Amdocs Subject Matter Expert Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Subject Matter Expert

Amdocs Subject Matter Expert Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Amdocs President and CEO Shuky Sheffer
Shuky Sheffer
3 Ratings
  1. "Senior Subject Matter Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work culture and amazing opportunities

    Cons

    Too much work load at times

    Amdocs2019-05-28
  2. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subject Matter Expert 

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice technology and development work

    Cons

    Some things are not so nice about people

    Amdocs2019-01-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Subject Matter Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are great! Dedicated, smart and friendly. Great exposure to wide variety of projects. Lots of potential for learning. Ability to work from home, depending on your group.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is challenging, and longer hours are expected. Workaholics welcomed. Job cuts occur on a regular basis to meet strict profit targets. The remaining people take on more and more workload. Few career advancement opportunities within the company. Teams are distributed around the country and the world which makes for more challenging coordination of effort and efficiency. Contracts are sometimes underbid meaning more outsourcing and longer work hours. Salary is not the best . You’ll fall behind over time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop over-committing on your contracts.

    Amdocs2018-02-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits for time it last."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, descent pay, talented people.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, bottom line is king . High turn around always looking to offshore work to improve bottom line.

    Amdocs2017-10-02
  5. "Senior Subject Matter Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert in Bryan, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks and travel opportunities

    Cons

    Work Life Balance, Less Flexibility

    Amdocs2016-12-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Too good and too bad - extreme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert-infrastructure in West Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, benefit is good, team is good , most manager understanding

    Cons

    Culture is bad, lots of hours and changes are coming in slowly, do not remove or move ppl who are not working

    Advice to Management

    Need to start laying off people who don't work

    Amdocs2016-08-18
  7. "Decent but not for long haul."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amdocs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to build a lot of "working together" skills since products require interacting with many internal teams, eg if you are part of their CRM suite your system has apis calling OMS(their ordering system), Enabler(billing system) etc and all of them consistent bugs :) Pay is decent since it is mostly present in low cost of living locations like STL,ATL,Dallas and benefits are good - specially for employees on L1 visa, you get tickets for the whole family to&from to your home country once a year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Code quality is not that great, most of the products are complex and written with obsolete technologies. Need to move faster. Lot of support work onsite, i.e bug fixing, oncall support, no real dev work onsite, thats all ofshore.

    Advice to Management

    I guess they know what they are doing - using offshore to shell out code through relatively cheap developers and then selling in expensive western countries, they can probably pass on more of benefits to the employees!

    Amdocs2016-04-02
  8. "Good company for an senior position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Subject Matter Expert in Chesterfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amdocs for less than a year

    Pros

    great food and flexible times for me( Since I used to put in a lot of hours no one ever questioned my timings). I was part of a good team after an year. Then I did lot of product development. There is some space for creativity but as it a big company still have to do it in bounds.

    Cons

    Initially I had to work on lot of projects for short time so didnt get real depth knowledge in domain for an year.

    Amdocs2016-01-17
  9. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Programming Subject Matter Expert 
    Recommends

    I worked at Amdocs

    Pros

    Free breakfast and very cheap food, awesome on-site opportunities, No formal dress code.

    Cons

    Mostly one will work on Old technologies.

    Amdocs2016-01-25
  10. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Subject Matter Expert in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amdocs

    Pros

    Good work culture, friendly environment, flexibility of hours

    Cons

    No salary increases, indifferent senior management, attrition

    Advice to Management

    Value the presence of a development center in the silicon valley

    Amdocs2015-08-03
Found 370 reviews