Amazon Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Amazon Portland Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
22 Ratings
  1. "Awesome company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Area Manager Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    I really loved how welcoming and supportive everyone was. It made it really fun to be at work. Also, I really appreciate how Amazon takes the time and effort to help individuals grow personally and professionally.

    Cons

    It could be tiring to be working for almost 10-12 hours a day.

    Amazon2019-09-12
  2. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You’re out driving all day so you’re not being micromanaged

    Cons

    Overworked, stagnant wages, weather and poor management

    Advice to Management

    If you value your employees we work harder.

    Amazon2019-10-13
  3. "Positive experience overall but dislike the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Straightforward with set hours and interaction with management is minimal if you go in and do your job.

    Cons

    Warehouse conditions were not clean and it hurt my lungs.

    Amazon2019-09-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just go with the flow and you will have a good day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistic Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful senior employees as well as flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    Monotonous work in hot conditions.

    Amazon2019-08-04
  5. "Good job for money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Picker in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Income Positive Leadership Fixed Job

    Cons

    Long hours Work schedule could change out of nothing

    Amazon2019-07-21
  6. "Amazing growth opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TCS Engagement Senior Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Part of the Amazon culture is to develop their employees. We hold tight to our leadership principles, and support one another, to grow professionally. If your focus is on the customer this is the right company for you. Amazon is the most customer obsessed company that I have ever known. We have a diverse culture, and enjoy having fun.

    Cons

    Amazon is growing rapidly. With this growth comes frequent change. It is necessary to be flexible and adaptable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an open mind, and share your knowledge and ideas! Amazon appreciates diversity and creativity in all branches. And be prepared to have fun!

    Amazon2019-07-11
  7. "An excellent place to work in high-tech."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazon's Leadership Principles are actually seen in practice every day in my division. New hires are provided excellent training and made to feel included immediately. Internal communication for such a large company is outstanding. Heavy emphasis on learning and bringing your creativity to work.

    Cons

    Haven't found any major cons after 6 months on the job. Have been very happy here.

    Amazon2019-07-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Unreasonable expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities I can’t really think of anything else

    Cons

    Unreasonable expectations Slow GPS Managers who know nothing about managing people A general manager who is never around and unapproachable Set up for failure and expects high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together

    Amazon2019-08-13
  9. "Demand Generation Representative - AWS Elemental"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Generation Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The AWS Elemental office in Portland is awesome. I'm from Seattle and moved to Portland for this role and was totally surprised by how relaxed and nice the people/work environment was there. - AWS Elemental focuses solely on cloud solutions for video streaming technology so it has a focus or theme, unlike other Amazon offices, where everyone may be doing something totally different (ie: retail, Alexa, AWS, other..., etc.) - Free food in the kitchen! Snacks on snacks, and La Croix for days. - Free Friday Lunch! Awesome local food card food delivered and a speaker comes in to talk to us for an hour. No cell phones of computers allowed, just a time to sit back and learn about something new.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Limited career opportunities, within Portland, outside of AWS Elemental. - They just opened a new office across the street (PDX17) but they are slow to fill it with new teams and roles. Looking forward to that though!

    Advice to Management

    - I have been super lucky so far with my management. I truly enjoy my manager, as well as his Manager. - The way they deliver performance related feedback is great. I had old bosses who were passive or overly negative.

    Amazon2019-07-01
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Money is pretty good, and it's fun

    Cons

    Working is kind of hard

    Advice to Management

    pay more

    Amazon2019-06-25
Found 36 reviews