Amazon Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Executive Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
109 Ratings
  1. "AWS is an Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Named Account Executive in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want to innovate, put customers first and be with a company that has immense career growth- AWS is for you! Love working here. The leadership principals of Amazon resonate in every interaction internally and externally!

    Cons

    NONE- I really like everything about AWS

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Great supportive environment.

    Amazon2019-06-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard, Check. Play Hard, sometimes. Have Fun, Check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly challenging work. Hard problems. Many problems. Scale is massive. Opportunities are limitless. If you are looking to learn, you'll never stop at Amazon.

    Cons

    Culture is fun but very dependent on your manager/team. Ramp time is zero so be prepared to jump in day 1. The job is demanding and promotions are hard to come by.

    Amazon2019-06-05
  3. "Start Shipping Games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Executive Producer 

      I worked at Amazon full-time

      Pros

      Ambitious, well-funded, entrepreneurial. Employees support each other and strive for excellence.

      Cons

      Thrash, poor direction, slow decisions at executive/VP level.

      Advice to Management

      Reduce dependencies. Ship games.

      Amazon2019-05-28
    • "fadsfds"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Account Executive 

        I worked at Amazon full-time

        Pros

        I think it is a great company.

        Cons

        It needs to have better management.

        Amazon2019-06-18
      • "Best Environment for Builder-Oriented Startup Mentality Big Thinkers!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Working at Amazon / AWS is like working for an extremely well funded start-up. You get the chance to insert yourself into transnational change with our customers and be a meaningful part of the future state of their organization. Think Big is bigger here in reality than anyplace I've ever been.

        Cons

        AWS's ability to drive small, innovative teams, that iterate new products rapidly drives tremendous value to our customers. The growth is staggering. You'll need to be ready to grow personally and professionally when jumping on this ride. Given growth, there are not as many predefined processes or centralized reporting as one might hope for given the company changes at such a fast rate. Overall, if you are fine with...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Look for ways to automate out reporting an analytics where possible. Consider ground-rules for new services and teams that help them integrate analogous to what we do with our services being API driven, but be careful not to sacrifice the agility that has led to the tremendous success.

        Amazon2019-04-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "Chop Chop...Amazon's S-team (Bezo's Exec Team) "un-regretted attrition" (URA) goals of 10%"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Ballston, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        AWS - Great technology. Great people who work super hard!

        Cons

        AWS WWPS reminds me of Lord of the Flies. If you aren't"one of them", then you are out. People are just mean and cut throat. It's an ugly place to work these days. If you are over 40, have an illness or have empathy and are good hearted - don't bother applying.

        Advice to Management

        Cut out the hubris and hold managers accountable who have no empathy, and think using disrespectful tactics are effective. Plus everyone knows that the WWPS leadership team aren't making their URA goals this year, and are hunting for more heads to chop.

        Amazon2019-05-13
      • "The Amazon Way"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great company that empowers individuals. Treats employees with respect.

        Cons

        Salary increases are very minimal and do not account for cost of living increase. Recruiters should be very clear in explaining the Compensation Plan.

        Advice to Management

        Trust your employees and do not lose sight of the human factor that makes for a great company. It's not only about the $$$.

        Amazon2019-04-15
      • "Better than advertised"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Arlington, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Highly adaptive environment that has enable me to grow my individual skills in a corporate culture designed around enabling the customer. This place is built on best practices and hasn't been tainted by internal IT merger warfare that you see at other larger technology companies that have been acquiring piecemeals over years and decades.

        Cons

        They are still building out capabilities and teams.

        Advice to Management

        Keeping doing great things.

        Amazon2019-03-19
      • Helpful (5)

        "The Amazon Allure is Appealing...until you get there."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Seattle, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        They have a great marketplace presence and deliver great products.

        Cons

        They are pound wise and penny foolish. The health benefits are some of the worst I have ever experienced. There is no work life balance even when it's promised.

        Advice to Management

        Don't water down the benefits. You are a multi billion dollar company and your employees deserve better health benefits.

        Amazon2019-04-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Work hard. Have Fun."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Seattle, WA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great pay first 4 years!

        Cons

        Pay goes down after fully vested with sign on bonus

        Amazon2019-02-27
      Found 156 reviews