Ambiance Reviews | Glassdoor

Ambiance Reviews

Updated March 27, 2017
15 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
CEO
0 Ratings

15 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Massage"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Massage Therapist in Burnsville, MN
    Former Employee - Massage Therapist in Burnsville, MN

    I worked at Ambiance (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love my clients and providing wellness. I'm a great massage therapist.

    Cons

    I like to have more of a flexible schedule.


  2. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ambiance full-time

    Pros

    I was able to challenge myself creatively and freely. I was surrounded by amazing, strong willed women on my team that taught me a lot about the craft and the labor of love. Being able to get feedback by Donna the owner, was encouraging and truly made me feel involved and esteemed.

    Cons

    On the sales side, more structured training for the associates. Most of those ladies want to do good, setting them up for success will make them feel more confident.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Share your knowledge and enthusiasm with your team. You are all amazing women, spread that awesomeness... make it infectious!!


  3. "Terrible company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ambiance (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, nice locations, good selection of products

    Cons

    Lack of clarity from management, low pay, not motivational, no career growth

    Advice to Management

    TREAT your employees better

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    This is the owner of Ambiance. I am so sorry you had a negative experience working for us. I would love to know how you felt you were not well treated so we can do better. Glassdoor does not allow me ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "ok"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    discount on regular price and sale

    Cons

    long shifts around 9 hours

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    The only time an employee works a nine hour shift is when we need a bit overtime. That actually happens rarely but it does happen. Employees are never scheduled for 9 hour shifts. It usually happens ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "It paid my bills and taught me style. Otherwise, terrible company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ambiance part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, friendly customers, good location, taught me great style.

    Cons

    Zero work/life balance, merchandise completely overpriced, customers only matter for their $, the owner treats employees worse than dirt, extremely high turnover (for a reason), favoritism rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, you need to treat your employees way better. They're the ones that keep your stores open and in business and beyond that they deserve respect just as fellow humans. If you treat them with more respect then they will go that extra mile for you. Pushing the sale with the methods you make us practice actually tends to push the client away--most of us made sales by not following the guidelines you encouraged.
    Either stop marking up your merchandise so high or get better stuff, because watching them fall apart in front of your customer when you're trying to sell it extremely difficult.

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had such negative experience with us. This is the owner of Ambiance so I would greatly appreciate hearing how you felt mistreated so I can do better. Any ... More


  7. "good learning experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate

    I worked at Ambiance (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It can set your foot in the door of Customer Service industry. They have some good managers.

    Cons

    There's not much growth opportunity. Depends on managers, your day may not go well.

    Advice to Management

    I hope lunch time is a little longer.


  8. "Terrible place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Cute clothes. Decent discount. Great locations.

    Cons

    The turn over is incredible. Antiquated ways! If there were no labor laws, these people would take advantage of their employees. Nobody wants to be around upper management as they do not assume best intentions. Employees call in sick when the District Manager is working in stores. Not a positive environment whatsoever. They do not empower their people with the right tools. There is no training. The merchandising team makes the store staff very uncomfortable. The closing process is ridiculous! Do you close at 8:00 or 10:00? Maybe you make $100 by staying open an extra 2 hours.

    Advice to Management

    The perception of who you are is different than the truth. Take a good look in the mirror. Get with the times! Be kind!

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    This is the owner of Ambiance San Francisco. I am deeply saddened to hear you had such a bad experience with us. Any Ambiance store can provide my contact information because Glassdoor does not allow ... More


  9. "Great opportunity to get retail experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ambiance full-time

    Pros

    hard working team, great sales experience

    Cons

    strict vacation policy, long hours, work weekends


  10. "The Entrepreneurial Spirit, Is What I Love!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ambiance full-time

    Pros

    I have worked with this company for a combined total of 8 years, 3 years previously when the company only had 1 store and I had the fortunate opportunity of being recruited back 5 years ago. I am inspired everyday to have the opportunity to manage 4 stores for the company, that the owners listen, all stores have the opportunity to give feedback directly to the owner and the buying office team, I get to work with a talented pool of individuals who are just as passionate as I am about the business! They take pride in their jobs and when a job is well done, it does not go unnoticed!!! I love the fact that we are not in malls and we participate with in each neighborhood that we are currently located in. Who doesn't want to be a part of a company that has been voted "Best Boutique in San Francisco" 9 years in a row!!!

    Cons

    As a key person in management it is a struggle to find good employees who share this entrepreneurial spirit! This has been the hardest challenge of the job, we have not found the perfect recipe to always attracting top notch people!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, celebrating 20 years and being recognized as the "Best Boutique in San Francisco" 9 years in a row is a true testament of what Ambiance is all about!!!

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    Thanks for the great review!


  11. "My Career at Ambiance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    1. I thoroughly enjoy my job and I am proud of my contributions to this company.
    2. I have developed some life long relationships with others who share the same vision.
    3. Career minded individuals take their jobs very seriously. I like that. I come to work, to work and I expect others to do the same.

    Cons

    1. People can get a little catty and out right b*tchy at times and honestly I don't get up and go to work to be insulted. I get that we all have issues, myself included, but respect and professionalism maintains a good rapport.
    2. I have found a career here and unfortunately have reached the "ceiling" in a rather short amount of time. Currently there isn't a higher more challenging position within my skill set. I'm not saying this will always be the case but this has been, for me, for some time.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to create a culture of on going learning/training. On the other hand offer equal openness to fresh ideas and new perspectives this way were not too old, stale, and stuffy.

    Ambiance Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Owner

    Thanks for the good review and advice!


Showing 15 of 15 reviews
Reset Filters