Amazon Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Director Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place but can be tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation, dogs at work, challenging work

    Cons

    As company grows, they are becoming a bit bureaucratic in some areas. Women do ok here but it's not great.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2014-05-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not everyone's cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An openess to new ideas

    Cons

    no work life balance. Management not vested n helping you with your career or goals. Very few fringe benefits

    Continue reading
    Amazon2014-04-24
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Challenging, no-nonsense environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You're surrounded by bright, creative people, from diverse backgrounds. Truly a global company, focused on hiring the best candidates from around the world. All-hands meetings teach you about various areas of the business, and the CEO always shares bits of wisdom, followed by open, virtually anything goes, Q&A. Great stock benefits, if you can hold out through year 3. Open environment where constructive criticism is valued. You're typically empowered to run your own space.

    Cons

    When Amazonians start to believe their own press, they can make bad decisions. Many strong referrals are rejected via bar-raiser arrogance, to the point that you no longer want to sponsor references for fear of a bad candidate experience. Too much time is spent finding the "bad" in good employees during annual rating exercises. Time would be better spent in making their great employees even stronger.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2014-01-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Mediocrity being driven at a maniacal uncontrolled pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Cupertino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AMZN stock has done well

    Cons

    Disorganized, little value for human capital; extremely cheap when it comes to perks

    Continue reading
    Amazon2014-02-01
  5. "What a ride! If you like to build things, this is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director Software Development in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    I've been here over 12 years and have had the opportunity to build all kinds of elaborate systems that changed the company. The early days were quite demanding, but the satisfaction was immense. I'm still challenged, but at a sustainable rate. The growth curve is like few other places. I interviewed an old mentor from HP 5 years after I'd left. I felt he'd atrophied, but the real deal is I'd grown tremendously. Most jobs (I'm sure there are exceptions) use strong, current technologies. We clear the table and rub two sticks together to make a fire. As the smoke starts to generate, we may notice we've moved a pack of matches- but alas, we know this fire and where the hot spot is. Keep rubbing the sticks together. This is also a competitive advantage, tight integration w/ every other piece of the system.

    Cons

    It's clearly not for everyone. If you want tenure based promotions, silo org'ed structures, find a job somewhere else, and count the days to retirement. There is a bit of a libertarian angle on many decisions which doesn't bother me. It is getting very large.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2011-10-27
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon

    Pros

    I am very proud to have been a part of Amazon. It could be a frustrating place to work, but it was never boring. I have never felt so mentally stimulated.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work hard. Jeff Bezos is amazing but he has no concerns for you individually. That didn't bother me at all, but you have to know that going in.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2010-01-13
  7. Helpful (9)

    "True customer focus, but not the right place for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    1. Customer focus is truly priority #1 throughout the organization. 2. Long term focus of management means consistent message and direction. 3. Plenty of smart people, and very few places for the "dead weight" to hide. 4. Very easy, and expected, to rotate through various functional areas of the company. Most people switch roles at least every 2 years.

    Cons

    1. Extremely detail oriented culture. It is expected (and considered a strength) that management "dive deep" into all details. This can be very trying at times. 2. Organization is very lean in terms of staffing. While there is the argument this can drive innovation, and has positioned the company well in the current economic climate, it means there is ALWAYS more to do than time to do it. You need to be able to draw your line (in terms of what you are willing to give) and hold to it while delivering on the top priorities. 3. Not the place to go to be "developed". It's very much a "sink or swim" type of culture. The expectation is to hire smart people and then it's up to them to deliver and make their way through the organization.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2009-02-22
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Long timer's perspective."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Amazon is a place were you work next to really smart people who are motivated and excited about what they do for a living. While our workforce has changed over the years, the culture instills a focus on knowing the details of your business, maniacal focus on the customer - even if that means short term and perhaps long term pain - because that is the right thing to do and a willingness to take risks. People who love change and deal well with ambiguity thrive at Amazon. Those who want to be told what to do and who desire a clear road map get very frustrated. Every job has it's ups and down and Amazon has had it's fair share and more, but the company continues to innovate, continues to eschew the trappings of success and the employees take pride in their work.

    Cons

    Promotions are few and far between. Stock is a big part of your compensation and because our stock swings wildly it can significantly impact your income from year to year. For a new person Amazon can be quite a struggle to find your place. Most groups are sink or swim and if you are hired you are expected to seek help as it won't seek you.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2008-11-06
  9. "Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Director in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    Very dynamic company and high growth

    Cons

    not a lot of information sharing or development

    Continue reading
    Amazon2008-09-03
  10. "Thumbs up for Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    It is one of the most innovative companies on the planet that never sits back and rests. Amazon has a humble approach to everything which I find very appealing in today's world of companies screaming about how great they are. Amazon also has an extremely high hiring bar, and the company is loaded with really smart people. That makes it easy to come to work in the morning.

    Cons

    Amazon is unlike most companies out there, and this can sometimes be a problem for new employees, especially those not right our of school and have worked at other companies. Our culture is a little different, and our priorities are little different.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2008-07-09
Found 79 reviews