Amazon Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Director Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazon is an awe-inspiring company that continues to innovate on behalf of customers. It's dynamic and focused on the future. The company is guided by 14 Leadership Principles that are thoughtful and deliberate. They guide how employees work together, drive results and serve customers.

    Cons

    The knock on Amazon is that the culture can be demanding and employees can have sharp elbows. That can happen at any company. The Amazon culture isn't for everyone. You have to be entrepreneurial, driven and confident. And, you need to understand the Leadership Principles. They display the company culture for all to see.

    Amazon2017-06-01
  2. "Long hours but with it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A very good life changing experience to work on problems at global scale. Lots of autonomy. Ton of stuff to learn.

    Cons

    Hours. Perks. Very hard to get to Vice President. There are few places that have tough managers like most other companies.

    Amazon2017-05-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It is the right place for the right people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Runs and operates like a start up. The company is not afraid to backup their best people and groom them quickly for leadership positions. Lots of mentorship and leadership coaching. True meritocracy.

    Cons

    It is specific to peoples attitude, I'm very comfortable and have a great work life balance along with excellent career opportunity for growth. Interviews can be rather taxing but it is meant to pick the sure to succeed kind of people.

    Advice to Management

    Don't change the DNA, it is what makes us tick.

    Amazon2017-05-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Interesting problems, good scaling experience and nice culture of experiment and trying out new things and bold ideas and customer focus

    Cons

    No work life balance salary is low managers are bad vp's are super arrogant. Old timers are very old school in thinking

    Amazon2017-04-15
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Worst place i've work in 25+ year career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Great concepts of leadership and the people at the lower levels (Below Director) are great. Hard working and very professional. They have made the retail technology area what is driving Amazon.

    Cons

    The leadership principles are used to pull people down in the retail technology area, existing management is a club that protects each other at all costs, not open to new ideas, firing people who are good works just to make quota, no work life balance, people are promoted based on the work they didn't do, managers pride themselves on openly making new staff look bad in front of Sr. Management, and the list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    I only will say one thing and I know management will not listen, clean house at the Director level.

    Amazon2017-02-08
  6. "Great Technology Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Product Development in Lisle, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    VisTracks embraces technology to provide value to their customers. They treat they employees great, have plenty of opportunity to grow as a contributor and have fun in the process.

    Cons

    It is both a pro and a con, the company has a lot of customers across different markets, so the product is not necessarily "off the shelf". This is fun because there are always new challenges, but if you are looking to work on a product that has narrow market focus, this might not be it.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to continue to recruit great people and provide a fun and challenging work atmosphere.

    Amazon2017-01-04
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work hard. Have fun. Make History. This really happens every day.

    Cons

    Promotions don't happen very fast but challenged every day

    Amazon2016-10-29
  8. "Practice Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Practice Director in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative, technology, agile, scalable, HA

    Cons

    stressful, proprietary, NA, Not Applicable

    Amazon2016-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Works for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you want to work with smart people who are most of the time trying to do the right thing for the customer and the business, this could be a great company for you. There are politics, but less than at other companies I have worked for that were less data-driven.

    Cons

    Amazon is intense in the way that working at McKinsey or Goldman is intense. If that fires you up because it means you get to work on big projects and deliver big results, you will like it here (I do). If it doesn't, you won't.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to our core, no matter how big we get.

    Amazon2016-05-19
  10. "fast paced and intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits and people in a fast paced environment. Step up to the plate and perform, you'll be rewarded.

    Cons

    Highly Bureaucratic and there are a lot of egos at play. Workload is intense.

    Amazon2016-05-18
Found 79 reviews