Amazon Reviews in Vancouver, BC | Glassdoor

Amazon Vancouver Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
73 Ratings
  1. "Impressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow personally, professionally. You will exit Amazon (whenever that would be) a very different person in a good way! Very nice people in the teams that I have been a part of.

    Cons

    Sometimes the avalanche of information you have to deal with is overwhelming but soon you'll learn how to say now and how and what to ignore. It looks like advancement once you are inside is really difficult - much more than it should be and makes people consider leaving after a few years. The approach to "inclusivity" is dangerously tipping on the other side; when you push too much on this kind of topics you end...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you don't just hire the best but that you also keep the people that invested in this company! Compensation should not be something difficult to talk about.

    Amazon2019-05-06
  2. "Software Development Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic promotion rules and process.

    Amazon2019-05-18
  3. "The only thing I regret..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Trainer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I currently work for Amazon Web Services Canada and the only thing I regret is that I have not joined the company earlier in my career.

    Cons

    It could be a bit of a cultural shift for the folks who depend on the micromanagement.

    Amazon2019-04-15
  4. "Great environment to apply your skills and constantly learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning resources available, and other employees are always willing to provide guidance and advice.

    Cons

    Getting up to speed can be overwhelming at first.

    Amazon2019-04-10
  5. "Best place I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - Learn from some great leaders - Startup-like culture and focus on customers is unparallelled - Solve interesting problems - A truly agile data-driven work culture that moves fast and delivers results

    Cons

    - The size and scale of problems to be solved and the pace of change can be daunting - It can feel like there's hundreds of things to do, but there isn't time in the day to get them all done - Sometimes we can be blinded by trying to deliver a lot of value to our customers and undervaluing the cost of the technical debt we may be accruing until it's too late

    Advice to Management

    Keep being diligent about preserving the Leadership Principles that make Amazon a great place to work.

    Amazon2019-04-09
  6. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good salary and large scale projects

    Cons

    hq centric, legacy code in some teams, lack of seniority

    Amazon2019-04-06
  7. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    You work with smart people so lots of learning opportunities. The possibility of changing the teams internally allows expanding knowledge across different dimensions. Leadership principals are not just words, everyone lives them here!

    Cons

    Compensation is great but other employee perks/benefits are not as great as other similar tech companies specifically in Vancouver.

    Amazon2019-03-19
  8. "Warehouse associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Four days of work and Offer good benefits

    Cons

    They want high systematic standard quality rate and production productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t treat us a robot we are not systematically made in computer we are a human Warehouse worker.

    Amazon2019-04-01
  9. "A great place to learn and to share your knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Challenging environment, you always push your limits - Ownership (you build it, you fix it) - You can grow the way you want, you only need to work for it - working on a scale to earth company open incredible work challenges - you design it, you build it, you support it, you fix it. - The customer is the center of all decisions, and this redesign our ways of thinking

    Cons

    - Challenging environment, sometimes, you still want to relax a bit. - Personal/work life balance could be better

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance is still to be improved.

    Amazon2019-02-26
  10. "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Fulfillment Associate in New Westminster, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Stable salary. 2. Easy to be hired

    Cons

    1. Lack of personal rotation between processes. 2. Unsafe to work (alone in a cold dusty trailer 10 hours per day). 3. Lack of feedback. Coworkers are just disposable parts / numbers for management. 4. Unstable schedule (sometimes 60 hours per week) due to season

    Advice to Management

    Please, at least provide rotations for workers

    Amazon2019-02-26
Found 113 reviews