Amazon "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
21,729 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work environment (the environment is good at Amazon when compared to many other companies)(in 1711 reviews)

  • "Friendly fast paced always help you(in 1428 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance - this is not the place to work if you're expecting a strict 9-to-5 schedule(in 3085 reviews)

  • "Stressful work long hours from time to time(in 1708 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great learning and challenging experiences on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Amazon Cloud Support Engineer in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthy work environment and great minds to learn from.

    Cons

    I have not had a bad experience so far

    Amazon2019-11-01
  2. Helpful (2029)

    "You Get What You Put In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    Really smart people, a lot of opportunity for growth, always encouraged to be innovative, think big, and create something new. Competitive salary and benefits with other major tech companies. 100% self motivating work environment. No dress code and 4 legged friends are welcome.

    Cons

    You have to be self motivated. NO ONE will hold your hand and tell you that you're doing a great job. If you need constant affirmations from management, this company isn't for you.

    Advice to Management

    More on-boarding training before new employees are thrown in the fire. The first couple of weeks can be very confusing on where to find the information you need that pertains to your job.

    Amazon2016-01-11
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Very organized.

    Cons

    No, there's not many really.

    Advice to Management

    Some pauses.

    Amazon2019-12-04
  4. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and the work environment is good.

    Cons

    There is N/A cons for the company

    Amazon2019-11-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I have worked in my 25 plus years of employment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative work environment in which there is the best sense of belonging to a team. Challenging work with a supportive infrastructure to excel and grow within the company. Managers have your back as well as colleagues. A satisfying, fulfilling role in assisting third party sellers grow their business.

    Cons

    Vacation accrues with hours worked, no automatic vacation days granted on the first day.

    Advice to Management

    Establishing more work from home or four day work weeks would be favorable to most employees, as well as implementing unlimited vacation time will attract more of the best and brightest candidates to Amazon.

    Amazon2019-11-20
  6. "bEST COMPANY EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    -good health insurance . -snacks -enjoyble working environment

    Cons

    -fast paced environment . not always ideal

    Amazon2019-11-19
  7. "summer intern experience at amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern 

    I have been working at Amazon

    Pros

    good working environment, dog policy

    Cons

    didn't get the return offer

    Amazon2019-12-05
  8. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work environment and people

    Cons

    People judge you for working at amazon

    Amazon2019-11-18
  9. "Good for first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, good working environment.

    Cons

    Too heavy for each engineer.

    Amazon2019-11-18
  10. "Good as a side job but not full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Whole Foods Shopper in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time

    Pros

    Very relaxed work environment. Salary is above minimum wage. No uniform required.

    Cons

    Work shifts are not guaranteed. Shifts are first come first serve.

    Amazon2019-11-15
Found 2067 reviews