Amazon Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Amazon Director Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Substance, Stamina and Smarts are the Key to Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked in the Tech industry for over 10 years, both in Silicon Valley and Seattle. I can honestly say Amazon is the most innovative place I've ever seen. People here are the some of the smartest on the planet, and they want to make big things happen. People who do well here absolutely have passion for what they do, and a relentless drive to do better. They're not afraid of hard work and rolling up your... sleeves to get the job done. It's a scrappy, fast-paced environment, and I love that we are not afraid to try something new every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pace at which things happen is mind blowing at times, and can be hard to keep up. It's fun and exciting, but you really have to know how to pace yourself or you can easily burn out. This also isn't an environment where you'll feel pampered. It's real, and substance matters more than style. The best idea, no matter where it comes from, is all that matters. Personal accountability is key, and sometimes you... feel like you're failing more than you're succeeding. You have to have stamina and grit to get through some of the challenges when you're trying to do something that no one else has before.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More two-way communications from senior executives would be nice. There's almost no messaging from our senior leaders, and they don't spend enough time inspiring people about where we're going.

    Amazon2018-05-31
  2. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smartest people in the world work here, There is opportunity everywhere and so many cool things going on. The scale is massive, like no where else in the world.

    Cons

    Limited focus on people / development and what is in place is underdeveloped and often dis-genuine. People are too often seen as disposable batteries who get used full force, when burn out is near, they are tossed aside and replace with new. Most Directors and up have lost track of what the front line employee is doing, being more concerned about resource grabbing and empire building.

    Advice to Management

    Spend some time on the ground, work backwards from the employee. Employees drive your customer obsession, make it a reality or don't.

    Amazon2018-06-07
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focused on developing great tech

    Cons

    Often aggressive schedule, limited resources

    Amazon2018-05-04
  4. "Almost 6 years in and still loving it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + I feel free at AWS. It's 100% true that if you write a good PR-FAQ and 6-pager, you can get your ideas turned into the next service. + We do crazy things to keep our team culture alive, and that's always cool provided you deliver results. + If you do a good job and have the right metrics in place to measure the impact of your work, you are rewarded. I have found the system transparent and fair, and have been... promoted twice. + At AWS anyway, the startup culture is definitely alive and well.. but you get the benefits of a large enterprise. Don't like your job? There are thousands of openings. A good percentage of my team came through inbound transfers.

    Show More

    Cons

    A performance-based culture in a rapidly growing business means that if you do a good job, you inevitably get more responsibilities. There is never a break.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it weird.

    Amazon2018-02-16
  5. "Wonderful place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love this place. I have no plans of going anywhere.

    Cons

    We need more money, so we need to hire a development director.

    Advice to Management

    Ride more bikes.

    Amazon2018-02-16
  6. "Head of Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in West Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent work culture and pace of execution

    Cons

    Lot of internal dependencies, difficult to navigate

    Amazon2018-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Direct of Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Operations in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced cutting edge environment. Opportunity to build and lead large teams. Surrounded by incredible talent and desire to deliver results.

    Cons

    Top down driven company. Opportunity to independently operate and create ideas was growing limited towards the end of my employment. Very demanding career and environment. Quality of life often suffered.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the operators at the FC level. Give them more autonomy. Respect quality of life more.

    Amazon2017-12-09
  8. "Group Creative Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Creative Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, interesting work, high pay

    Cons

    Long hours, rigid management system, no perks

    Amazon2017-11-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "politics and secrecy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fast pace, great stock, perfect location

    Cons

    the higher you go the more politics, secrecy and back stabbing

    Advice to Management

    too much power concentrated in to few hands, and too many people wanting into the club

    Amazon2017-10-10
  10. "You will learn what you are made of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fascinating, stimulating environment. Supportive, driven people. Mature behavior. Very high level of self-determination. Great career mobility opportunities. Surprising amount of support for work/life balance.

    Cons

    A bit of a cultural divide between those with 10 - 15+ years and those under. A lot of nostalgia for the "good old days" which can be tiresome.

    Amazon2017-09-19
Found 79 reviews