Amazon Reviews in Edwardsville, IL | Glassdoor

Amazon Edwardsville Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Part-Time Job For Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Outbound in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for weekends Standard lunch and break times

    Cons

    Bathroom breaks are hard to come by

    Amazon2019-02-07
  2. "It's not as bad as people tell you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Assistant in Edwardsville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    in my roll: Getting to know people Good pay for the work Only work 4 days a week

    Cons

    Disgruntled employees taking their frustrations out on you Getting promoted is harder than most other jobs. 10 hour shifts.

    Advice to Management

    PA promotions should be based on internal performance then be given up as "suggested for" rolls instead of the grueling interview process we've got to go through. Also pay internal promotions AS much as college hires if not more, because they actually work for the position.

    Amazon2019-08-20
  3. "Associate picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paste hard working company

    Cons

    Employees take job for granted

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Amazon2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Work Here Unless You Want to Work to Death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Order Picker in Edwardsville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits -$15 an hour base pay -Environment to work in is clean and decent -Most people to work with are very nice and helpful -LGBTQ+ friendly

    Cons

    -Managers pick favorites -You do one minor thing managers don't like (Ex: leaving early without telling them) they punish you for it (Ex: putting you in an area they know you hate.) -Physically demanding. -Expectations are TOO high. Management does not consider the many boundaries you face throughout the day that can affect your rates, even if you tell them many times what they are. I have received countless... bruises weekly from rushing just to make rate. -Management only looks at the numbers on their screens about you, they pay no attention to what you tell them. -They make you feel like just a number. More new employees flood in, while others are being fired for minor things.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking favorites. Actually listen to the boundaries that people experience through their day. Even something as minor as having trouble opening a box/carrying heavy items can delay time. Maybe train people more than 1-2 work days. I worked at Amazon almost 2 years and was STILL finding out new information I should have known in the beginning. Also let new employees get a feel longer than a month. Not even a... month after I started I got a final written.

    Show More
    Amazon2019-06-06
  5. "Good for a Hard-Working College Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will get a lot of great experience and typically get from the job what you put into it. You will transition frequently to new positions and can learn a lot quickly. It is great to have so many opportunities to go within one company. If you don't like what you are doing, then you can find something completely different to try within the same company.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a nice desk job...this isn't it. You will be doing manual labor at some point if you're a good manager. You also might not get the best shift meaning it can affect your personal life.

    Advice to Management

    Promote more women into upper operational roles.

    Amazon2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on your priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good, I think it depends on the area your in so you get paid enough to live comfortably off of. Great benefits, paid time off, unpaid time, and vacation, holiday pay, made some friends with my co-workers.

    Cons

    Job security can waver based on how long you’ve been there and if your working up the later, and you must meet Quality and Productivity every week.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely need to chill on Productivity just a little, I mean I’ve been written up for Productivity because I was at 99.7%, I almost lost my job. Also managers that get hired on from the outside and have no idea how to help us out.

    Amazon2018-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazon Packer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Package Handler in Edwardsville, IL

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    salary Fast Paced work environment

    Cons

    inexperienced leadership, Poor organization from management.

    Amazon2018-08-13
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything was great except of the breaks

    Cons

    (2) 15 min breaks more like 10 because it takes a while to walk to break room. Practically have to run but they won’t allow you to do that. Everything else was great!

    Amazon2018-05-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazon is slave labor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Picker in Edwardsville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun employee atmosphere, decent benefits,

    Cons

    Raise rates without raising pay. they dont have competitive wages. Paid slave labor

    Amazon2018-05-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Amnesty Trainer in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, decent wage, will try their best to accommodate the employee

    Cons

    Longer hours, high expectations, too much variation in the process

    Amazon2018-04-04
Found 36 reviews