work hard, play hard and make history- live up to it!

      Amazon2015-06-29
    • "process assistant tier 3"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Process Assistant in Goose Creek, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Easy work and it is nice to have 3 days off each week

      Cons

      Hard to advance. Rules change with each shift

      Advice to Management

      When you make changes to processes please make sure everyone follows them

      Amazon2015-05-28
    Found 16 reviews