Ambassador Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Ambassador Software Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ambassador Software Chief Executive Officer Jeff Epstein (no image)
Jeff Epstein
26 Ratings
  1. "People-first, rock star team, and I like/get along with every single one of my current coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Backend Engineer in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been working with Ambassador for almost half a decade. In that time I've gone from a Junior to a Senior Engineer. There were fun times, difficult times and everything in between. A few things that Ambassador does very well: - Live and breathe OUTCARE. It's often the case that companies say they want a certain company culture and practice another. This is not the case with Ambassador. Looking at my life through the lens of OUTCARE has made me a better employee and a better person. - The leadership team practices what they preach. They fight for their employees and they understand that a happy employee is a productive employee. Decisions aren't made based upon ego; they're made for the good of the customers, employees, and the product. - The leadership team understands that we work for incentives and gives us clear feedback on our performance. Conversations about career paths are just that; conversations. Feedback goes both ways. - Ambassador is at an inflection point after a recent acquisition with West Corporation. The team is growing and so is our technology stack. The sky is the limit with career path possibilities both at Ambassador and within West. - West, and by extension Ambassador, is location agnostic. This means we're extremely flexible with where employees can work from. We have an additional office in Denver, CO, which one of our engineers just moved to and we're currently working to fill with more engineers soon. - An extremely competitive set of benefits (medical, dental, vision, PTO, work from home) - Catered lunches every Wednesday. - A very good work/life balance. - An awesome office in downtown Royal Oak, MI within walking distance of tons of great restaurants.

    Cons

    - The recent acquisition with West was a bit of a tumultuous time with lots of discussions and changes happening at once, but the differences have been worked out. The acquisition ended up going well and we're back to smooth sailing now. - There have been issues with hiring in the past where we went through growing pains and made one or two hires that didn't end up being good culture fits in the short term causing some tumult on our team. For what it's worth these seemed to be anomalies in the overall trend of people working here, and I think our overall reviews on Glassdoor reflect that. - There was a hilarious fiasco over a recurring leak in the ceiling. This reflects more on the property managers of the building we're in than Ambassador as a whole. The leadership team raised the issue several times with the building manager and eventually it was fixed. On the other hand, it was kind of peaceful to have a miniature waterfall in the office for a few days. We've had no other issues since, and the building itself is actually really nice.

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2019-03-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    room to grow, career plans, great coworkers, easy-going atmosphere, constant learning, great work/life balance, accessible location.

    Cons

    not applicable... but I do have to type a min of five words here.

    Ambassador Software2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Strong Culture Leads to Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is unlimited growth opportunity -- working at Ambassador has allowed me to grow both personally and professionally. Ambassador is truly a place where hard work is recognized and rewarded with more responsibility. The core values (AKA OUTCARE) have created an unbeatable sense of community. Employees work hard to consistently embody each core value and also hold each other accountable to continue improving. Flexible work hours allow for work/life balance. Leadership recognizes that work/life balance is extremely important. The product is unbelievable - everyone who works at Ambassador is proud to stand behind such a solid and industry leading product, and that shows in every internal and external interaction.

    Cons

    The day-to-day can be really fast paced, but is that really even a con?

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2019-02-12
  4. "Opportunity after opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist in Birmingham, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company has given me opportunity after opportunity to grow my career including a leadership team that’s 100% cheering me on and supporting my growth. Leadership listens to their employees and genuinely cares about making the company a place that people *want* to come into each day and give their all. It doesn’t get much better than that. There is a huge focus on company values, and that has been refreshing to see. They hire just as much for culture as they do for skill sets, so each individual in the company is pretty unique in background and it works. The people make this place such an awesome place to work, but the benefits and tools they give you to get your job done each day are second to none. If you learn by doing and lead by example this is a place where you’ll get everything you put in and probably more.

