Amazon Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

Amazon Director Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
55 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Not everyone's cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    An openess to new ideas

    Cons

    no work life balance. Management not vested n helping you with your career or goals. Very few fringe benefits

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees futures

    Amazon2014-04-24
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Challenging, no-nonsense environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You're surrounded by bright, creative people, from diverse backgrounds. Truly a global company, focused on hiring the best candidates from around the world. All-hands meetings teach you about various areas of the business, and the CEO always shares bits of wisdom, followed by open, virtually anything goes, Q&A. Great stock benefits, if you can hold out through year 3. Open environment where constructive criticism...

    Show More

    Cons

    When Amazonians start to believe their own press, they can make bad decisions. Many strong referrals are rejected via bar-raiser arrogance, to the point that you no longer want to sponsor references for fear of a bad candidate experience. Too much time is spent finding the "bad" in good employees during annual rating exercises. Time would be better spent in making their great employees even stronger.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the focus on the customer, but improve your focus on the employee. Your culture, that was once strong, is being diluted through massive YoY growth. Don't add to the problem via attrition.

    Amazon2014-01-27
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Mediocrity being driven at a maniacal uncontrolled pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    AMZN stock has done well

    Cons

    Disorganized, little value for human capital; extremely cheap when it comes to perks

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff

    Amazon2014-02-01
  4. "What a ride! If you like to build things, this is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Software Development in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    I've been here over 12 years and have had the opportunity to build all kinds of elaborate systems that changed the company. The early days were quite demanding, but the satisfaction was immense. I'm still challenged, but at a sustainable rate. The growth curve is like few other places. I interviewed an old mentor from HP 5 years after I'd left. I felt he'd atrophied, but the real deal is I'd grown tremendously....

    Show More

    Cons

    It's clearly not for everyone. If you want tenure based promotions, silo org'ed structures, find a job somewhere else, and count the days to retirement. There is a bit of a libertarian angle on many decisions which doesn't bother me. It is getting very large.

    Advice to Management

    Stop it w/ the top level micro-management. I've only seen two cases of it, but the 2nd one was recent. Three used to be none. Examples would include telling a line manager he must hire someone w/ a college degree. I'd rather hire the best person.

    Amazon2011-10-27
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon

    Pros

    I am very proud to have been a part of Amazon. It could be a frustrating place to work, but it was never boring. I have never felt so mentally stimulated.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work hard. Jeff Bezos is amazing but he has no concerns for you individually. That didn't bother me at all, but you have to know that going in.

    Advice to Management

    When I worked there many frustrated me, and I would have passed them on to senior management. Now, however, looking back on what they have achieved, I wouldn't suggest they change anything.

    Amazon2010-01-13
  6. Helpful (9)

    "True customer focus, but not the right place for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    1. Customer focus is truly priority #1 throughout the organization. 2. Long term focus of management means consistent message and direction. 3. Plenty of smart people, and very few places for the "dead weight" to hide. 4. Very easy, and expected, to rotate through various functional areas of the company. Most people switch roles at least every 2 years.

    Cons

    1. Extremely detail oriented culture. It is expected (and considered a strength) that management "dive deep" into all details. This can be very trying at times. 2. Organization is very lean in terms of staffing. While there is the argument this can drive innovation, and has positioned the company well in the current economic climate, it means there is ALWAYS more to do than time to do it. You need to be able to draw...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Amazon2009-02-22
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Long timer's perspective."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Amazon is a place were you work next to really smart people who are motivated and excited about what they do for a living. While our workforce has changed over the years, the culture instills a focus on knowing the details of your business, maniacal focus on the customer - even if that means short term and perhaps long term pain - because that is the right thing to do and a willingness to take risks. People who love...

    Show More

    Cons

    Promotions are few and far between. Stock is a big part of your compensation and because our stock swings wildly it can significantly impact your income from year to year. For a new person Amazon can be quite a struggle to find your place. Most groups are sink or swim and if you are hired you are expected to seek help as it won't seek you.

    Advice to Management

    Jeff is a real ball buster if you don't have your act together and he will often be way over the top when critiquing work. Other senior leaders need to step up and defend their teams.

    Amazon2008-11-06
  8. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Very dynamic company and high growth

    Cons

    not a lot of information sharing or development

    Advice to Management

    share the information

    Amazon2008-09-03
  9. "Thumbs up for Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    It is one of the most innovative companies on the planet that never sits back and rests. Amazon has a humble approach to everything which I find very appealing in today's world of companies screaming about how great they are. Amazon also has an extremely high hiring bar, and the company is loaded with really smart people. That makes it easy to come to work in the morning.

    Cons

    Amazon is unlike most companies out there, and this can sometimes be a problem for new employees, especially those not right our of school and have worked at other companies. Our culture is a little different, and our priorities are little different.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing-- stay focused on the customer.

    Amazon2008-07-09
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Don't think that Amazon is a place to advance your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Business Development in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    The company is certainly doing well from a business perspective...but that is on the backs of their employees. Benefits are OK, but there are plenty of other companies that provide better.

    Cons

    VP and higher are getting incredible packages with options but the rest of the folks only get RSU's. Sebastian Gunningham received 350,000 options and I can't see why he should receive that higher number based on his overall performance.

    Advice to Management

    Start thinking of retention of your employees...the average employee stays 22 months and the cost of constantly rehiring and retaining is significant.

    Amazon2008-07-04
Found 67 reviews