Amazon Reviews in Newark, NJ | Glassdoor

Amazon Newark Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
10 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Three consecutive days off Rewarding Work Great team environment

    Cons

    I do not believe there are any cons worth mentioning.

    Amazon2019-03-26
  2. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Part Time Package Handler in Newark, NJ

      I worked at Amazon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      room to grow with company

      Cons

      short lunch breaks during the 10 hours shifts

      Amazon2019-02-19
    • "Awesome to the core"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative and Tier2 in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Where should I started? -Atmosphere -Belief system -Treatment of employees -Benefits -Community service focused -Training platform -Promotions and so, so many other things

      Cons

      I don't really have any cons. I've been here 7 months and I don't anything I would consider a con thus far.

      Amazon2019-02-19
    • "Works as an associate in the yard for the trucks at amazon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Yard Specialist in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Doesn’t deal with operations, less stressful.

      Cons

      Inclement weather doesn’t matter, you still have to get the job done regardless if it’s snowing or raining.

      Amazon2018-08-25
    • "Cut throat job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Stower in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Benefits,paid time vac net al.

      Cons

      Stressful place to work,too much favoritism

      Advice to Management

      Cut down target rate.

      Amazon2018-05-22
    • "Organizational Change"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Amazon (Less than a year)

      Pros

      It is a great place to learn. It is a very fast paced environment.

      Cons

      Due to structural changes in the org, my position was eliminated and I was given two months to find a new position within amazon. This happened without any prior notice or information and caught me off gaurd. I did not expect such a thing to happen with an organization like amazon.

      Amazon2018-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Global Workforce Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Growth and fast pace environment - Good facilities - Free Food - Flexible work hours

      Cons

      Amazon subsidiaries are not aligned to most of Amazon practices.

      Advice to Management

      - Gain trust & be transparent - Groom the middle management - Define job roles & leveling right people

      Amazon2018-03-29
    • "Logistic center"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Amazon Warehouse Worker in Newark, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great if you need a job ASAP and like warehouse work. no micromanaging in the logistic centers, and work isn't the hardest.

      Cons

      they flex you up when they want which means they can make you stay past your scheduled shift. meaningless work, since there isnt managers working closely with your work is reflected on a computer system, which is extremely faulty and falsely gives you errors which lead to write ups. sometimes expected to do 2-3 people work of work when its busy.

      Advice to Management

      upgrade scanner system, get more involved and actually train new employees instead of just throwing them in and expecting them to find there way. "quality over quantity" is something that should be followed and not just preached. you should not only focus on hitting numbers. packages get mistreated and items arrive broken because everything is being done in a race. or hire more people because what you save in staff salary...

      Show More
      Amazon2018-03-07
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - SDE2 in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It is a customer friendly company

      Cons

      It is not employee friendly company

      Advice to Management

      Be customer as well as employee obsessed

      Amazon2017-12-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great for leaders"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - L5 Area Manager in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of room for growth. Lots of one on one development opportunities. fast paced, ever changing work environment. Great place to work for passionate leaders.

      Cons

      Occasionally long hours. Pressure to move up the ladder. manager:associate ratio is low

      Amazon2017-09-06
    Found 16 reviews