Amec Foster Wheeler Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Amec Foster Wheeler Chief Executive Officer  Jonathan Lewis (no image)
Jonathan Lewis
116 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Is a nice place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To push it higher to next level

    Cons

    There is challenge every where

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-09-18
  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Various locations to work. Different aspects of project to attend to

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement. Training for field positions could be better organized

    Amec Foster Wheeler2020-05-12
  3. "Below average Pay, Good work life balance"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Cost Engineer in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance at the project site, which is atypical

    Cons

    Below industry-average salary compared to the competition

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-12-12
  4. "Good Job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Houston, TX

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Nice office environment, good coworkers, no complaints

    Cons

    Traffic Outside the office and not walkable to good food

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A/E firm employment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diverse work opportunities typically available

    Cons

    Vulnerable to nationwide economic conditions

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-08-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Working Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument/Controls Lead Designer in Houston, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Was a great place to work when AMEC existed as a single company.

    Cons

    Let go of some on of the best folks in the industry when merger took place back on 2015.

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-07-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management & Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any "Pros" to working for Amec, other than a good health plan (although it was pricey).

    Cons

    Where to begin? First of all, prior to 2018 the management in the Seattle area offices was minimal and insufficient. The small amount of guidance I received came from people who weren't my manager, but thought they were. The company culture is non-existent, and just about everyone there seems miserable with their jobs. Belittling employees on a "lower" level isn't uncommon with some PMs. This place is soul-sucking. I couldn't be happier to not work there anymore. Also, I was getting a very poor non-competitive salary. I regret ever accepting the job.

    Continue reading
    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-06-14
  8. "On-site Construction Work"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Project Engineer/Contract Management 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked on large projects, but was away from home alot. Many benefits and the project manager you worked with depended upon certain things like vacation and using PTO. Work was interesting. Per Diem was used while on site.

    Cons

    Moved from one project to another and didn't really have a chance to move up.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-03-01
  9. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Team environment and lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    None to mention as cons

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-02-20
  10. "Pay is alright and the culture is better than average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amec Foster Wheeler full-time

    Pros

    Pay is alright. Culture is less malevolent than other engineering consulting companies like Jacobs Engineering. Very similar to Parsons Engineering.

    Cons

    As with any engineering consulting company, you need to be an engineer. If you're in a supporting profession, no matter what it is, you are second class with no chance of advancement.

    Amec Foster Wheeler2019-01-06
Found 1100 reviews