Amazon Reviews in Turkey | Glassdoor

Amazon Turkey Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
3 Ratings
  1. "MVR Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International environment. Many opportunities to grow within business.

    Cons

    Limited benefits. Low salary. Long working hours.

    Amazon2019-10-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely Bad HR and Orientation Process to launch in a new Country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seller Support Associate in Istanbul
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Name ''Amazon'' on CV. Orientation was held in a 5 star Hotel with top service.

    Cons

    During the 3 days of Orientation while launching in the city in January 2018: Sum: The talents they hired were of high profile, but the job they represented us more like an account manager turned out to be a low profile ''call center help desk'' -created some weird work culture about not telling anybody within the first months of Launch (anybody besides our close family) that we work for Amazon, seriously...?! -provided us laptops and tokens, forced to take them home with backpacks every evening and bring back to orientation every morning. Lockers anybody? -90's Style cheering the brand's name while we, colleagues held hands?! just feels umm old-fashioned? -the upper management started to mention shift work hours starting at 6.00 am, which wasn't on our contract, (neither available public transport at those hours nor Amazon provided any) -from day 1 onwards started mentioning extra hours and shifts, -Management revealed that we would be serving for UK first, while Turkey's launch is getting ready- none of this we knew before, was not on the contract. -extremely small office, claustrophobic, when we wanted to open door for some fresh air, ''there is confidential info on the board, nobody is allowed to see, we might be watched, please get air during breaks'' -45 mins lunch break + 20-30 mins daily break overall with non stop, typing and handling queries, I repeat non-stop. It's a high building that is already taking more than 5 mins to go up&down for fresh air. We were advised as ladies to inform our team leaders if we are on ''our special days'' that we needed longer break times. Privacy? gender issues? -Those metrics were all calculated by our laptops, like we are robots and added to our performance. -when asked about the office, ''we will move in march '18'' going on the next day ''we signed the contract for new office starting in June 18! happy us! '' -no lunch vouchers, when asked ''there is a McDonald's at mall nearby, its cheap there'' These were all so offensive as they hired highly educated (Top Universities and abroad MBA's) multilingual (fluent in local lang., English plus some other lang.) experienced people for such Launching. It was all unbelievable the overall attitude of the brand. When I said I do not want to proceed with my position, no HR person handled my resignation. It was a dry 'sorry to hear this, thank you bye' by the launcher team lead.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-08-18
  3. "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catalog Lead in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    The best part of working at Amazon is that there is no hierarchy. You can go and talk to anyone and ask for help about anything. As long as you do your job nobody cares what time you come to work, when you leave.

    Cons

    The career path isn't open as they claim. Our team is relatively small, so for promotion there should be different criteria than the rest of the world.

    Amazon2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Call center Job, Low salaries."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seller Support Associate in Istanbul
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will be able to have Amazon on your CV, no matter what it is a huge thing

    Cons

    Basically, you work as a modern slave. Unlike it was mentioned during the interviews, it is a %100 call center job.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Vendor Support Associate, Amazon Turkey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Support Associate in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn something new every day. Good training opportunities Possibility to move up (worldwide) within the company

    Cons

    Exhaustive working hours in Turkey (10 hours) No lunch vouchers Pays only the half of the monthly transportation card (when you think about the USD and TL exchange rate I find it completely ridiculous and unfair.)

    Continue reading
    Amazon2018-04-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "poor salary and working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Istanbul
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    only good thing is that company has high stock price..

    Cons

    -poor salary. below industry average - transportation + lunch meals are not paid -extremely horrible working conditions - they promise you to earn Amazon stock but you have to stay at least 3 years for that. Another type of slavery...

    Continue reading
    Amazon2018-05-19
Found 6 reviews