    Cons

    The work is very fast paced; for me that’s an absolute pro, and a given in a startup but it’s not for everybody. If you’re looking for somewhere that you’ll be able to coast- this isn’t the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2019-02-17

    Ambassador Software Response

    February 18, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for the awesome feedback, we will certainly take your advice and continue to embrace OUTCARE!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Culture gone wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Royal Oak, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ambassador Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good technology stack Cool location in downtown Royal Oak

    Cons

    Micromanagement is completely out of control within engineering. A small group of engineers make all of the architecture decisions and funnel the requirements down to others to implement. The culture is downright toxic and everything in the company is obsessively centered around it (even the conference rooms are themed on the company values). Leadership does not care about employee issues, they only care about productivity. There is a lot of talk about feedback but unless the feedback is glowing praise it is met with harsh resistance and sometimes punishment. Leadership has a habit of disparaging former employees, candidates, and even other organizations. Work conditions are extremely poor. Performance is measured per engineer per sprint (in story points). Leadership claimed that points are not counted, then later penalized me, citing points completed. Employees are expected to be at work, working no later than 9a, to take a lunch no longer than 1 hour and to leave no earlier than 6p. Conversations between employees about benefits, work schedule and work conditions were explicitly disallowed (turns out this type of conversation is legally protected).

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2019-02-08

    Ambassador Software Response

    February 15, 2019Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. We care about everyone's feedback and will look to make improvements wherever we can. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to reach out at any time.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Environment that Continues to Improve!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ambassador lives by OUTCARE (values) and continues to improve based upon these ideals. It is fun to experience and I feel fortunate to be a part of it.

    Cons

    The bar is high, and so are expectations. Can take time to get used to an environment like this. Probably not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2018-04-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Anyone would be lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time

    Pros

    This is a company that actually embraces its core values. Everyone is working towards a common goal, so there is a strong sense of comradery across departments. Management embraces constructive criticism and we're encouraged to speak up with ideas and input we may have. The CEO is genuinely interested in the well-being of the company as a whole and each individual within the company. HR is always looking for ways to improve the benefits offered to the employees. Everyone in upper management is willing to give input and advice if you ask it of them. It's a place that fosters creativity and growth in anyone who has the ambition to seek it. I haven't once had a poor interaction with anyone in the company; it's truly a group of great individuals.

    Cons

    Honestly, I have not found anything negative about Ambassador. It is a great place to work, and I'm completely satisfied with the work atmosphere/leadership/nature of the job.

    Ambassador Software2018-01-07

    Ambassador Software Response

    January 8, 2018Director, Human Resources

    Thanks for the positive feedback, it is much appreciated!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love working for a growing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time

    Pros

    I am excited to be a part of this growing company. It is unique to find a workplace where everyone genuinely enjoys each other’s company and this is the atmosphere that I love about Ambassador. Everyone is passionate about their jobs and that is evident in the continued success and growth of Ambassador. I feel comfortable approaching anyone in the company with questions and we really do exemplify the OUTCARE value of Choose Comradery. I am excited to see what the future holds and looking forward to new opportunities.

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything.

    Ambassador Software2017-12-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Core values of OUTCARE epitomize the type of company everyone hopes to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Lead in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Where do I start? The company heavily invests in it's people and technology. The product is phenomenal, and there's a real mission-driven sense of purpose amongst the team to define a market category. Features on the Inc. 5000 list 2 years in a row and multiple "Best Places to Work" lists are a great indicator of the trajectory the company is on. With a stellar customer list, you get to work with some of the most recognizable US and global brands across B2B and B2C. There are regular company social gatherings, and the benefits package has continually become more lucrative driven by employee feedback. Ample opportunity for career development and progression. Leadership have implemented a very sound business model facilitating sustainable growth that will ensure longevity.

    Cons

    None come to mind. I can honestly say it's been an amazing 2 years thus far and I'm excited to see just how high the ceiling is moving forward.

    Continue reading
    Ambassador Software2017-10-01

    Ambassador Software Response

    October 2, 2017

    Thank you for the feedback. We're thrilled to have you and appreciate the kind words. I would like to personally thank you for being a driving force of our strong culture here at Ambassador. Please continue to hold myself and others accountable to exemplify our values of OUTCARE! - Jeff Epstein, CEO

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "World-class web dev team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ambassador Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Dramatic improvement to benefits and work/life balance in the past 18 months - No bureaucracy when it comes to proposing/adding features - Fun tech stack React/Python, with option to work on both stacks - Incredible product team makes developing new features exciting - Lots of ping pong

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything offhand.

    Ambassador Software2017-07-07

    Ambassador Software Response

    July 26, 2017Director, Human Resources

    We will continue to introduce/try/modify our benefits moving forward as well. Good is never good enough. Thank you for your feedback, and we feel that way about our Engineering team too.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 29 reviews