Amazon Reviews in Tokyo, Japan | Glassdoor

Amazon Tokyo Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
22 Ratings
  1. "Global and diverse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Studio Operations Associate in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global teams Studio variety Works with diverse teams Can impact studios worldwide

    Cons

    Daily goals prevent time to focus on creativity Studio management can hinder good ideas being implemented

    Advice to Management

    Connect associates to productive studios Continue positive studio coordination

    Amazon2019-04-10
  2. "Warzone everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE1 in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay and flexible work timings

    Cons

    I have been with Amazon Japan for a year now. I have worked with many teams and have been a part of two different teams. Attitude: Mostly everyone have a type A personality. Its really hard for Type B's and C's to survive a workday without getting hurt. Everyday is judgement day: Pretty much everyone is judging each other all the time on every interaction and back-bitching about people when they are not around....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    management is extremely money driven. Counts every penny. Engineer's pay is directly mapped to the projects on a day basis. Even a delay of one day will be projected as loss or reason to drop the project because it would not be a return of investment.

    Amazon2019-04-03
  3. "Worlds Best Customer Centric Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazon is a learning platform where we can learn to work differently and get accommodated in a fast changing environment. Individuals working here are very smart and highly driven individuals.Compensation is well beyond my expectations and very competitive wrt other company. Regular and exciting assignments in the company will keep us focused and involved.

    Cons

    I really didn't find any Cons working here for last 4 Years.

    Advice to Management

    Continue rocking!! Work Hard,Have Fun,Make History!

    Amazon2019-04-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazon is continuing to create many innovative services everyday. Employees have culture that they change their success case to structure for others.

    Cons

    There is sectionalism in Amazon JP.

    Amazon2018-10-30
  5. "Recruiting Assistant L2 (Disability), Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Assistant, L2 in Ichikawa, Chiba
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Clear perspective of human rights. I have never over-worked for irrational reasons. And the environment is fair and not discriminating compared to normal Japanese companies' attitude to handicapped employees.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for handicapped employees to be promoted. But there is still more chance than normal Japanese companies.

    Amazon2018-10-29
  6. "Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Team Member in Ichikawa, Chiba
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I want to work because I have 3 kids and my wife to take care of

    Cons

    Friendly environment and good people to work with

    Advice to Management

    Be good to employees

    Amazon2018-09-14
  7. "Perfect company for Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Hachiōji
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazon is such a great company. Everyone can work full remotely, so it is very helpful who has to care their children. Also, employee can buy anything if it is necessary for their development of skills. Coworkers are very kind and friendly. It is a best place to work!

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about Amazon!

    Advice to Management

    Well management. great team work.

    Amazon2018-09-06
  8. "UI Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are generally open minded and higher digital literacy. So if you are digital designer, it’s more comfortable workplace for you. Report line and mentorship are well considered in this company. If you are a type of a person seeking to grow or learn with rigit manner, I think this would be a good company to be.

    Cons

    Sound like mispositioning is often occur, especially when the team is still new. Actually, I’m my case was mispositioning we both admit. Otherwise, I would liked working for them.

    Advice to Management

    Have job interviewer to review actual work role with a manager.

    Amazon2018-08-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Take the initiative to grow yourself. Flat hierarchy and depending on your manager one can direct the course of your own work

    Cons

    Sometimes can come across as disorganized

    Amazon2018-07-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Working on projects on a large scale

    Cons

    Salary is much higher in Seattle.

    Amazon2018-06-27
Found 29 reviews