Amazon Reviews in Sydney, Australia | Glassdoor

Amazon Sydney Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
36 Ratings
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working, positive culture, work with smart and driven people

    Cons

    Can be long hours, sometimes bureaucratic

    Amazon2019-02-12
  2. "Working as a CSE, feeling like a CSI!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AWS is an "Infrastructure as a service" company, so working as a support engineer is a compelling and challenging activity. We have to understand the customer's scenario and, based on few inputs, be able to recreate the whole scene and troubleshoot customer's issues. Just like a CSI would do! But this ain't a 9 to 5, 5 days a week troubleshooting activity. Once you achieve the defined metrics you are free to get involved...

    Show More

    Cons

    You will find people unhappy with their positions and activities, saying that "it's just a call center". Like everywhere in the I.T. world , if you don't work smartly and don't do the extra mile it will be as bad as any other job, if not worse. There is no hand-holding, your team leaders or managers will not take care of your career happiness, so it's up to you only.

    Amazon2019-03-28
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Network Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Development Senior Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Lot of intelligent people.With every new hire;bar raises. *Environment is dynamic,challenging and very aggressive.Some people will think of quitting initially but after 3-4 months it will be under control. *Above average compensation comparable to grade. *If you are good with automating stuff for product operations.You can have a excellent career here.

    Cons

    *No robust training and ramp-up process. *Lot of wikis and process to follow. *Everybody is so busy that you need to take a note and book 1:1 for discussion. *No team work model.You need to work as Individual contributor only. *lots of tool which you cannot remember all . *Everything is automated and pushed to automate;so product-tech-enthusiast may not enjoy it. *Very less option for internal job transfers.

    Advice to Management

    *Create robust ramp-up plan for new hires . *Rather than forcing individual;make the atmosphere conducive to work. *Be transparent with the team.

    Amazon2018-12-26
  4. "Aws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work very professional

    Cons

    I can not see any cons

    Advice to Management

    I can not see any advises at the moment

    Amazon2018-11-29
  5. "Partner Sucess Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Sucess Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing tech, exciting and very fast moving,

    Cons

    Hard work that can suck you in if not careful

    Amazon2018-12-10
  6. "Cloud Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1) Great working environment. less work pressure. 2) Flexible work hours 3) Lots of learning, progressing opportunities 4) Energetic colleagues 5) supports Multiculturalism 6) Work / life balance

    Cons

    1) Need to be active about career growth. Normal day work done well is the minimum requirement for promotion. 2) If not aware, can get very specific to just aws services, which might not be something most people want

    Advice to Management

    Keep mixing things up and get every employee involved in activities outside work.

    Amazon2018-11-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Challenging but fun work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    --You get to work with the best minds in the world. --Innovation Innovation Innovation --Good employee benefits and stock which is skyrocketing.

    Cons

    I never saw any negatives.If you are able to cope up with the environment and have a zeal to learn you will see any negatives as positives.

    Amazon2018-11-05
  8. "AWS is a great place to work in Australia!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Services Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people around you, wonderful benefits, career opportunities everywhere. Beer taps on every floor.

    Cons

    Hard work, potentially little active support.

    Advice to Management

    Stock based total compensation can be annoying for employees; adjust base salaries too!

    Amazon2018-10-29
  9. "Technical Sourcer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sourcer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everything about my job is great. I think the autonomy and the standard of people you work with are the best part.

    Cons

    None that i can note at this time.

    Amazon2018-10-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Software Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High total compensation Large scale, challenging problems Ability to make a huge impact Talented peers

    Cons

    High pressure culture of rushing to meet artificial deadlines Non-technical managers

    Amazon2018-10-15
Found 44 reviews