Amazon Program Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Amazon Program Management Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
11 Ratings
  1. "Potential to have huge impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Management Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to do things people talk about. I mean it - I remember the first time when I heard random people in a tour bus in a different country talking about something my team did at Amazon in the US. There are no textbooks that can teach you do things at Amazon's scale, you get to invent new solutions that never existed before. Sr. Leadership is typically OK with us choosing how we get things done. We get to deal... with ambiguity a lot with little supervision.

    Show More

    Cons

    I am concerned that past Sr. Manager level in the company your growth opportunities are limited. While it is true that as a Sr. Manager you can do a lot of interesting things, based on my observations, the average time it takes to organically grow from Sr. Manager to Director are ranging from 5 to 10 years. All this time you will be just Sr. Manager.

    Amazon2019-07-11
  2. "Amazon program manager review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Management Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement Broad scope Role flexibility Compensation

    Cons

    Work life balance Clear hierarchy in pay grades

    Advice to Management

    Respect direct reports time off.

    Amazon2019-08-14
  3. "Great place to start the career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great scope and visibility Good opportunities to move up the ladder Start-up like environment Fast-Paced

    Cons

    Work life balance Work place politics

    Amazon2019-07-03
  4. "Great place to work for those with high standards and drive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High bar; you'll work with the best. Disciplined. Rigorous goal-setting that is consistently measured. Data-driven decision-making. Always something cool & fun (& also usually groundbreaking) to do. Most managers are hands-off once you show you know what you're doing, and you'll get cool opportunities. People are helpful. This is not a place where one or two people can deliver the scope of change that... Amazon bothers with, so asking for help and feedback is almost always accommodated. Senior managers are the hardest working people on campus. And they are humble and relaxing to be around.

    Show More

    Cons

    Campus is crowded. If you like peace and quiet, you'll have to work to find it (but you'll find hideaways to get quiet work done).

    Advice to Management

    Middle management - don't over-index on frugality to the point where it's frupidity. Reward your teams a little more regularly.

    Amazon2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Some benefits but tough culture.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership Principles are not just trotted out once a year, they are deeply ingrained and part of the everyday rhetoric. Customer experience is obsessed over. Informal Opportunities for advancement Good medical benefits

    Cons

    Tough culture to work in - work/life balance is poor, lot of churn, unreasonable expectations from mgmt. at times, unclear roles and responsibilities Document driven culture - if you don't like writing white papers, this is not the company for you. Not a lot of employee perks or benefits in the name of frugality, low on vacation time/holidays Compensation practices can cause some employees to really be underpaid... for the work that they do, others benefit greatly from it, its very inconsistent Terrible cross group coordination, everyone does what they want to do without understanding the impact they will have on other groups.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more vacation time and time off on local holidays so they can refresh and recharge. Revamp the compensation structure. Make sure you have the right programs in place to grow and support new people managers. Drive clearer roles and responsibilities and work on improving cross group coordination.

    Amazon2018-03-05
  6. "Dream Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Management in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture, the drive to think outside the box and the ability to help create something amazing! Taking everything I have learned in my industry and using those experiences to be part of one of the most respected names in the world is amazing.

    Cons

    With such fast paced growth sometimes it's difficult to communicate changes within such a large company but we get better each day.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to those people that are subject matter experts!

    Amazon2018-01-20
  7. "Great for many--not good for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast moving, growing, innovative company full of smart people. If you are self-motivated and want to get things done, this is your place. Never a dull moment and always challenging or you are working for the wrong team. Ability to move within the company. Dog friendly. Cultural diversity.

    Cons

    Demands can be brutal--hard to achieve work life balance as you rise through the ranks. Super hard to get promoted. Salary/raises are stingy. RSU's are treated as part of your regular salary. No business class on long-haul flights. Paid holidays are ridiculously low in US.

    Advice to Management

    Share the profits with the employees. Take care of employees flying 8+ hours per leg. Make it easier to get promoted and receive meaningful raises for hard work--you will be rewarded with more loyalty.

    Amazon2017-05-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unrealistically demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good exposure, big opportunities. Learned to refine business planning logic, write white-papers, and enhanced my understanding and application of "data driven decisions".

    Cons

    Unrealistically demanding, level and pay does not escalate in correlation with demands. Environment of negative and critical feedback at all times - in most cases to the detriment of team and individual morale. A culture of never being satisfied or appreciated, regardless of your competency or level of contribution.

    Amazon2015-11-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Huge, Crazy Organization Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Program Management in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At Amazon, you have tons of opportunity, are well compensated. Strong people who thrive in this type of environment can do very very well.

    Cons

    Amazon runs 24/7, and work/life balance can be very challenging, especially with young families. It can also be a pretty brutal organization in terms of expectations and feedback, especially true in such a fast growing organization that isn't always so organized due to so many people.

    Advice to Management

    It is going to be a challenging ride exiting the start-up phase and permanently moving to a very large, structured organization. Resources need to be added to get the company over the hump with structured processes and organizations. This is also very counter to Amazon culture so it will be interesting to see how this changes over time.

    Amazon2014-03-03
  10. "Your daily job is far from what is announced in the job description. You're mostly spreadsheet your time on spreadsheet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Management in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young average age (nice for afterworks) Ambience Personal projects (if you have the time to...)

    Cons

    Work life balance Performance not rewarded, getting promoted is all about relationship No structure whatsoever, everything is done last minute

    Amazon2019-04-09
Found 11 reviews