Amazon Content Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Content Developer

Amazon Content Developer Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
6 Ratings
  1. "Grown Exponentially in 2 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Content Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've learned a lot, allowed to experiment, given autonomy, been able to bypass the bureaucracy, I've been able to create my own job.

    Cons

    Sometimes I haven't been coached enough (too much autonomy), difficult to internally transfer

    Advice to Management

    Help guide employees as they move to new roles

    Amazon2019-05-30
  2. "Content Developer - A not-so-Amazon experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most of your coworkers are on your side as long as you're helping them achieve their goals. - Awesome benefits. - Possibility of upward mobility, even for remote workers.

    Cons

    - Help (internal and external documentation) styling and presentation is stuck in the dark ages. - Information architecture teams are more concerned with maintaining old systems and incremental updates than moving to systems that put the customer and the author first. - Content strategists are a mixed bag. Some are more interested in their own career (and how you could affect it), and only pretend to care about... yours. Others are excellent, but lack the confidence to support you when your decisions differ from the norm. - Obsession over frugality continues to reduce the amount of resources available to authors and strategists. When good people leave, they aren't normally replaced. Ultimately, you're left without the hands to do all the work you need to. Reorganizing teams won't change that. - Localization and publishing partner teams tend to see content authors as the enemy. They meticulously comb through your content looking for mistakes, and if they find any, they publicly shame you for it. Over time, I lost confidence in my authoring skills because I spent so much time double-checking my work. - Things can get competitive. People might pretend to be your "work friend," but they're ready to throw you under the bus if it makes them look better. - Most people are too busy to take Jeff B.'s words to heart. The leadership principles are rarely spoken of, unless we/you screw up. - Promotions aren't based on skill and potential, they're based on whether you're liked or not. - Product teams don't care that you know more about supporting the customer, they want it their way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees. Spend some money and have a summit where everyone can get loose together and stop looking at each other like mortal enemies. Don't start a massive reorg without warning and expect things to go well. I know agility is important, but not at the expense of your team's mental health. Focus on being a leader in the customer support industry instead of a follower. Do it quickly and... support your employees thoughtfully during the process. Disclaimer: My review pertains to the experience I had as a Support Experience content developer at Amazon. The feelings expressed in this review DO NOT reflect my overall view of Amazon.com. Regardless of my experience as a content dev, I still think Amazon is a terrific place to work.

    Show More
    Amazon2018-08-31
  3. "The benefits/downsides of a huge company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, deliberate and well-intentioned human resources, strong initiatives to invent and hire the best talent. Amazon boasts a vastly diverse workforce that continually cultivates innovation and opportunity.

    Cons

    Large number of organizations within company creates unnecessary red tape/bureaucracy, certain groups encourage stress-inducing around-the-clock coverage, overly complicated solutions for otherwise simplistic issues.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evaluate Amazon's impact on its immediate environment, and continue to look for opportunities to be accommodating of to a diverse workforce.

    Amazon2018-02-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The jury is still out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, smart and innovative people, opportunities across organizations, customer centric, well reviewed and liked

    Cons

    peer review system, out of touch leadership, work/life balance lacking

    Amazon2014-06-29
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fast paced, learn something new every day

    Cons

    Like every other org, may not like management. but that's very team specific and shouldn't affect decision to apply or work here

    Amazon2019-05-16
  6. "great deal overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    home office, lots of flexibility, overtime is given back, sabbaticals, getting time off for personal stuff,

    Cons

    everything is decided in the US

    Advice to Management

    promote people outside of US more

    Amazon2018-11-16
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Restrictive, bereft of creativity, too chaotic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, opportunity to get involved with several projects not directly linked with (or above) the normal duties of your role. Higher management relatively approachable. Good managers will look to help or guide you where required.

    Cons

    The rate of change is so frequent that it's hard to keep track of what you're meant to be doing and why. Culture is very rigid; can't be promoted or move sideways without jumping through a ridiculous amount of hoops (if at all). Very process-driven without any room allowed for simplification. Insane levels of bureaucracy, very tiring when easier ways are possible. Avoid if you are in any way creative or independent.

    Advice to Management

    Try to allow people to move sideways if they are clearly good/hard workers, but struggling or uncomfortable at their current role. Allow space for critical thinking and to let staff question moves. If something isn't instinctive to a worker, that means there's an issue with the work.

    Amazon2018-03-24
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Content Developer in Cork
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks and the possibility to get a better job. If you can work in Amazon, you'll find easy to work anywhere!

    Cons

    Employees must state weaknesses of their colleagues in their performance reviews. These are taken to build up cases against other employees. Every morning a few mandatory questions prompt in the system to gather employees' feedback about managers, coworkers, any intention to quit the job or rate the company coolness. This combination (along with the fact that there is rarely room for promotion) encourages an... unhealthy company culture of distrust among employees. In two years that I was there, I had the impression I didn't know the people in my team and I learnt myself to mind my own businesses only. Questions and pushing back changes are not normally welcome. Employees must abide by any rapid changes and tenet "show a backbone" would not really work. Some marketplaces (e.g. India) get larger workloads. Noticeably, they are expected to be available am and pm, in meetings at indecent times!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It would be more human to make staff redundant instead of bullying them with Performance Improvement Plans (PIPs) until they resign. Employees deem 'Success stories' meetings superficial and unproductive. It gets people's motivation down and takes their time. Nice perks do not really retain employees, it was a pity to see talent leaving all the time...

    Amazon2017-11-22
  9. "Content Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative environment and well organized corporation. I really like the frugality approach.

    Cons

    The "insist in high standards" motto should be followed for the sake of employees as well. Some tools that we need to use are poorly designed (i.e. Adobe Site Catalyst).

    Amazon2015-10-23
Found 9 reviews