Ambassador Software Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
90%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ambassador Software Chief Executive Officer Jeff Epstein (no image)
Jeff Epstein
27 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great opportunity

    Jan 27, 2021 - Sales Associate in Murray, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Commission are at a high level

    Cons

    Long hours for the week

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Opportunity after opportunity

    Feb 17, 2019 - Onboarding Specialist in Birmingham, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has given me opportunity after opportunity to grow my career including a leadership team that’s 100% cheering me on and supporting my growth. Leadership listens to their employees and genuinely cares about making the company a place that people *want* to come into each day and give their all. It doesn’t get much better than that. There is a huge focus on company values, and that has been refreshing to see. They hire just as much for culture as they do for skill sets, so each individual in the company is pretty unique in background and it works. The people make this place such an awesome place to work, but the benefits and tools they give you to get your job done each day are second to none. If you learn by doing and lead by example this is a place where you’ll get everything you put in and probably more.

    Cons

    The work is very fast paced; for me that’s an absolute pro, and a given in a startup but it’s not for everybody. If you’re looking for somewhere that you’ll be able to coast- this isn’t the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ambassador Software Response

    Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for the awesome feedback, we will certainly take your advice and continue to embrace OUTCARE!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong Culture Leads to Success

    Feb 12, 2019 - Customer Success in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is unlimited growth opportunity -- working at Ambassador has allowed me to grow both personally and professionally. Ambassador is truly a place where hard work is recognized and rewarded with more responsibility. The core values (AKA OUTCARE) have created an unbeatable sense of community. Employees work hard to consistently embody each core value and also hold each other accountable to continue improving. Flexible work hours allow for work/life balance. Leadership recognizes that work/life balance is extremely important. The product is unbelievable - everyone who works at Ambassador is proud to stand behind such a solid and industry leading product, and that shows in every internal and external interaction.

    Cons

    The day-to-day can be really fast paced, but is that really even a con?

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Culture gone wrong

    Feb 8, 2019 - Software Engineer in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good technology stack Cool location in downtown Royal Oak

    Cons

    Micromanagement is completely out of control within engineering. A small group of engineers make all of the architecture decisions and funnel the requirements down to others to implement. The culture is downright toxic and everything in the company is obsessively centered around it (even the conference rooms are themed on the company values). Leadership does not care about employee issues, they only care about productivity. There is a lot of talk about feedback but unless the feedback is glowing praise it is met with harsh resistance and sometimes punishment. Leadership has a habit of disparaging former employees, candidates, and even other organizations. Work conditions are extremely poor. Performance is measured per engineer per sprint (in story points). Leadership claimed that points are not counted, then later penalized me, citing points completed. Employees are expected to be at work, working no later than 9a, to take a lunch no longer than 1 hour and to leave no earlier than 6p. Conversations between employees about benefits, work schedule and work conditions were explicitly disallowed (turns out this type of conversation is legally protected).

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Ambassador Software Response

    Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. We care about everyone's feedback and will look to make improvements wherever we can. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to reach out at any time.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    People-first, rock star team, and I like/get along with every single one of my current coworkers

    Mar 22, 2019 - Senior Backend Engineer in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working with Ambassador for almost half a decade. In that time I've gone from a Junior to a Senior Engineer. There were fun times, difficult times and everything in between. A few things that Ambassador does very well: - Live and breathe OUTCARE. It's often the case that companies say they want a certain company culture and practice another. This is not the case with Ambassador. Looking at my life through the lens of OUTCARE has made me a better employee and a better person. - The leadership team practices what they preach. They fight for their employees and they understand that a happy employee is a productive employee. Decisions aren't made based upon ego; they're made for the good of the customers, employees, and the product. - The leadership team understands that we work for incentives and gives us clear feedback on our performance. Conversations about career paths are just that; conversations. Feedback goes both ways. - Ambassador is at an inflection point after a recent acquisition with West Corporation. The team is growing and so is our technology stack. The sky is the limit with career path possibilities both at Ambassador and within West. - West, and by extension Ambassador, is location agnostic. This means we're extremely flexible with where employees can work from. We have an additional office in Denver, CO, which one of our engineers just moved to and we're currently working to fill with more engineers soon. - An extremely competitive set of benefits (medical, dental, vision, PTO, work from home) - Catered lunches every Wednesday. - A very good work/life balance. - An awesome office in downtown Royal Oak, MI within walking distance of tons of great restaurants.

