Amazon Manager IT Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon IT Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
7 Ratings
  1. "Challenging & Exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional IT Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New technology, change, fast paced, exciting, challenging

    Cons

    Moves fast and changes more than any other company I've ever worked for

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your field IT teams

    Amazon2018-09-06
  2. "It's what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Manager 

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazon is growing fast is creating new employment opportunities at a rapid pace.

    Cons

    This review is for AWS which is growing 40-50% year on year. AWS will take everything that you have to give. A healthy work life balance is very hard to implement.

    Amazon2019-06-08
  3. "Great culture - but almost too big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazon hires and develops the best people. Great culture Working with top tier knowledgeable folks Able to manage without much interference by my regional mgr

    Cons

    Almost too big, missing some big opportunities Leadership sometimes a little to preoccupied to see obvious Leadership lacking ability to see further down the road

    Advice to Management

    Amazon boast a very easy lateral between organizations for non-management staff however for managers this is extremely challenging.

    Amazon2017-07-28
  4. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional IT Manager in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazon's dedication to the customer and their employees is unprecedented. Training is expected and content is exceptional.

    Cons

    Growing and moving fast, you have to pedal quickly to keep up. Requires self motivation and liking a quick pace.

    Advice to Management

    Recognition critical at all levels.

    Amazon2017-06-13
  5. "Fulfillment Center IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities and daily development.

    Cons

    It's hard to grow internally.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on internal promotions

    Amazon2019-01-29
  6. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Bangalore

    I worked at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Environment, Good Name

    Cons

    Management Heavy layer. Deaf towards employee issues.

    Amazon2018-06-30
  7. "5 reasons -to work for Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1- No place for stagnation 2- No one will stop you from trying a new idea 3-No one will pick on you for trying a new idea 4- work/life balance 5- Its fun place to be at

    Cons

    Cant really think of anything that will make me think of leaving Amazon

    Amazon2017-12-01
  8. "Brutal and cut throat competition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and internal options, technology exposure. Lot of uncertainty in the environment, rigid functions and values . Non democratic leadership.

    Cons

    Highly competitive , challenging and sad work culture. Does not trust or appreciate employees. Lot of work pressure and bad work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees , help them grow in a conducive environment . Work a transparent compensation plan.

    Amazon2017-12-08
  9. "Review Related to Employee Refferal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global IT Support Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazon gives us a clear picture of the openings in our regions and also others. They give us direct access to the Hiring Manager and recruiter which i like the most.

    Cons

    The flip side is that many times a good candidate is referred but its hard to covert that referral into into a interview, like this amazon looses on good talents from the markets. Even if the referral employee contacts the recruiter or HM there is either no response or outcome.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a TAT for recruiters to update status of resume so that the referral employee can check the outcome. If recruiters miss this TAT then it should appear on a report to the recruitment management for review. This will create more ownership and expected outcome to who is referring and I guarantee Amazon will not miss out on talents which they are missing to hire.

    Amazon2017-09-19
  10. "Bester Arbeitsplatz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Cologne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Habe keine klagen, punkltlicher Gehalt. Lange mittagspausen kostenlose cafeteria was will man mehr in einem job.

    Cons

    Habe keine kontras fur dieses unternehmen es ist einfach spitze . Einfache arbeitsverhaltnisse.

    Advice to Management

    -

    Amazon2016-02-19
Found 10 reviews