Amazon Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Director Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (57)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I made it past the interview and they gave me a job. I'm surprised I didn't owe them $200 grand to pay for the privilege.

    Cons

    Arrogance of everyone. Including the S team, everyone that works for them, everyone that works for them, etc...., etc... and the janitors, and the lady that works in reception and the coffee baristas.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2015-12-03
  2. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Talented group of highly motivated individuals

    Cons

    Process was very democratic that sometimes blocked progress. Metrics sometimes misread and misdirected in creative. Creative teams need more of a voice in the grand scheme of things and cannot only be measured by productivity but by creative vision as well.

    Amazon2016-04-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "AWS Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal growth for a cutting edge industry leader should mean uncapped career potential.

    Cons

    Senior and executive management create almost a hostile work environment. They don't appreciate the feedback and insight that their employees can offer and command to just get it done. There is very little teaming across levels. The "just get it done" without coaching provides an environment high on anxiety and low in inspiration.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2016-04-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Real Impact with Smart and Fun People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At Amazon, you have the opportunity to work on problems that impact real customers in really big ways! We're at the forefront of multiple industries (devices, cloud computing, ecommerce, and drones to name a few). Every day, you'll be provided opportunities to make decisions that drive forward what customers care about. You'll also be surrounded by the smartest (and often funnest) people of your career. In 10+ years of experience, I've learned and grown more than I could have every imagined as a result of being surrounded by brilliant people and tacking huge customer-focused problems.

    Cons

    Amazon's a company that has been (an will be) in hyper growth mode. We believe in being flat and decentralized with employees expected to use high judgment (instead of complex policies). There are growing pains for any company/team growing like this. We hold our core values at the nucleus of business (which is great), but there are challenges in growing this quickly.

    Amazon2016-02-04
  5. "Seems attractive, but not a good long-term employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Bainbridge Island, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company, stock growth, changing the world

    Cons

    Do not care about people and demonstrate this through their policies, and business practices. just look at their comp model and you will see they take all upside away from their employees, but leave all the risk for when the stock tumbles.

    Amazon2015-11-14
  6. Helpful (13)

    "NY Times Article is true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Opportunities, lots of freedom to make decisions, Total Compensation due to stock price.

    Cons

    Lots of terrible Managers/Leaders at the Director and VP level....it's an 'old boys' club. If you don't get along and tow the line, you'll be out either by your decision or theirs sooner rather than later. Performance doesn't matter. Ridiculous organization structure, from top to bottom....navigating it is unbelievably difficult.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2015-10-07
  7. Helpful (17)

    "False promises! Leadership lacks integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Density of talent: Really smart people, tough interviewing + Brand: Goes without saying though other companies are increasingly not hiring Amazonians at senior level because of concerns of disrupting their culture as Amazonians are getting increasingly arrogant

    Cons

    - Career growth: Impossible to get to Director, even more impossible to get to VP - Leadership lacks integrity: I was hired as Director and then promised to get to VP within 12 months, I took a pay cut to do so. All those promises have gone out of the window, and now I am getting BS served for the last 3 years, even though the performance is top tier. There was no need to make these false promises. - Compensation: This can be tricky, you can get a windfall or huge paycut depending on the stock price. Really unpredictable.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2015-05-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Move fast and do great things for customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - empowered and smart employees. "fueling" smart people that raise the levels of thinking of those around them - the culture is not about turf, culture is genuinely about solving problems for customers and anticipating future customer needs. so much so we don't need the customer obsession leadership principle on the wall, it is part of our DNA. how we assess, how we speak, how we promote, and how we performance manage etc. - high hiring bar to keep the first bullet above current

    Cons

    - stretch can be challenging, typically pressures are not from above but rather the load can get heavy if you are not able to prioritize and clearly set priorities - company information (org changes etc) is not consistently or broadly communicated - if you need maps or navigational tools to do your job this is probably the wrong place. the environment is a self service environment that breeds invention and asking questions along the way

    Continue reading
    Amazon2015-04-27
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Director, Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many brilliant people, company is growing quickly, lots of interesting challenges to work on, considered one of the tech leaders of our day

    Cons

    culture is shifting and becoming much more political, harder to get stuff done, no longer focused on great decision making management is much more concerned with optics and managing upward

    Continue reading
    Amazon2015-04-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "OK experience at Amazon... very unstructured and political environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool to be part of a growing and young company

    Cons

    Management environment is very difficult. Not a pleasant experience. Experienced managers have very dictatorial style that sucks creativity and fun out of the work experience.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2014-08-19
Found 79 reviews