    Cons

    - The recent acquisition with West was a bit of a tumultuous time with lots of discussions and changes happening at once, but the differences have been worked out. The acquisition ended up going well and we're back to smooth sailing now. - There have been issues with hiring in the past where we went through growing pains and made one or two hires that didn't end up being good culture fits in the short term causing some tumult on our team. For what it's worth these seemed to be anomalies in the overall trend of people working here, and I think our overall reviews on Glassdoor reflect that. - There was a hilarious fiasco over a recurring leak in the ceiling. This reflects more on the property managers of the building we're in than Ambassador as a whole. The leadership team raised the issue several times with the building manager and eventually it was fixed. On the other hand, it was kind of peaceful to have a miniature waterfall in the office for a few days. We've had no other issues since, and the building itself is actually really nice.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    great company to work for

    Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    room to grow, career plans, great coworkers, easy-going atmosphere, constant learning, great work/life balance, accessible location.

    Cons

    not applicable... but I do have to type a min of five words here.

    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Core values of OUTCARE epitomize the type of company everyone hopes to work for

    Sep 30, 2017 - Sales Team Lead in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Where do I start? The company heavily invests in it's people and technology. The product is phenomenal, and there's a real mission-driven sense of purpose amongst the team to define a market category. Features on the Inc. 5000 list 2 years in a row and multiple "Best Places to Work" lists are a great indicator of the trajectory the company is on. With a stellar customer list, you get to work with some of the most recognizable US and global brands across B2B and B2C. There are regular company social gatherings, and the benefits package has continually become more lucrative driven by employee feedback. Ample opportunity for career development and progression. Leadership have implemented a very sound business model facilitating sustainable growth that will ensure longevity.

    Cons

    None come to mind. I can honestly say it's been an amazing 2 years thus far and I'm excited to see just how high the ceiling is moving forward.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Ambassador Software Response

    Thank you for the feedback. We're thrilled to have you and appreciate the kind words. I would like to personally thank you for being a driving force of our strong culture here at Ambassador. Please continue to hold myself and others accountable to exemplify our values of OUTCARE! - Jeff Epstein, CEO

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to make a difference!

    Jan 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm really, really proud to be a part of this company. Opportunities to work for a startup that's product and people are the best in the industry - don't come around too often. I've had the opportunity to work for several successful startups over the years, but I've never been more excited to be a part of a company. The biggest benefit of working at Ambassador is the ability to make a real difference. Any one person at the company can have a big impact. If you have feedback or ideas that will help improve the company, just have a direct conversation with your manager. They'll listen. In the past couple of years that I've been here, I've seen huge growth - both personally and on the company level. It's awesome to feel like I've played a role in that growth!

    Cons

    The blessing is the curse. It's a startup, so not every detail is perfectly flushed out and every job in the company asks a lot of you, but that's what makes working at any successful startup exciting.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun Company that values it's employees

    Jan 25, 2016 - Software Engineer in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started here in December of 2014 and have been lucky enough to be here through the explosion of growth, throughout which the culture has not only been sustained, but improved. I've worked at several companies and have never felt like I was so valued as an employee. Management genuinely cares about the your well being and rewards hard work without breathing down your neck. Culture is a big deal here and as such, management has made it a priority to hire the best people without sacrificing the right "fit". I don't care how cliche it sounds, I actually love coming into my job everyday. I work with my best friends so it makes it super easy.

    Cons

    I don't really have much negative to say here so to keep things fair, parking has been a little rough for the newest employees. The parking garage nearest to our office is completely full, so not much can be done there. That said, the next closest garage is only a block further away...

    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Plenty of Potential, but Awful Leadership & Culture

    Dec 5, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The technology is among the best in the market. The company's brand is respected in the Detroit area (and in the broader startup ecosystem). And most of the employees are there for the right reasons — to build something special and create a new category of marketing technology.

    Cons

    The company's culture is more about putting in hours than anything else. Little attention is paid to productivity, while time-in-the-office is celebrated. A lot of promises are made around career opportunities and personal development, but they aren't followed up on. You're expected to be at your desk from 9-6 am (and there's very little flexibility in that policy — even for unavoidable personal issues or commitments, like a child's illness or a doctor's appointment). Transparency from management around hiring and firing decisions is non-existent (employees who left were often pushed out the door and their departure wasn't announced until the last second of their last day). Feedback from the senior management team is often overly harsh and anti-productive — making employees feel belittled for small errors. This created a culture of fear and hesitance, instead of providing opportunities for constructive feedback that would help everyone get better.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    Ambassador Software Response

    I'm truly disappointed to read this feedback and apologize for the experience you had at Ambassador. Clearly, I didn't do my job as CEO - I take full responsibility. We seek out and encourage all feedback. I've taken this feedback as an opportunity to look inward and plan to gather additional feedback across all departments to ensure no diplomat ever feels this way. - Jeff Epstein, CEO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with Ambassador Software Job Seekers

Relationship Marketing Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at Ambassador Software? Share Your Experiences

Ambassador Software logo
or