Amazon Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Software Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2795 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
1,902 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (453)

    "Amazing company and the most driven and smartest of the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You can learn a lot very quickly in a very short time - Surrounded with nothing but incredibly smart and driven individuals. - Compensation is well beyond my expectations, and more than suitable. - Exciting projects all across the company that keep you interested and focused. - Amazon is changing the world

    Cons

    - Can be overwhelming, very steep learning curve - Can be difficult to keep up if you are not self motivated

    Amazon2018-12-03
  2. "Great work, challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    scale of work was good

    Cons

    pressure was high though, lot is expected

    Amazon2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (736)

    "An Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Amazon for a month now, and I've seen none of the horror stories being communicated to the public, although Amazon is a large enough company that I'm sure there are good pockets and bad pockets. Everyone here is really smart, and wants to succeed both personally, and as a company. People collaborate and help each other, focus on data, and truly focus on the customer. Every company I've ever worked for... talks about how important the customer is, but on day 2, they're forgotten. Amazon seems to genuinely focus on what's best for the customer, and it's awesome to be in meetings where people actually bring that up, and make decisions focused on long-term customer satisfaction. The opportunities to learn here are literally unlimited, and the opportunity to take on new responsibility is as well. I honestly believe you can be as awesome as you want here.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons, so far - seriously. Like I said, I'm sure Amazon has some bad pockets in it here and there, but this is an amazing job, an amazing opportunity, and the biggest thing I have to complain about is that it's a little chilly in our building. I can live with that. Does Amazon demand high quality, measurable results? Yes! Is it hard work? Yes! Is it rewarding? Yes! So I'm not calling that a 'con'. Work/life... balance seems comparable to other places I've worked - not worse.

    Show More
    Amazon2018-02-23
  4. Helpful (1358)

    "Can be amazing for some people, horrible for others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazon is doing lot's of cool stuff...but lots of boring stuff too. There are really well run teams...and very badly run teams. The experience for software managers and engineers is all over the board, from really run low operational load teams to teams where people burn out after a year. - Amazon is built, quite deliberately, to be Darwinian. You can generally expect that anyone who's been here for more than... 2 years is competent and motivated or they wouldn't have survived. You can count on them as long as your priorities are aligned. There aren't many slackers here, and they don't survive long. - We work on so much stuff that there's always an opportunity to find amazing cool stuff to work on (note that it's an 'opportunity', one that you have to pursue) - A chance to make a huge difference - A place where you can learn a lot about all kinds of things, both technical and about yourself - Amazon encourages high mobility - even your manager can't prevent you from moving to another team within 6 weeks (normally, more than a few months under unusual conditions). - Your friends and family have actually heard of the place you work and have at least a vague notion of what Amazon does without you having to explain

    Show More

    Cons

    - You're responsible for your own career progression and finding the places and teams that are doing the stuff you want to do. No one is going to take you by the hand and help you with that. - Amazon is built, quite deliberately, to be Darwinian. The strong survive and the weak perish (metaphorically speaking) and the 'bar' is constantly increasing. The level of performance that would have been acceptable five... years ago will get you canned today. It's a kind of crucible that'll help you develop a harder edge, if you can survive, that can serve you well in your career and in life, but it's often not a pleasant experience. I wouldn't recommend it as a place to work for just anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stack ranking is a horrible practice since it's rife with favoritism. It's also not Amazonian in that it's not data based (arbitrarily designating a certain percentage of employees that must be put on performance management isn't a data driven criterion) and it's not frugal (effectively forcing an individual out of the company in one division who would make the grade in another is either retaining someone who... doesn't meet the bar or a waste of talent). The goal is to force managers to actually make the hard decisions about how their team members compare with each other (not everyone can be exceptional), but it has more defects than virtues. Replace it with a common comparison of each person against the bar for their position, based on data. The percentages that are assigned to each performance category will turn out how they turn out, but there will be an evaluation mechanism that's fair and frugal.

    Show More
    Amazon2013-12-17
  5. "Serious Professional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional environment Serious Treated as a responsible adult Performance based Hours logged not measured or compared Non competitive

    Cons

    No cons Discouraged to ask too many questions - emphasis on independence

    Amazon2019-09-16
  6. "Best place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary for software engineer.

    Cons

    Senior workers are rude and disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    Make them polite

    Amazon2019-09-15
  7. "Awesome summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    - high salary - great mentorship - wide variety of locations to choose from (accommodated my request to be placed in NYC) - cutting edge technology, especially in AWS

    Cons

    - Each team is widely different, and team placement feels like playing russian roulette. - Not allowed to choose teams based on interest... they don't even pretend to care or ask what team you're interested in working on

    Amazon2019-09-15
  8. "Great place to work if you find the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern 

    I worked at Amazon

    Pros

    - Work with smart, like-minded people - A lot of hard problems infrastructure problems for scaling/deployment/etc. have been solver

    Cons

    - Can feel like a small cog in a big machine

    Amazon2019-09-14
  9. "Internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    My team had helpful people and the work we did was interesting. I successfully shipped my work to production and the relevant stakeholders were interested in the work.

    Cons

    However, I was not given any feedback to improve on till the 10th week. From that point of negative feedback, it felt inevitable that the internship would not result in an offer. I would have appreciated if I had been given enough time to work on the feedback and if it didn't come across as disingenuous.

    Amazon2019-09-12
  10. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Pretty decent pay for an intern

    Cons

    Experience is very dependent on the team

    Amazon2019-09-11
Found 2795 reviews