Amazon Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Project Manager Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
47 Ratings
  1. "Pull up the sleeves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working here for almost 4 yrs and it has been a great experience so far. There is much to learn and you are "pushed" to achieve the best. There are always exciting and new projects across the company on a WW level that keep you interested. Only who is fully committed and owns his career can thrive here.

    Cons

    The fast-paced environment can be shocking for some. A lot of self-motivation goes into the job in order to be successful.

    Amazon2019-05-15
  2. "Culture depends on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in a fun, collaborative environment that fostered growth

    Cons

    Peers in other departments/teams complained of toxicity, turnover and lack of work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Work on creating a consistent company culture

    Amazon2019-05-24
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Amazon part-time

    Pros

    nice people, easy work, good pay, lots of work, fun

    Cons

    long hours, heavy items, high rate, high turnover, many people

    Amazon2019-05-17
  4. "Crap on a stick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    I could quit whenever I wanted too.

    Cons

    Amazon s process from beginning to end was simply just a massive waste of time. The interview process took nearly 3-6 month just to hear any form of feed back then took another 2 months to schedule the interview. starting salary wasn't that appealing and the benefits they provide are just "okay" for the amount of work you're putting in. The interview process made you feel as though you were competing with... everyone who's in the call with you and the individuals who interview you all seem like they're reading scripts and robotic. Luckily I turned down this job opportunity...

    Show More
    Amazon2019-05-23
  5. "Dependent on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities to work on cutting edge new products

    Cons

    some orgs are very chaotic while others are good

    Amazon2019-04-27
  6. "Great company with Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing but the best of people, ideas, and robust culture.

    Cons

    Long hours, no work/life balance.

    Amazon2019-03-29
  7. "great for upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    teams can be great, innovative products and services. Fast pace

    Cons

    there is an expectation that you work overtime and some office politics can be annoying

    Advice to Management

    empower staff more,

    Amazon2019-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Project/Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, good benefits, good work/life balance, and interesting problems to solve

    Cons

    It’s a huge company so can take a while to find answers

    Amazon2019-01-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Cut throat environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people you can work with. A good place to learn a lot

    Cons

    Leadership encourages cutthroat atmosphere. Everyone looks out for them selves. And finds every opportunity to climb by stepping on others. Peers won’t hesitate to put you down in order to look good. Lack of ownership

    Advice to Management

    Discourage cutthroat mentality. Stop team members from pushing each other down especially with leadership visibility and other business partners.

    Amazon2019-01-19
  10. "Land of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with many opportunities to explore your interests. You have the freedom to pursue projects you identify as long as you communicate your plans to management. The workforce is very diverse, which leads to a great pool of talent to learn from.

    Cons

    No tuition reimbursement program outside of the fulfillment centers. Only get six paid holidays in the US. Outside of Seattle, employees don't get paid sick leave, it's deducted from PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure communication of major changes and explain why.

    Amazon2018-09-24
Found 67 reviews