Amazon Reviews in Irving, TX | Glassdoor

Amazon Irving Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
11 Ratings
  1. "Good job liked it alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool people and a very chill environment

    Cons

    Management is incapable of running a team

    Amazon2019-02-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working for the roller coaster that is Amazon."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EHS Specialist in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy the constant challenges and their inability to stay satisfied with the status quo. We constantly strive to be the best at what we do.

    Cons

    Most of the time, the work is tedious and it feels that too much time is spent trying to split hairs. Internal promotion candidates are often offered way less financial benefits than that of externals. They keep people down by making them chase the carrot rather than rewarding them for hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and reward your internal talent. Just because you already have us, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t appreciate our value. Goals for advancement should be more clear. For example: If top performers are classified by the network level impact they have, that information needs to be shared upfront and not during annual review time. Someone who excels in their work should feel appreciated and be given opportunity to take...

    Show More
    Amazon2018-04-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pantry Associate in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Depends on who is reading this. They will hire anyone. You have medical insurance on day one though, as long as you are a full-time employee.

    Cons

    Everything else. The culture there is pathetic. The pay sucks considering the bull you have to put up with. Expect to hear your rates every hour (which seems to increase constantly). Rates, that's all they care about. Your a robot, not a human being. I have not been there but 5 months, but most people leave after a month (if they don't leave after the first week). I was told they have a 300%turnover rate? Not sure if...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about anything other than yourself.

    Amazon2018-01-12
  4. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Irving, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the warehouse as a Fulfillment Associate and feel that management did try to listen to their team's concerns and at times, resulted in a change that would help the associates be more successful at their jobs.

    Cons

    Management would, at times, avoid conflict among their associates, instead of addressing the issue instead of sweeping them "under the rug".

    Amazon2017-08-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Easy, opportunities for OT as a part timer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon

    Pros

    Physically demanding but generally easy work. If you showed interest or simply asked for it, you had opportunities to learn to do other tasks besides the general associate scanner job. I liked how they worked with my schedule and let me come in a little later 2 days out of the week since I was traveling from school in Arlington to Irving.

    Cons

    Peak season really brings out the worst in management as they scramble and yell in order to meet quotas. Instead of offering more overtime to experienced associates their solution is to hire badly trained seasonal staff who end up clogging the well oiled machine.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are people, not robots. Also, train your seasonal employees as well as you train your permanent employees. And train them AHEAD of time. Not two days before peak.

    Amazon2017-05-30
  6. "Ok and not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scanner in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you get to meet. There is the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    Cons

    No climate control, strenuous work, hard to reach goals, volume with terrible bathrooms.

    Advice to Management

    You guys need better way to motivate your employees. More appreciation is needed for the good scanners. HR is to unwilling to help scanners. More training should be provided to make sure employees are taken care of.

    Amazon2017-03-18
  7. "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    u get benefits at day 1 if u r full time

    Cons

    management sucks, they work u like a slave until u break your back than make u work some more

    Advice to Management

    only make get manager title if u work as a Parker for 3 months straight even if u have a fancy degree

    Amazon2017-02-19
  8. "Fulfillment Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, free dental and life insurance, okay pay, easy job.

    Cons

    People mill, high turnover rate, lack of quality in work

    Advice to Management

    Care about more than numbers.

    Amazon2017-02-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Inbound Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Problem Solve Manager in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People treat you with respect plus the benefits are good.

    Cons

    The hours are long, management doesn't always support the employees.

    Amazon2017-01-02
  10. "Good for Part Time Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Amazon Warehouse Worker in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty reasonable schedule, will try to work with your needs if you are a student. Get a discount. reasonable pay.

    Cons

    Can flex up and hour, job is more like a four to five hour work out, can be super hot in the summer, and frigid in the winter.

    Advice to Management

    Create music playlist that are edited and upbeat to keep the energy up, also offering pizza for break is a better way to motivate the ENTIRE shift, as opposed to one prize for a select few

    Amazon2016-12-10
Found 22 reviews